We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sometimes it's hard to get the old out of the old”
Review of Windsor Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Windsor Arms Hotel
Ranked #43 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Sometimes it's hard to get the old out of the old”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I was looking forward to a lovely stay at a historic hotel that had pretty great reviews. When we arrived, the front desk clerk was busy with another guest and then phone calls and didn't bother to acknowledge us at all. When check in was taking a long time I asked him what was going on and he replied in a pretty snarky tone, "well I'm checking you in".

The bellman and valet were lovely and the room itself was nice. I felt that I had made a good decision not to stay in a newer and larger property. After a long travel day, I took a nap with my partner and we both woke up not being able to breathe and itching. The pillows smelled like someone's musty dirty head and the sheets, though better, were also musty. When we woke up itching, we decided to check out.

The front office manager Kelly, was very nice and offered to switch rooms for us, but we declined feeling that either they aren't particular with every room, or they are using a detergent that isn't hypoallergenic or at least not for us. Regardless, we stayed for 3 hours and they refused to refund our money or cancel. Truthfully, in spite of potentially losing over $1000, we checked out and switched to a new property. I think that if they have an unhappy guest, even after they tried to reassure me that everything is hypoallergenic and we are the only people ever who have ever been dissatisfied, they should have gracefully allowed us to leave instead of telling us we will lose 3 nights prepaid accommodations.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank swankyhotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WindsorArmsHotel, Manager at Windsor Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Swankyhotels
I am saddened that your visit to the Windsor Arms was disappointing.

I would like to take this opportunity to correct some factual comments. The Windsor Arms is less than 15 years old and over the past 15 years it has been updated 3 times. We are committed to providing the finest accommodations in Toronto. The Windsor Arms has been here for over 80 years but the old hotel was demolished in the late nineties and the current Windsor Arms was built in 1999. The design of the Windsor Arms was respectful to its history while featuring all of the modern conveniences expected by the 21st century luxury traveler.

Regarding the linen comments, please be assured that all of our laundry is done on site using green products, including an ozone system. This process is elaborate to ensure our guest's comfort.

Regarding your refund request, please understand that your reservation and payment was not done directly with the Hotel. Accordingly your payment was to a third party, not Windsor Arms.

I apologize if at any point any of our staff were anything less than attentive or helpful, and I thank you for your complimentary comment about the room itself.

I do hope that you will give us another opportunity to be of service to you.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    49
    16
    10
    9
See reviews for
55
127
17
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The staff of this hotel pays such attention to details that it feels like I couldn't have wanted for anything that wasn't readily available. AND more than one of them wouldn't accept a tip! Their dedication to service coupled with the solidly, old world beauty of the place makes it one of my favorite hotels, ever. Big, quiet rooms, stocked with drinks and some food, as much nespresso coffee as you can drink, comfortable plush furnishings, internet that's faster than mine at home, fresh baked goods at breakfast, and at the risk of being repetitive, one of the nicest staffs ever. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peewee007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We flatter ourselves seasoned travelers, and have enjoyed such heralded hotels as The Park Hyatt in Tokyo, the Ritz in Paris, and the Covent Garden in London. Now we have a new favorite: the Windsor Arms in Toronto. Nestled on a cozy side-street just moments from the plush shops of Bloor Street, it's an absolutely sumptuous property with spacious, elegant rooms (featuring the charming novelty of butler pantries, so your laundry and your breakfast can be stealthily delivered with nary a knock on the door), an elegant tea room, and a bar replete with overstuffed couches, signature cocktails, and old-world charm. But we were most impressed by the service; despite the hotel's extravagant trappings, the staff was refreshingly approachable, eager to help, and full of boundless good humor. The concierge Kevin even printed out the programs for our nephew's college recital at the University of Toronto; and his tireless attention to detail, charming wit, and gracious manner set the tone for our stay. The food at the hotel's restaurant was scrumptious, and the linens on our bed were luxe; we slept like children on pillows as soft as marshmallows. All in all, we wish we lived at the Windsor Arms.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Porpex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This is the best of hotels in Toronto..old school class and distinctive furnishings. Very accommodating staff and extraordinary food and lodging. I prefer this Hotel over the Ritz..much more intimate hotel with a pelithury of character.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richard p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I went with three of my girlfriends to the Windsor Arms for high tea. We had tried several other places in Toronto prior to this, so it was becoming somewhat of a ritual. The hostess takes your coats and hangs them up in the coat room so you didn't have to worry about sitting with them at your table. The decor of the tea room was lovely. Beautiful purple accents throughout the room and crystal chandeliers. The waiters were very professional and prompt. By far the best scones I have had at a high tea before - so buttery, soft and delicious! The sandwiches were good, but not as good as other places. And the desserts were to be shared with someone else (instead of bringing one dessert per person of the four different types of dessert, there was one between two people so we split them in half). But no matter as we were stuffed regardless.

It is located in a great area, and afterward we did a bit of shopping. All in all a must try for those who love high tea!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosaryLab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

This was my first time to Toronto and the Everyone at the Windsor Arms went out of their way to make sure my experience was beyond satisfactory. I have to especially mention Kevin the front office manager who went above and beyond to assist me with my flight check-in and printing my boarding pass which was a painstaking process but he did it with a smile on his face the whole time. It's little things like this that leave a great impression. I'd also like to mention Chef Ras at The Living Room who was so accommodating and polite when I went in for breakfast. He was extremely attentive and asked every customer how their breakfast was with genuine concern. Also, the made-in-house mixed berry jam is phenomenal!! Overall, my experience was fantastic and I can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heide C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

This is a small, but charming boutique hotel. Has a super location right in the heart of Toronto. Check in was friendly and fast. There is some shopping and fine dining establishments within walking distance, but the food on site is so good, that I don't think you'll need to go elsewhere, except for variety. We stayed just a night, so we ate in house. Our room was big, well decorated, with everything and all you need, even an umbrella and a blu-ray! The room was very clean and I'm all about clean. Top notch.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 673JaniceS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Midtown
The Hazelton Hotel
The Hazelton Hotel
#1 of 136 in Toronto
644 reviews
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel Toronto
Midtown
InterContinental Toronto Yorkville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Park Hyatt Toronto
Park Hyatt Toronto
#19 of 136 in Toronto
1,729 reviews
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Downtown West
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Arms Hotel

Property: Windsor Arms Hotel
Address: 18 Saint Thomas St, Toronto, Ontario M5S 3E7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Toronto
#13 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#17 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#20 Family Hotel in Toronto
#29 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Windsor Arms Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consecutively voted the #1 hotel in Toronto by Conde Nast Traveler Magazine, the Windsor Arms Hotel is nestled on a quiet street ideally located just steps away from Yorkville, the heart of Toronto's most fashionable shopping and entertainment district. An aura of warmth, discreet luxury, and the latest technology combined with our exceptional level of service makes Windsor Arms Toronto's most luxurious boutique hotel. Behind our century-old portals are 28 new luxury suites with 24-hour butler service. The Windsor Arms is host to the Courtyard Cafe - open for Sunday brunch and special events; Prime Steakhouse -open for breakfast, lunch and dinner and a full Vegan menu; the Tea Room for Afternoon Tea and Lounge twenty-two for tapas and cocktails. The Spa offers fully serviced individual treatment rooms, swimming pool and exercise facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Windsor Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Arms Toronto
Windsor Arms Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing