We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Airport hotel with reasonable rates”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Carlingview Toronto Airport
Ranked #70 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
260 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Airport hotel with reasonable rates”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed here in the fall and booked again for another stay in February. On this most recent visit, only one person was working at the front desk when we arrived; he was waiting on a customer and there was another person in line before me. I was starting to get impatient when close to 10 minutes had gone by and the hotel employee was still with the same customer. He never acknowledged us at all during this long wait nor did he try and call anyone for help. I was pleased when another employee arrived – Rafal. He was very efficient…got us checked in quickly, went over the hotel information, booked us our shuttle to the airport, and booked a wake-up call for us.
In comparison to many of the large hotels on the airport strip, the Carlingview is fairly small; it’s only three storeys high, but the rates are reasonable and the rooms have all been renovated recently. There is a 24-hour shuttle to the airport; you book your time in advance with the front desk staff and just show up in the lobby at the designated time. When you return, there is a number that you call from the airport and the shuttle picks you up. We had no problem with this service on either of our stays here.
Food wise, the hotel is adjacent to a Mr. Greek Restaurant, and it was nice not to have to walk outside or drive anywhere looking for a place to have dinner. There is coffee and muffins/pastries available in the lobby from 3 a.m. to 9 a.m. I was surprised to see the muffins and pastries in large cardboard boxes (which seemed to be how they were delivered to the hotel from CoffeeTime); no tongs were in sight, the food was not covered in any way, and the napkins were across the room near the coffee. When I came back to the lobby a few hours later, the boxes were gone and the muffins/pastries were in a case right next to the coffee and tea, so I am assuming that the staff had just not had time to put out the food properly earlier in the morning.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank nickelcitygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Director of Sales at Hotel Carlingview Toronto Airport, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Guest;

Thank you for taking time for writing a review; we appreciate your feedback and comments. Your feedback will be shared with our team and will use it to effect improvements.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With warmest regards,

James Wu
Area Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    182
    121
    34
    35
See reviews for
115
194
47
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We booked this as a park & fly in Jan 2014. The room was fine, check in efficient. Parking lot is just down the road. about 5 min walk. We took shuttle from the hotel and also back to hotel on return and walked to get vehicle. Much preferred to using the Parking Lot shuttle.

The room was your standard hotel room, beds ok. Nothing outstanding. Some noise in the hall and also could hear planes taking off before midnight.

It was nice to have muffins and hot beverages available at 3:30am. Much appreciated.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TracyinPalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Director of Sales at Hotel Carlingview Toronto Airport, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Guest;

Thank you for taking time to write a review; we really appreciate it. I will share your comments with our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Carlingview Toronto Airport.

With best regards,

James Wu
Area Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calabasas, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This hotel used to be a fair place to stay, wow has it gone downhill. Elevator didn't work, the front desk gives you a piece of paper with you parking instructions on it. You take your car to park and fly across the road and the you wait and wait for their shuttle bus. And the same when you return.
The front desk staff is rude, the person in the morning is fine.
All you can smell in the lobby and first floor is tobacco smoke.

This is the first time I have had to write a bad review

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_wu, Director of Sales at Hotel Carlingview Toronto Airport, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Jan C;
Thank you for taking your own personal time to review your recent stay at the Hotel Carlingview. I am very sorry to hear of the challenges you encountered and that you felt the service was not as it was. Our goal is to make sure all our guests have a positive experience and we did not do this on your stay. We will review each one of your points with all our team and work on ways of improving going forward. We do a great volume of stay and fly business and with the promotions we offer we do use lots that are adjacent to the property. Once again I am sorry and please contact me directly if you would like to discuss this further.
James Wu
Area Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parry Sound, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

After waiting outside the airport for 35min. in -12C for our shuttle bus to the off-site hotel parking...we abruptly ended a most enjoyable holiday to this unfortunate situation. The hotel was just okay, a bed to sleep in before an early flight. There are better hotels near the airport, with on-site parking, & with regular airport pickups ...so check with your travel agent!
Too bad to have to freeze in the cold so long after a relaxing vacation south.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maryv55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_wu, Manager at Hotel Carlingview Toronto Airport, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear maryv55;
Thank you for taking your time to review your experience at the Hotel Carlingview. I am very sorry that your Stay & Fly experience was not up to your expectations. Our hotel does a large volume of stay and fly business with many repeat guests who have been staying for years because of the service and value of our packages. Our team will review all of your points so we can look at opportunities to improve on our service. Once again I am sorry we do want all of guests to have a great experience. Please contact me directly if you would like to discuss this further.
James Wu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

My flight was canceled due to snow storm and I had to find a place to stay for the night. The airline company gave me a number to call for hotels so you can get a discount due to the weather situation. This one was the cheapest one we could find close to the airport ($91 CAN). My first complain is that my husband tried to book the hotel for me as I was still at the airport and they told him that he couldn’t do that because they have to use my credit card and not his which is very stupid and not very accommodating. There is a bus shuttle between the hotel and the airport to make it easy.

I got a room on the first floor, which is a non-smoking area but the hallway leading to the rooms had a strong old cigarette smell. The room was clean (even though I found a little bug) and the bed comfortable. They also offer free wifi, which I think it’s only for 24 hours, not sure. Downside: when I asked where I can get drinking water instead of that bottle that was in the room (that I already tried in another hotel and didn’t like), the front desk guy told me that I can drink the one from the tap. And I also asked for milk which they don’t have even for the coffee. Breakfast is really boring, consisting only of coffee and tea with muffins and some pastries; the sign said that breakfast is from 6 – 10 am but found out it was only until 9 am or if you’re lucky 9:30 am.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eritsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Director of Sales at Hotel Carlingview Toronto Airport, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Guest;

Thank you for taking time to write a review and provide us with your feedback.

With regard to using your husband's credit card to pay, I am sorry to hear of your challenges however we abide by rules and regulations set out by the financial institutions, like all other retail business, we are unable to process anyone else's credit card for payment without an official written consent.

Thank you for your other comments, which I will share with our team to impact improvements. Please reach out to us directly if we can be of any assistance.

Have a wonderful day.

With best regards,

James Wu.
Area Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Booked here for the park and fly. Upon arriving at the hotel had to prepay for everything since we were staying at the end of our vacation. We then had to follow the shuttle bus to a fenced yard that was not by the hotel. It was not even a proper parking lot. Upon our return to Toronto at 4 a.m., called the hotel as instructed for pick-up. Was told the bus would be there right away. After a 35 minute wait, in -26 weather, a shuttle driver from another hotel picked us up since we had been waiting so long. When we got to the hotel, my husband had to take the hotel shuttle (which had never made it to the airport ) to the parking lot and dig out our car while I did the check-in. The man at the front desk claimed that their hotel shuttle driving claimed that no-one was waiting for him at the airport when he went by however we stood outside at the pick-up as soon as I called the hotel. Was then informed the elevator was out of order (and had been for a week according to the maid). We had to get a security guard to help carry our luggage to our room. Elevator still our of order when we left. Room was fine but the rest of the experience with this place was less than satisfactory.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank testrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Director of Sales at Hotel Carlingview Toronto Airport, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Guest;

Thank you for taking time to write a review, and I appreciate your feedback. I will review your comments with our team to impact improvement.

Please reach out to us if we can be of any assistance.

Have a wonderful day.

With best regards,

James Wu
Area Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Stayed at Carlingview for a Pre-Flight stay, Check in was quick and smooth, Given all the information about the hotel, the airport shuttle, breakfast and how to get access to the pool at the property next door.

Its a basic airport hotel nothing fancy but serves its purpose just fine, Airport shuttle was prompt and on-time, driver was friendly helped with bags and everything.

The rooms were clean bed was comfortable rooms were a little warm hard to get the heating and cooling unit to temperature you liked but not a big deal.

There is Greek restaurant downstairs, we had dinner there food was good no complaints!

1 week of parking was included which is great alot of times you can stay the night and park there for less than just parking at Park N Fly or the Airport however the only downfall here is the parking is off site in a back lot that is a little sketchy but it is fenced and gated my car was there for 8 days no issues.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarrod06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Director of Sales at Hotel Carlingview Toronto Airport, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Guest;

Thank you for taking time to write a review, and your feedback. I really appreciate your comments and will forward your feedback to our team.

Please reach out to us if we can be of any assistance.

With best regards,

James Wu
Area Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toronto
Etobicoke
Best Western Premier Toronto Airport Carlingview Hotel
Comfort Inn Toronto Airport
#18 of 60 in Mississauga
1,226 reviews
Etobicoke
Courtyard Toronto Airport
Courtyard Toronto Airport
#68 of 136 in Toronto
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Etobicoke
Quality Suites Toronto Airport
Etobicoke
Comfort Hotel Airport North
Etobicoke
Radisson Suite Hotel Toronto Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlingview Toronto Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlingview Toronto Airport

Property: Hotel Carlingview Toronto Airport
Address: 221 Carlingview Dr, Toronto, Ontario M9W 5E8, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Etobicoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Carlingview Toronto Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Carlingview Toronto Airport is a well appointed, comfortable non-branded hotel offering value without compromises. Whether staying for a day or a few days, you can expect warm hospitality, friendly guest services team, a clean environment and amenities you have come to expect like free high speed wifi throughout the hotel, complimentary breakfast pastries and coffee/tea in the lobby and in some guest rooms, microwave and mini-fridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Carlingview Toronto Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlingview Airport Hotel
Carlingview Airport Toronto
Carlingview Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing