We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we needed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel & Suites
Ranked #27 of 138 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We were looking for a convenient central location for seven nights, which was within easy walking distance, tram or subway network connections of the many sights of down-town Toronto. This place fitted the bill. We did have a car, and found exiting the city to the east convenient for the zoo and science center. Our kids are young (5 and 2 y.o.), so we were looking for on-site facilities to would keep them entertained. The salt-water pool and spa bath in the basement were a real hit, whilst the roof terrace kept us (as parents) happy. We ate on-site (breakfast, lunch and dinner) most days, but there is enough variety on the menu to satisfy everyone. On-site secure parking is pricey (at $19 per night), we could have done with a dining table in our two bedroom Junior suite, but the staff were all very helpful and made our stay most enjoyable. If we return to Toronto, we'll be staying here.

Room Tip: Pick a high floor, but not 18 (too much roof-top traffic), away from the elevators for a restful nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

Dear Simon P,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor! Situated right downtown Toronto, we are in very close proximity to public transit and ideally located near many of Toronto’s finest sights and attractions! It is excellent to hear that your needs were fulfilled during your stay with us and that you found the on-site amenities to be very accommodating for your family! With a variety of activities like the indoor salt-water pool as well as the rooftop terrace and Jacuzzis, we strive to provide something for everyone! We hope that you make a trip back to Toronto soon and that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,056)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,321 - 1,327 of 2,056 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2013

A few weeks ago I had the pleasure of staying at the Grand hotel. Upon arrival, I was greeted by all the hotel staff, which ultimately had a profound effect on my visit; I felt welcomed. Additionally, since I have a passion for photography, I grabbed my camera and made my way to the Grand’s rooftop. The view of Toronto’s skyline is truly breathtaking and worthwhile. The rooftop was LIVE. People were hanging out in the hot tubs and music videos were screened. Also, great pool! Was a weekend to remember!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnL1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

Dear JohnL1976,

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay for other Trip Advisor readers to see! It sounds like you had a most enjoyable time with us, taking full advantage of our one-of-a-kind rooftop terrace! The beautiful 360 degree views paired with the Jacuzzis and music videos create a wonderfully enjoyable atmosphere and allow you to see the city from a whole new vantage point! We hope you got some great shots of the city and can’t wait to have you stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Having stopped in Toronto on the way home from a trip to the Middle East and chose to stay at the Grand; was totally satisfied with everything it had to offer. The service and layout compared most favourably to the major hotel chains experienced abroad. As mentioned elsewhere, the jacuzzi on the 19th floor was a bonus. Although the hotel is situated on Jarvis Street, a little out of the way to downtown Toronto, the hotel shuttle was most convenient to use during the weekdays and the trolley passes nearby.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank I_love_silk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

Dear I_love_silk,

We are so glad you had a chance to stay with us on your way home and want to thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor! It is excellent to hear that, as a boutique hotel, you found us to be equally comparable to the large hotel chains around the world, and are very pleased to be able to offer our guests such a high level of service and excellent accommodations with lots of added value, like the complimentary internet and full buffet breakfast. The Jacuzzis on the rooftop are a most notable feature of our hotel and we are so glad you had a chance to experience them! We hope to have you stay with us again in the very near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

I have just spent the last week having meetings in the Grand Hotel and I could not recommend them more highly. My initial contact was with Parris who helped organise the meeting rooms we were using and understood exactly what I needed and provided outstanding facilities for what we needed.

I also had several clients staying in the hotel and the service we received was exemplary which I turn reflected well for me to the clients.

I can honestly say that I have not had the pleasure of being served by better staff and I have stayed in a lot of four and five star hotels around the world. From initial check in with Katherine at the front desk to the service we received from the servers in the bar and restaurant and the friendly security guard in the evenings the Grand proved their hiring and training is just that, Grand!

I can not recommend the hotel more highly, if you are looking to host a business function then speak to Parris and if you are just looking for somewhere to stay in Downtown Toronto then look no further, the Grand has it all, great facilities, great staff, great food, in short Grand!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
4  Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

Dear Geoff M,
We are so thrilled to hear what a wonderful experience you had during your stay with us at the end of May and we want to thank you for taking the time to post the review on Trip Advisor! It is of great value for us to hear that we were able to provide a property and level of service you were hoping to convey to your clients. We are very proud of the team here at The Grand Hotel and your detailed account of your stay helps to reinforce the strong leadership, teamwork and service that we strive to exceed on a day to day basis. Your gracious comments about Katherine and Parris have been passed along to them and we thank you for taking the time to note their work. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

The hotel was great the room was very simple and to the point the staff was very helpful and recommend a great restaurant. We loved the Jacuzzi on the roof it was definitely a highlight for us after we spent most of our days walking around getting to know the city it was good to just sit there enjoy the view and relax. we didn't use any of the other services like the shuttle or pool but im sure it was great too. breakfast was not your ordinary bagels and muffins they had eggs bacon French toast fruit and yogurt which we thought was great.

Cons- the bathroom was literally right next to the bed and the fan in there wasn't working so when ever we used the bathroom the smell would linger a little. also the neighborhood had a few sketchy people walking around but nothing we aren't use to being from NY

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nuevamaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

Dear nuevamaria,

Thank you very much for sharing your review with other Trip Advisor readers! I am so glad to hear that you found the accommodations to your liking and were also able to enjoy the wonderful rooftop terrace! The Jacuzzis on the roof are certainly a fantastic way to wind down after long days of exploring the city – we are glad to know you took advantage of them! We are very pleased to offer all our guests a complimentary hot/cold buffet breakfast on each morning of their stay, and are happy you were pleased with the abundant variety of our selections! We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Last weekend, my cousin and I decided to visit Toronto. We stayed in one of the larger suites in the Grand hotel, and to our benefit we got what we paid for. We felt comfortable, welcomed, and relaxed. Moreover, the staff was phenomenal; we didn’t know how to use our DVD player and within minutes, maintenance was in our room solving the issue. Also, my cousin and I used the hotel gym. It was great as there were so many weights and high quality machines. We also swam in the indoor pool; it is simply beautiful. I recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Toronto. Thank you Grand Hotel for an amazing weekend!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jamie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

Dear Jamie F,

Thank you very much for posting a review about your most recent visit to our hotel! We are so glad that you found the suite to be hospitable and welcoming and are especially grateful to hear your kind words about our team here. It is positive feedback such as this that helps to enforce the high standards of excellence we strive to uphold and I will certainly share your acknowledgments with our staff. It is great to hear you had a chance to experience our fitness club and found the equipment and the space to your liking! The indoor salt-water pool is a great place to relax after a workout and we also hope you had a chance to enjoy the views and Jacuzzis on the roof! We hope to welcome you back again very soon for another amazing weekend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed here for a night and it was amazing! Te hotel is certainly "Grand"! From the time of check in until check out, we had wonderful service. The rooms are so spacious and modern! It's off the main busy section so loved the peace and quiet. The spas on the roof are beautiful and relaxing overlooking the city of Toronto! We enjoyed just sitting in the hot tub at midnight looking at the city lights. Lots of beautiful lawn furniture to relax on as well. Finally, what topped off our stay was an amazing continental breakfast buffet! It was huge, not your typical continental at all. We loved this hotel and will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tomcat16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

Dear Tomcat16,

We are so glad to hear you had such a wonderful stay with us and want to thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor for other readers to see! The special amenities offered at our hotel are very unique in the city. It is not often that you can relax on the rooftop of a hotel while soaking in Jacuzzis and taking in the skyline, which makes it all the more enjoyable when you come and stay with us! Now that summer is approaching, we have set up the lounge furniture and are ready for our guests to enjoy the nice weather! It great to know that between the rooftop terrace, our extensive breakfast buffet, the modern accommodations and our service oriented team of staff, we were able to ensure you had a wonderful stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#22 of 138 in Toronto
3,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
One King West Hotel & Residence
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel & Suites

Address: 225 Jarvis Street, Toronto, Ontario M5B 2C1, Canada (Formerly Grand Hotel Toronto)
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Toronto
#14 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#15 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#18 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#20 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: £130 - £291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toronto Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing