We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warmely reccommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel & Suites
Ranked #27 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2013

The most important: excellent bed to sleep in with luxorius bed linnen. We stayed two nights after flying from Europe. The room was large with a separe sitting room and kichenette. Everything was clean, the doormen were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very good, warm buffet with a good choice of fruits. On a sunny morning we enjoyed the breakfast sitting on a beautiful terrace.

The rooftop area is a paradise in the city, the jacuzzis were open late at night and couples had a romantic moonlight swim. We got excellent pictures from the rooftop, both night and daytime.

We chose this hotel because it had a free wifi. The wifi was fast and easy to use.

Two minor things that could be better. First, there was only one bed lamp, and one couldnnot read in bed without disturbing her partner. Second, the safe in our room was located on the floor level in a dark corner and couldn't be reached easily.

However, we warmly recommend this hotel: good value for the money.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 33tu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013

Dear 33tu,
We appreciate your amazing review on Trip Advisor for readers to see! We are delighted that you were able to enjoy our many amenities including the complimentary breakfast buffet, free WiFi, and the rooftop jacuzzis. Also, we are glad that you were able to take in the scenic views atop our rooftop because they definitely exemplify the beauty of Toronto. As an all suite hotel, we are pleased to have provided you with a large living room area with a kitchenette and a large bedroom to accommodate all your needs during your stay.

Regarding your minor concerns, I have passed them onto management to improve your future stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Warmly,
Greg Egglesfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,021)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,281 - 1,287 of 2,021 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2013

We're finicky about cleanliness and smells and this place was just great - no issues at all.

The room was comfy - good beds (you could see stickers on the corners for quarterly mattress rotation), twice daily maid service, free safe, free local calls and use of robes. Everything felt clean and well kept. Free wifi, fridge, TV all worked just fine. They have a free DVD player in the room too, but we didn't try to use it.

We could have gotten a cheaper hotel nearby, but to keep our teenage kids happy, chose the Grand for the pool & hot tubs, and that proved to be the right choice. The rooftop hot tubs had great views of the city, nice breeze, lots of room, and bathroom/shower right there. The pool was also excellent, using mild salt water instead of chlorine so skin and eyes didn't burn.

There are two hot tubs on the roof and we never had to wait to use one even on the weekend - they are big and we used together with others a few times. We met and talked to people from all over - friendly guests - and the staff went above and beyond to help with directions, arrangements, etc.

Easy to get to anywhere in Toronto from here and we walked to most places we wanted to go from the hotel with no problem; subway is maybe 5 short blocks away.

The breakfasts (included) were hot, good, full of fresh fruit and lots of other options. Decent coffee (not Starbucks, but not weak chain hotel coffee). There was a coffee maker in the room and we brought our own beans but didn't feel the need to do that.

No problem getting our too-big SUV in and out of the parking spaces/lot. If you can"t manage it, go back to driving school.

Room Tip: Probaby avoid 18th floor, lower numbered rooms near the elevators - you change elevators to get to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hoarse W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Dear Hoarse W,
Thank you so much for your amazing review on Trip Advisor! We are extremely pleased that we were able to make your stay in Toronto a delightful one. Also, we were overjoyed to provide several amenities for no additional cost such as the WiFi, the refrigerator, local calls, buffet breakfast, and more. Since the weather has been gorgeous, we are also delighted that you and your family were able to escape to our rooftop for a great scenic view of Toronto and the hot tubs.

Our proximity to Toronto's Eaton Centre and the St. Lawrence Market facilitate shopping and other activities for our guests. We are glad that you were able to reach the many different locations Toronto has to offer with no hassle. Hopefully we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Warmly,
Greg Egglesfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

I stayed at the Grand Hotel for four nights. It is greatly located near downtown Toronto. It is only a few minutes walk from the Eaton Center. The staff was really friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very diversified but some morning it was hard to get a table since the restaurant is quite small. The rooms are big and clean. We had a wonderful view of the city.
It was a great stay overall, I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marieriez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Dear Marieriez,
Thank you so much for your posting in Trip Advisor! We are grateful to hear that your stay was great, and that we were able to provide you with a great location in Toronto. Our proximity to Toronto's Eaton Centre lets our guests reach their shopping destinations without a hassle. Also, we are pleased to provide a complimentary breakfast buffet every morning to all of our guests, and when the weather is nice, we hope our guests experience our amazing outdoor patio while they eat. Lastly, we were overjoyed to provide you with the utmost professionalism from our staff, and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Warmly,
Greg Egglesfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed here as a couple for 3 nights. The room was lovely but slightly smaller than expected but had a little sofa and tv area. The bathroom was a little small but very nice, marble (or marble effect). The outstanding features for us were the underground pool and the rooftop terrace areas with jacuzzi. The views really were amazing! We ate at the hotel restaurant which we were also really pleased with.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toffeegirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Dear Toffeegirlee,
Thank you very much for posting in Trip Advisor for readers to see! We were pleased to accommodate your three nights here at The Grand, and we were overjoyed at your response to our pool and the rooftop hot tubs. The views from the top of The Grand are truly amazing offering a scenic vantage point over Toronto during the day and at night. Also, we were glad that you were able to take advantage of our amazing restaurant downstairs with its gourmet buffet breakfasts and fantastic lunches and dinners. We hope to greet you back in the near future!
Warmly,
Greg Egglesfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

My family stayed here last week and really enjoyed it. We had a great view of Toronto, nice roof top views as well. Our room was very nice and the second TV was a nice touch for our daughter. The staff was professional and accommodating. Enjoyed several conversations with valet, door men, waitresses, hotel clerks and even housekeeping. All were professional, friendly and accommodating. Our room was always made up, no matter how late we left the room, lol. The free breakfast was a great treat. I only have one tiny complaint. There is a cable station that comes on late at night that shows adult movies, very adult movies. My daughter caught an eye full while scrolling through channels one night. I assumed adult stations to be blocked or you had to pay extra. It was a surprise for all of us.

Room Tip: Hotel in a transitioning neighborhood. Walking distance to Toronto Easton Centre and downtown stores...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dma1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Dear dma1960,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post about our hotel for the readers on Trip Advisor! As an all-suite hotel, we are pleased to provide our guests with a comfortable living space for their time at The Grand. Due to the excellent weather, we are glad that you and your family was able to make your way up to the rooftop to take in the amazing scenic views of Toronto. Also, we are gratified that our staff was able to make your stay perfect with our outstanding persistence and professionalism.

Thank you very much for bringing your concern to our attention, we will bring this information to the appropriate department. We hope to welcome you back to The Grand and Toronto in the near future!
Warmly,
Greg Egglesfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

I booked this hotel because I got tired of my "favorite" Toronto hotels escalating in price. The Grand is three or four blocks east of Eaton Center and to a local that's like the end of the world. O.k., I know it isn't in Yorkville but it could be with all the services it provides. This is a hotel that has an excellent suite layout with an operable kitchen, separate living and bedroom area and a decent bathroom. It has a well appointed gym, a rooftop sun/hot tub area with great views, a full hot breakfast in a very pretty room or garden area, a business center and drivers that will take you to the local airport or to other areas of town as a complimentary service. The food at breakfast is ample and varied. The lunch and dinner menus are inventive with outstanding preparation and presentation at prices that are more modest compared to some of the Toronto restaurants.
I have stayed at several higher priced Toronto hotels and this one tries harder and gives more for the dollar than many others.

Room Tip: Talk to the front desk. I stayed on the north side and was fine. Next visit I will request the south...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeahPhiladelphia_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Dear LeahPhiladelphia_PA,
We appreciate your wonderful review that you recently posted on Trip Advisor for many readers to check out! As you put it, "This one tries harder and gives more for the dollar than many others," and we are grateful to provide you with everything you need and more. Our proximity to the Eaton Centre allows our guests to enter the heart of Toronto's shopping without any hassle, and the endless number of restaurants in the area make sure that our guests will never go hungry. On that note of food, we are proud to serve a gourmet breakfast buffet to all our guests every morning, as well as many impeccable choices for lunch and dinner.

Also, with the gorgeous weather as of late, we are exhilarated that you were able to take advantage of the incredible views from our rooftop, and poke your foot into the hot tubs. Hopefully the weather can stay great, and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Warmly,
Greg Egglesfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

I stayed at The Grand for 4 nights while doing business in Toronto. Some of the other higher end hotels were out of my price range so, on price and location, went with The Grand. First of all, the location is great. You can walk to St. Lawrence Market and all of the great restaurants an
D bars or you can hop on the Dundas Street car for $3 and be in the heart of China Town.
I was very pleased with the staff, breakfast and quality of rooms. Not a beat was missed service-wise from rooms being cleaned well, daily, to the front desk teams gracious service to the buffet breakfast (complimentary!) servers. The city views from the roof top hot tubs were amazing!
Is the hotel The Four Seasons? No. But this hotel exemplified fine hospitality in an easygoing, unstuffy way and I hope to return here the next time business (or pleasure) takes me back to Toronto.

Room Tip: I was on the 18th floor and the views were awesome both day and night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slaphappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Dear Slaphappy,
Thank you for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor so others could see! We are glad that we were able to accommodate your business, luxury, and financial needs to a tee! Just located two blocks east of the Eaton Centre, The Grand offers an immediate access to the heart of Toronto shopping and fine cuisine, and as you stated, for just a $3 fee ($6 round trip) the TTC can bring you to many different neighbourhoods in a moment's notice. Also, we are extremely pleased that you were able to make your way to the rooftop and relax in the hot tubs with a scenic view of the GTA.

Once again, we are overjoyed to have been able to provide you with our amazing amenities including our buffet breakfast, and our great staff, whom are always willing to make your stay perfect. We hope to see you soon, and provide another magnificent stay in the near future!
Warmly,
Greg Egglesfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Cambridge Suites Toronto
Cambridge Suites Toronto
#35 of 137 in Toronto
1,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel & Suites

Address: 225 Jarvis Street, Toronto, Ontario M5B 2C1, Canada (Formerly Grand Hotel Toronto)
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Toronto
#14 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#15 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#18 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#20 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: £139 - £387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toronto Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing