We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (2,138)
Filter reviews
2,138 results
Traveller rating
1,076
709
204
79
70
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,076
709
204
79
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmusic videoscitrus restaurantrooftop terracehot tub on the roofeaton centrejarvis streetbreakfast buffetindoor poolhomeless peoplehome friessmall kitchenettebedroom suitefresh fruitthe sofa bedshuttle servicesitting areast lawrence market
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,285 - 1,290 of 2,138 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Have stayed twice on business, total of three nights. There were noise problems during my first stay, but two unruly - likely murderous! - guests were the cause of that. The staff were excellent, the rooms nicely appointed, washrooms clean, up to date. The breakfast was good, too.

Room Tip: For best view, anything above the 14th floor.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear Lee T,

It was a pleasure welcoming you back to the hotel for your business trip!

Thank you very much for your review and I am sorry to hear about the noise.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the future!

Warmly,

Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

First of all, if there was a way to give an extra 'half' star, I would rate The Grand Hotel 4.5 out of 5. This hotel is fantastic!! Larger than an average 'boutique' style hotel, but certainly smaller than the mainstream, overpriced chain hotels, Grand Hotel offers everything and more for people looking to relax and enjoy Toronto. The key points for GH:

Location: Not what I would consider to be in the 'greatest' neighborhood in the city, but certainly not bad by any stretch. Within walking distance to St. Lawrence Market (a MUST), and downtown shopping (Eaton Centre, The Bay).

Hotel Amenities: Wonderful! Large pool and hottub in the basement. Double hottubs on the roof! Beautiful views of the skyline. Fitness and business center. Lounge and restaurant. Little gift shop/convenience store. The hotel is very clean and well maintained, even if slightly on the dated side. Free Wi-Fi (although see critques below regarding quality.)

Rooms: Surprisingly large rooms. Well, maybe not 'large', but a well use of space. Our room was suite-like without being a true suite. 2 TVs, kitchenette with microwave and mini-fridge. Cabinets with plate and silverware. Lots of closet space and a desk for working. Nice bathrooms. A little small, but clean. Hotel provides a lot of channels on TV, including our new favorite channel: Much! So wish they had this back in the states.

Food: Really, really good. I had the lamb sliders and fries the first night. Very good. The buffet breakfasts were amble and the food was very well prepared.

Service: Excellent! Luc at the front desk and Diana in the restaurant were very pleasant to deal with. Diana made several excellent recommendations for things to do (and eat!) Luc arranged for transportation and went out of his way to make us comfortable during our stay.

Critiques:

-Wi-Fi in the rooms does not work well. And the ethernet cable the front desk provided did not work at all! W-Fi in the lobby works, but they may want to consider upgrading for better room access, even if it means charging a little for use.
-This seems rather silly, but in a land known for maple syrup, it was a little strange to see the breakfast buffet only provide little containers of Smuckers table syrup! This almost seems like a missed opporunity to provide a little local flare for out-of-towners.

Really, really nice stay. This place is great for weekenders looking to escape for a couple of days. Did I mention the hot tubs on the roof?!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magmystour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear Magmystour,

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us during your visit to Toronto!

Thank you very much for sharing a wonderful review and for sharing all the great comments with other TripAdvisor members!

I will be sure to share your review with Luc and Diana we well as the entire team here at the Grand Hotel.

Magmystour, we hope you had a safe trip back to the US and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel very soon!

Warmly,

Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Recently stayed here for a business trip and was so lucky to stay in the Loft....2 level suite with terrace. Full Kitchen, living room 2 bathrooms, one King room and an other Queen room. Great for a family. Hotel staff excellent very helpful. We cabbed it everywhere so had no issues about the location on Jarvis. Everyone enjoyed the hotel's breakfast and lunch. Will definitely return

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happysanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear happysanman,

It was a pleasure having you and your family stay with us during your visit to Toronto!

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the loft suites and the restaurant! I will be sure to share this with the kitchen!

We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Warmest regards,

Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We arrived here tired from the flight to be told that the crib requested when we booked months ago may or may not be available as she was not sure if they had any and the receptionist was pretty dismissive about the lack of a crib. The 'suite' was passable if a bit small and spartan for a suite certainly not luxury. We phoned down to reception to ask why they had taken our booking if they did not have any cribs available and as if my magic a crib apppeared 15 minutes later.
Breakfast was nice after the daily 15 minute to wait for a place to sit, usualy on a coffee table as an actual dining table was clearly a luxury you had to wait a long time for. In a three day stay we came to breakfast at three different times in hope of a table but we still had to wait every day. Annoyingly there were empty coffee tables one side of the rope but THESE tables were not for breakfast only the other annnyoingly low coffee tables the other side of the bar could be used for breakfast. The check in also failed to inform us of any of the hotels amenities including the shuttle service which would have been useful considering the hotels location.
The positive side is that the pool is very nice and it has a terrace and two hot tubs on the roof although the roof terrace is in urgent need of a touch up it is still a nice touch. The doormen were also very friendly and helpful,
On our return to Toronto we stayed at a Ramada hotel on the same street and got a much nicer suite for less than half the price of this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fresco_pizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear fresco_pizza,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us and thank you for choosing the Grand Hotel for your visit to Toronto with your family!

Thank you very much for your review and comments, I will be sure to share them with the respective departments.

We hope that we can welcome you back in the future!

Warmly,

Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We spent 4 nights at this hotel
Great location to see downtown Toronto. Lots of places to walk to .
Great service including a shuttle.
Breakfast was very nice but boring after day 2
great view of lake on south side of hotel

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Dear Rstan,


It was a pleasure welcoming you to the hotel and thank you for allowing us to be part of your trip to Toronto. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your day and I'm sorry to hear about the breakfast. In addition to the extensive hot buffet, we do also have a a la cart menu should there be something else that you would prefer.

Rstan, hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you to the hotel in the near future !


Warmly,


Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews