We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,215)
Filter reviews
2,215 results
Traveller rating
1,117
733
213
81
71
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,117
733
213
81
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmusic videoscitrus restaurantrooftop terracehot tub on the roofeaton centrejarvis streetbreakfast buffetindoor poolhomeless peoplehome friessmall kitchenettetwo bedroom suitest lawrence marketthe sofa bedsitting areashuttle serviceyogurt
Filter
Updating list...
1,325 - 1,330 of 2,215 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2013

The grand hotel has a great staff and is at a great location in Toronto. You can't go wrong with this location. Complimentary breakfast is also a big win here. The hot tubs on the terrace overlook the city - fabulous!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brurogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Brurogers,

Thank you for you review and staying with us during your travels into Toronto!

We hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel very soon !


Warmly,


Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Our 25th wedding anniversary started nicely with complimentary chocolate covered strawberries, however, the room bathroom was filthy. Housekeeper, Ms. Dellione was very nice had cleaned the area spic & span. Even though it wasn't her room she spent a lot of her time making things right. Unfortunately, the phones, refrigerator, sink faucet & TV were broken. We were offered another room but the bathroom in there was less than clean especially the toliet. Finally, assistant manager Katherine Cizar came to the rescue and moved us to a 2 floor suite with patio. She personally escorted us through the room and had the bathroom freshly cleaned for us. Her attention to detail and care for our comfort made everything right. The hotel is beautiful, free breakfast is plentiful and diversified. Pool and roof top sauna are awesome. Construction being done to exercise room but still usable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klsmcclain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Klsmcclain,

Congratulations on your 25th anniversary and thank you for allowing us to be part of the special occasions. I'm sorry to hear that there was a small hiccup at the beginning of your stay but I am so pleased that Delloine and Katherine where right there rectify the concerns ensuring that the rest of your stay would be most enjoyable. I'm so pleased that you had the opportunity to enjoy the amenities during your stay with us- there was a bit of aesthetics work that was taken place in our fitness center but it has completed!

Klsmcclain, I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future !


Warmest Regards,


Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

A good find for our first trip to Toronto. Good location, huge room, nicely furnished, and very comfortable. Great value, but the heating could have been a little warmer, maybe that just me more used to warmer climes.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Richard W,

Thank you for sharing your comments with others on Trip Advisor. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to well you back during your second trip to Toronto !

Warmest Regards,


Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

As the hotel a friend and I usually stay at, as well as others looked at were fully booked, I chanced upon the Grand Hotel, when I used Google Maps to see what was close-by. The Grand Hotel's class and quiet elegance impressed us from the moment we arrived. We found the lobby's decor most inviting, and the floral arrangements, absolutely gorgeous! We loved our room's subdued colour scheme, kitchenette, dark laminate floor and stunning view of Lake Ontario! The hotel is quiet and absolutely spotless. We had great service, and were especially impressed by the shuttle bus made available to clients on a first-come-first serve bases, to downtown locations of our choice. For us, the hotel's only drawback was the lack of a ground-level elevator, as it was difficult for the friend I travelled with to climb up the ramp or staircase from street level to the lobby.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlena-3210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Carlena-3210,

Thank you very much for staying with us during your trip to Toronto, I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves on our understated elegance while offering a warm and inviting atmosphere for all of our guests. Reviews like yours let us know that we are hitting the right notes!

Carlena-3210, it was such a pleasure welcoming you to the hotel and truly hope we will have the pleasure to do so again !

Warmly,

Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights at the end of August. We had a welcome reception and the doorman (blonde with ponytail) was very helpful throughout the whole stay. In fact all staff we encountered were helpful.

The room was huge with good facilities. Slightly tired decoration and fittings but this is easily resolved. My husband got ill so we ended up spending most of our time at the hotel, we found the room to be comfortable (not the pillows though), room service was great, we ordered food a couple of times and it was probably the best room service food we have had, highly recommend it. As my husband was ill the concierge kindly allowed us a late check out.

We went up to the roof just for the view which was stunning, didn't use the hot tubs.

Location - as it was our first time in toronto I can't judge that well but it seemed to be right in the middle of a lot of homeless shelters. Made the area feel scruffy and bit alarming passing interesting characters around the area. We walked the wrong way down Dundas once and the area was a dump, we blatantly got followed by a suspicious looking woman who obviously stopped when we we turned around and then walked back. Other than that, if you go the other way you seem to hit central toronto pretty quickly.

Breakfast was vast but some of the food tasted and looked a bit cheap.

Despite that, overall the hotel was better than we expected and we would stay here again.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank The_Georges07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear The_Georges07,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. I'm so pleased that we had exceeded your expectations and your first impression with Anderson at the front door was warm and welcoming.

Over the past year and continuing into the new year, we have and will continue to undergo soft good renovations here at the hotel. As you may have noticed, all our guest room hallways, beds, bedding have been updated. In the coming months there are many wonderful, aesthetics changes that will happen.

The_Georges07, we hope to welcome you back during your next travel to Toronto !

Warmly,

Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews