We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best! A relaxing stay guaranteed.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Toronto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Hotel Toronto
Ranked #23 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Best! A relaxing stay guaranteed.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

My friend and I chose the Grand Hotel as a base from which to explore Toronto.

When we booked it, it was rated #20 on here, however we believe it should be no. 1.

It is located in a very convenient location, ideal for downtown, the bus terminal, the eaton centre and the airport express pick up / drop off.

On arrival we were made welcome by Katherine at Reception who offered us a suite for a small upgrade fee which was well worth paying. The suite provided us a bedroom each, a living room/ kitchenette, a bathroom and quiet balcony. This hotel offers guests more extra touches than most, eg large hot tubs on the roof overlooking the city, free wifi, a business centre with printers, ideal for when you have to check in online and print, boarding passes prior to departure and the cosiest much appreciated touch was the provision of bath robes. All of this provided us the perfect quiet sanctuary away from the hustle and bustle of the busy city outside.

We were conveniently located on level 2 which is the same level as the gym facilities.

The pool area was clean, warm and a delight to swim in every morning.

At Breakfast a wide choice of food was offered served buffet style, enabling guests to help themselves.

During our 5 night stay, the hotel and staff couldn't do enough to help or assist. We were even offered a lift by the hotel shuttle service, which was much appreciated.

We only found one Negative during our stay and that was the rude female restaurant manager, Danielle, her attitude simply does fit in with the ethos of this business which is obviously to provide excellent customer service from all departments. This aside, the hotel and all remaining staff deserve a huge thank you for making our stay in Toronto a pleasurable one and if we ever return, we would stay there again without hesitation, Thank you.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and upgrade to a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindsey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Lindsey M,

Thank you so much for your detailed review and your very kind comments recommending that we be number 1 on Trip Advisor, we agree with you :)

We strive to provide all of our guests a 'home away from home ' experience while staying at the hotel and based on your review, I'm pleased that we were able to provide this to you and your friend during your stay !

I will be sure to share your positive and constructive comments regards to our noted staff members as we take comments like these with the greatest importance to always ensure we are providing the highest level of service.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to welcome you to the hotel in the very near future !

Warmly,

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,828 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    942
    602
    160
    65
    59
See reviews for
526
621
67
235
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

This was our first stay at the Grand and may not be our last. Professional, friendly service at both the front desk and at breakfast the following morning. The room was spacious and the separate sitting area with kitchenette was a nice addition.
We could hear the chatting of the people in the next room when we were both sitting in the kitchen area, but not while sleeping. Otherwise the room was quiet.
The neighbourhood is "in transition" and the hotel is within short walking distance of a variety of restaurants, Ryerson, the Eaton Centre and Yonge St. It's only a 20 minute walk to the AGO and the Dundas streetcar is a hop, skip and a jump from the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a south facing window in order to have a view of the Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyclefar2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Cyclefar2004,

I'm so pleased to read that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel! Thank you for your kind words regarding the professionalism and friendly service you received!

As you mentioned, the hotel is in the heart of downtown and is located right on the TTC line making it a convenient location- close to many attractions.

Cyclefar2004, I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel very soon !


Warmly,


Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

Upon our most recent visit to Toronto last week, we decided to try a new hotel, the Grand, and we are glad we did! The hotel had spacious wood floor rooms with kitchenette.
The hotel is centrally located and has a shuttle service downtown. Amazing roof top hot tubs and very friendly service, loved it!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelmtl1245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear travelmtl1245,

Thank you very much for allowing us to be part of your visit to Toronto ! We sure hope that you enjoyed your stay with us and we're pleased you had the opportunity to enjoy the roof top facilities!

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the very near future !

Warmest Regards,


Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

I came to the Grand Hotel my first time in Toronto. It was pretty busy during August and they standard rooms were unavailable and so they upgraded us to a gorgeous loft room. Really clean and great service.
The price is worth it! Easy 5 minute walk to Dundas square and the Eaton Centre. The best part of this hotel is the amazing view on the rooftop where the jacuzzi and a big screen is located.
This is my favourite hotel in Toronto! I now live in downtown Toronto but I would be so willing to pay for a night or two there anytime for a celebration.
The breakfast has the perfect amount of options. The thai restaurant right next to the hotel is also delicious!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank areolai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Areolai,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience. I'm so pleased that we had the opportunity to welcome you to the hotel during your stay with us. Even though you now live in this wonderful city, we sure hope to see you again very soon. Be sure to join us for dinner in Citrus Restaurant !

Thank you very much Areolai!

Warmly,

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Management is extremely unprofessional. Hotel security is sleazy. Front desk is rude and obnoxious and they twist "hotel policy" to suit their own agenda. Your stay here will be miserable. To give you an example- We were a bunch of girls and had hotel security come to our room and wake us up to check in on us at 4am to see if we had more people in the room than allowed for.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank TheHappyTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear TheHappyTrekker,

Thank you very much for taking the time out of your day to share your experience with others on Trip Advisor. I’m sorry that you had felt that your experience here was less than perfect and we didn't meet your expectations.
The reason why we have a strict policy that doesn't allow parties in the guest rooms is to ensure the comfort of all other guests that are staying with us.
Throughout the evening, during your stay with us, we had received several complaints that noise was emanating from your suite, from the time of check in until 5:58am. This is why this was brought to your attention during the evening. As our rooms are not designed for housing parties of your size, it would be best in the future to reserve a function space to ensure the comfort and enjoyment of your guests.


TheHappyTrekker, thank you for taking the time to share your experience.


Warmly,


Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

The grand hotel has a great staff and is at a great location in Toronto. You can't go wrong with this location. Complimentary breakfast is also a big win here. The hot tubs on the terrace overlook the city - fabulous!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brurogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Brurogers,

Thank you for you review and staying with us during your travels into Toronto!

We hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel very soon !


Warmly,


Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Our 25th wedding anniversary started nicely with complimentary chocolate covered strawberries, however, the room bathroom was filthy. Housekeeper, Ms. Dellione was very nice had cleaned the area spic & span. Even though it wasn't her room she spent a lot of her time making things right. Unfortunately, the phones, refrigerator, sink faucet & TV were broken. We were offered another room but the bathroom in there was less than clean especially the toliet. Finally, assistant manager Katherine Cizar came to the rescue and moved us to a 2 floor suite with patio. She personally escorted us through the room and had the bathroom freshly cleaned for us. Her attention to detail and care for our comfort made everything right. The hotel is beautiful, free breakfast is plentiful and diversified. Pool and roof top sauna are awesome. Construction being done to exercise room but still usable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Klsmcclain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Klsmcclain,

Congratulations on your 25th anniversary and thank you for allowing us to be part of the special occasions. I'm sorry to hear that there was a small hiccup at the beginning of your stay but I am so pleased that Delloine and Katherine where right there rectify the concerns ensuring that the rest of your stay would be most enjoyable. I'm so pleased that you had the opportunity to enjoy the amenities during your stay with us- there was a bit of aesthetics work that was taken place in our fitness center but it has completed!

Klsmcclain, I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future !


Warmest Regards,


Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#20 of 132 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown
The Saint James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Toronto

Property: Grand Hotel Toronto
Address: 225 Jarvis Street, Toronto, Ontario M5B 2C1, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Toronto
#14 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#14 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#18 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#20 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Toronto 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Hotel Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toronto Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing