We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing too much trouble”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Toronto
Ranked #25 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Stratford-Upon-Avon, England
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Nothing too much trouble”
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

We had booked a room for 3 and it was only set up for two when we arrived. Soon put right. The maintenance man needs to get his screwdriver out, but rooms are clean and staff friendly. Buffet bt realists excellent value. Good place to stay. Shuttle service useful.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lossit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Lossit,

Thank you for sharing your kind review and choosing The Grand Hotel for your stay in Toronto. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel during your next travels into Toronto !


Warmly,


Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,963 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,004
    648
    180
    69
    62
See reviews for
579
661
69
252
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ancaster, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The rooms were good, with everything we could need and lots of space (it was a small suite). We used the salt water pool and hot tub, although the tub jets were not working. We also had a look at the two hot tubs on the roof, but didn't brave the -18 degree temperatures ourselves (but some people did!).
Our room had 2 TV's, a microwave and small kitchenette. The bathrom was small, but everything worked. Storage space is limited and could be a problem if you are going to stay for more than a couple of nights.
The hotel is ideally placed for getting around Toronto, although the free shutle bus to the city core would be more useful if it ran in the evenings.
The buffet breakfast was good, and all the staff we met were very friendly and helpful.
Overall, we had a good time, enjoyed our stay, and I will reccomend this hotel to people in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GMW1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear GMW1960,

Thank you very much for talking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor- it was a pleasure welcoming you! We are so pleased that you had the opportunity to enjoy all the hotel has to offer.

GMW1960, we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future !


Warmly,


Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed at the Grand Hotel for a few days and the service was fantastic. We enjoyed the restaurant for evening meals and also enjoyed the complimentary breakfast. We didn't end up using the pool but plan to on our next visit! Great time had by all!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Joe D,

It was great to welcome you to the hotel during your stay with us and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us !

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future !


Warmly,


Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Service was top notch, not a single complaint here. I left something in our room and didn't realize it until I got home. I called the hotel, they found it, and are now sending it to me! The hotel was clean and well maintained. The free/complimentary breakfast was decent. Good coffee. We didn't use the pool but it looked well maintained.

The hotel is easily accessible from the Gardiner Expressway and is just a five minute walk to Dundas/Yonge square, where you'll find lots of shopping and endless dining options at Eaton Centre. Parking is also pretty easy, safe, and heated but will set you back $21 a night. If you're willing, there are less expensive outdoor parking lots nearby.

And for the grand finale...the rooftop hot tub that is open year round! We enjoyed it nightly till 12:00am in 20 degree weather! A true delight!

Room Tip: Cheaper parking nearby
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear MamaLoveOne,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with others. We are so pleased that we had met your expectations during your stay with us and that you had the opportunity to enjoy all the amenities we have to offer !

MamaLoveOne, we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon!


Warmly,


Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Stayed here a few years ago now, but thought I would write a review as I still remember my time there and cant say enough how brilliant it was.

The Staff were very friendly and courteous, The food in the restaurant was amazing!

Location couldnt have been better, walkable to most of the attractions..

The hot tubs on the roof were something else! even in November when we went.. freezing outside but was great sitting relaxing in these!!

Room Tip: Higher floor for a better view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank owen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Owen C,

We so pleased that your stay was memorable and that it left a lasting impression with you!

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon !


Warmly,


Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

My fiance and I have a tradition whereas we have stayed at the Grand on Christmas eve for the past 4 years.
This year as we were checking in, we were upset to find out that we had accidentally booked a room for the evening of the 25th instead of the 24th.
Obviously we were very upset and we apologized to the lady at the front desk (Katherine) and explained to her that this was a tradition of ours and would obviously like to check in at that point instead of the next day. She saw in her computer that in fact we had stayed with the hotel that exact same night the past 4 years as we said.
Without any sympathy, nor any acknowledgement that we were regular, repeat clients, Katherine bluntly told us that there was nothing she could do other than check us in at the regular, same-day booking rate which would be approx. $80 more than what we had paid when we booked the room over a month before because it was "non-refundable".

I want to make clear that the hotel was not fully booked on the 24th, nor was it fully booked the next night. We were not looking for a refund, just to check in and out one night ahead of was booked.
It was never explained to us why she could not simply check us in and honour our rate that we had paid originally. She insisted on saying there was nothing she could do and remarked that "Sir, you made the mistake, what do you expect me to do?". She was in fact extremely unhelpful and claimed that she could not give us our old rate since we had booked with Expedia and only Expedia could make that change...She said she was the manager and there was nobody else to speak with.

Begrudgingly, I phoned Expedia on my cell phone right in front of her and the gentleman who I spoke with was extremely helpful and sympathetic, saying he had no issue making the change but that it would be up to the hotel whom he would have to call.
Expedia phoned the Grand and Katherine took the call in the back room.
After about 10 minutes, she came out and with a smirk on her face told us "I don't have to help you and change this, but I'm going to anyways just so you know..."
She had a seriously terrible attitude and did everything in her power NOT to help us until the very end. This is not the way to treat any clients (let along repeat clients in the hospitality industry) and ESPECIALLY on Christmas Eve!!!

I'm extremely disappointed with this experience as typically we have a great time at The Grand. The room is wonderful and the rooftop spa (yes, even in the winter) is terrific. I don't know if we will be coming back again because of this sour treatment we received. There are many other hotels in the city who will value your business more than we felt we were.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Jordan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear JSamery,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor regards to your recent stay. I understand that our Management team has been in touch with you since your stay to ensure that the level of service we pride ourselves in will consistently exceed your expectations.

JSamery, we hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel next year!


Warmly,


Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the grand for a long weekend to watch the Blackhawks and Maple Leafs game and wander around the city again.
The staff: amazing! Everyone was so helpful and kind, everyone really seemed to love their job and it showed in service.
The accommodations: Wonderful...the room had a great layout, and the kitchenette was very nice to have and the bed area was wonderful, large windows and lots of room. The bed was very comfortable....the only drawback....the pillows
We used the rooftop hot tub one night and that was really nice....we didn't stay up too long...it was cold! (it was about -18c/ I think zero Fahrenheit) but it was a really great space
The complimentary breakfast was very nice as well...fresh fruit, eggs, pastries, bacon, etc....served in their beautiful lounge
I have read some reviews about the neighborhood being less the wonderful....but my husband and I never felt unsafe walking to and from the hotel...day or night.

If you get the chance to stay at this hotel, I hope you do....we will certainly be back

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Ezdiebold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Evilldoer78,

Thank you so much for sharing your review and staying with us during your trip to Toronto, it was a pleasure welcoming you. We're so pleased that you had the opportunity to enjoy the amenities at the hotel but be sure to brave the cold and take a dip in the hot tubs on the roof !

Evilldoer78, we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future !

Warmly,


Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown
Cambridge Suites Toronto
Cambridge Suites Toronto
#37 of 137 in Toronto
1,805 reviews
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Toronto

Property: Grand Hotel Toronto
Address: 225 Jarvis Street, Toronto, Ontario M5B 2C1, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Toronto
#14 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#15 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#18 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#20 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Toronto 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toronto Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing