We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel & Suites
Ranked #28 of 135 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2014

First of the staff was pretty rude to me, i`m 21 years old don`t treat me like i`m 5. When i arrived into the room, one of our bedrooms had no heat coming through at all. The solution was that they gave us a portable sunbeam heater. The washroom door does not close also has no lock feature. In the morning we went down for breakfast, we found empty trays will tiny non cook pancakes, the juice they provide tasted horrible (i saw particles in it). i was devastated so we went back upstairs to get our stuff and check out.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ReviewerCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear ReviewerCD,

Thank you for sharing your review on Tripadvisor. We are sorry to hear that your stay with us was less then satisfactory. As this is not the level of service that we are well known for and pride ourselves in, we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel so that we can truly showcase the level of standards that we uphold.

We truly hope to welcome you again to the hotel in the future.


Warmly,


Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,099)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,202 - 1,208 of 2,100 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2014

Stayed there in January for two nights while in town to see Neil Young at Massey Hall. after reading all the customer reveiws we took a chance and it payed off. We normaly stay at a Westin or Fairmont property in Toronto.. We were pleasantly surprised, we checked in early with no issues, room was a good size and handy to have the small kitchenette. Our television was static ridden when we turned it on a quick call to the front desk and it was fixed in 10 minutes(speaking of the TV, its not your typical hotel cable, has TMN at nocharge so you dont have to pay 15 bucks to watch a movie).
Pool was clean and well decorated, did not feel like it was in the basement.
our biggest surprise was dinner, we booked the 3 course gourmet pkg when we reserved online for $25.00 more than the room rate expecting typical hotel food. Service was attentive but not overbearing, we sat in the club chairs at the side of the bar and enjoyed a recomended bottle of wine from a knowledgeable server and ordered a pasta dish and against my normaly better judgement i ordered the rib steak rare. Pasta arrived perfectly el-dente, the steak arived on a plater with the bone frenched (as good as any KEG rib ive had) perfectly char grilled and pink to blue center. if I could complain it would be that the steak was to big. well worth the 25.00 for 115.00 worth of food..
As in other reviews the breakfast was average and service was good.
The area does leave a little to be desired. On the walk back from Massey hall on Sunday night there were a few ladies plying their trade within a block of the hotel (also very freindly by the way :)
We would stay again.
O yeah, on the second night we opted for the spa pkg nigh for 30.00 and my wife quite enjoyed her 60 min massge which books for much higher thn 30 bucks, good value in adding these things in a pkg.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zeroload
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Zeroload,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us this January and thank you for sharing your great review ! We are delighted to know you took the chance and enjoyed your stay as well as your dining experience in our restaurant Citrus. I will be sure to share your kind comments with our team !

Zeroload, we hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you to the hotel in the near future !


Warmest Regards,


GReg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I found the hotel to be in an OK location but as i was here for business i only had one free day but i managed to roam to all the key points OK!!
Room was fine but i have to say the only minus point i could give is the bathroom is on the smaller side but is funtional and clear so that is all that matters!
i found all the staff to be helpfull and polite and all very cheerful and could not too too much. Breakfast was great - espceillay the french toast and bacon and syrup - Yum yum (to us brits anyway!!)
I ate once in the restaurant and it was also very nice and also reasonable so no complaints at all!

Room Tip: away from elevators tend to be quiterer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mooer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Mooer,


Thank you for taking the time to share your review with others. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the very near future !


Warmly,


Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Great hotel. Very accommodating. No snootiness just genuine people working there. Some of the best rooms in the city. Well done loved the beds. Rooms very well laid out. Central location without the traffic jams in other areas of downtown. Wifi and breakfast included; great bonus.

Room Tip: Great view of the downtown core!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Ross M,

Thank you for the great review ! We are so pleased that you stayed with us during your travels into Toronto !

We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the very near future !


Warmly,


Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

It was a great stay! We were upgraded to a nicer room for free and the service was very good. The location was a little farther from some key points of interest but it was a great property. Parking right next to hotel - we walked to Dundas Square from the hotel which wasnt too far. The breakfast was very good and the rooftop was really cool. Room was awesome - clean and spacious.

Will return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Jason W,

Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor! We are so pleased that we had the pleasure of welcoming you to the hotel and looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warmly,


Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I have stayed at the Grand Hotel in downtown Toronto a few times and find the rooms to be beautiful, the facilities and restaurants top notch and the staff second to none. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Toronto area.

Room Tip: I have stayed in different rooms in the hotel and if you get a chance to staff in a loft you will ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Adam D,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with others. We most certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel during your next stay in Toronto !

Warmly,


Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

This was my first family trip to Toronto. We had a 2 bedroom suite, and I loved the feeling it gave us of having our own apartment in the city. The views were gorgeous- we were on one of the highest floors; but if you're lower down, you can still go see the view from the roof top- worth the time. The location was fantastic, a great walking distance to the St. Lawrence Market, where we went twice, as well as being walkable to some other attractions. When we first got to our room, we were a little nervous as we could hear a baby crying in the room next to ours. But once we stepped into our room from the hall, we didn't hear a thing from the neighbors again. Friendly staff, a nice pool and breakfast was a good solid offering. The only thing stopping me from giving it 5 stars are some little details- for instance, the paint job in the suite was poorly done. Nothing that interferes with the functionality, just style points (and maybe someone who hasn't done as much painting as I have would never notice in the first place). We would definitely stay here again and we can't wait to go back to Toronto.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Kristin M,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback. We are so pleased that you had enjoyed your stay and we hope that your first trip Toronto will not be your last !

I will also be sure to share your comments regards to the paint with our maintenance department to ensure this is looked after right away !

Kristin M, we hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future !

Warmly,

Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#23 of 135 in Toronto
3,956 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel & Suites

Address: 225 Jarvis Street, Toronto, Ontario M5B 2C1, Canada (Formerly Grand Hotel Toronto)
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Toronto
#14 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#15 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#19 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#20 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: £121 - £333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toronto Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing