We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was an excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel & Suites
Ranked #27 of 138 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Thanks again to Tripadvisor and reviews, My husband stayed here June 4-9th 2014. We were not disappointed. We were even upgraded to a suite on the 2nd floor, with living room ,kitchenette, fridge,, 2 big screen TVS, nice size bedroom and office. Nice sized bathroom with toiletries . And a small deck with table and 2 chairs but it overlooks the parking lot (FYI the deck has a drain that sticks out, they should change it to a more flat kind). The rooftop hot tubs with skyline view and 80's music videos playing was a nice touch.
Only negative I can say the wireless internet connection is awful. An old AOL modem, is faster than the wireless connection.
The breakfast buffet had a nice selection for everyone's tastes. WE were treated really well, top notch staff overall (except one surly waiter at breakfast got annoyed I asked for a pot of tea-not sure what his issue was)
From being social in the hot tub, this hotel is well loved by locals as well I met people who had weddings, graduations, stays here for quick getaway, even a couple who was doing a blue jays game. Watching the sunset on the roof, so worth it. . I would stay here again..

Room Tip: 2nd and 3rd floors are suites. FYI: When going to rooftop hot tub they are very strict on no smo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ErisShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear ErisShaw,

Thank you for your glowing review of the hotel and your recent stay with us. We are happy that we could make your stay more memorable by upgrading you to one of our larger two bedroom suites. The roof top hot tubs and terrace are one amenity that guests enjoy during the summer months when everyone can enjoy the atmosphere, good weather, and great company of other guests. We hope that in the future you will come back to stay with us—your TripAdvisor review will definitely help others choose our hotel!

Regards,
Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,053)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,108 - 1,114 of 2,053 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

Hotel was very nice, staff friendly and helpful especially reception staff and doormen, particularly Leo who went out of his way to organise tours for me and followed up when they were late arriving. I can't fault hotel itself, apart from the noise when people walking up the corridor, the rooms need better sound-proofing. the location was a bit dodgy especially for a female solo traveler. If I visited Toronto again would probably stay closer to Yorkville shopping district which appeared a safer area. However very nice hotel for couples or more seasoned travellers.

Room Tip: I stayed on level 14 on the left-hand side I could hear every noise from the outside corridor and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kylie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Kylie72,

Thank you for your honest review of the hotel and your recent stay with us. I will pass on the message to our bell staff and Leo in particular that you found their service to be particularly helpful. We hope that you were able to use the hotel amenities including the salt water pool, health club, rooftop Jacuzzis and terrace as well as the complimentary shuttle. We hope in the future that we can welcome you back warmly.

Regards,
Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Just spent 7 days 3rd/10th June 2014 here. Hotel has unique very comfortable rooms and fantastic views from room 1814. Great complimentary buffet breakfast with a choice of hot and or cold food.
All staff very polite, helpful and friendly and very useful courtesy car to local destinations.
Fantastic pool and rooftop hot tubs and night time views to die for! Also with music and large video screen!
Can't emphasise enough what a great hotel this is.
P&K Saunders

Room Tip: South facing rooms on floors 16/17/18 (top)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear KJ S
Thank you for your warm review of the hotel and your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed one of the many perks of staying with us: the complimentary breakfast for our guests. Additionally, we are happy to hear that you utilized the complimentary downtown shuttle, the pool, and roof top Jacuzzi and terrace to your benefit. We hope that we will be able to welcome you back warmly in the future!

Regards,
Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed as a family of 4 for our 20th Wedding Anniversary. The hotel provided complimentary chocolate strawberries and an anniversary card in the room on our arrival, which was a really nice touch. The room was perfect for us - we didn't spend that much time in there. Wi fi worked well and the beds were comfortable. The sofa bed was ideal for our 2 children, not sure if it would be so comfortable for anyone over the age of 12! Bathroom was small but well appointed, with a variety of toiletries.

Breakfasts were fabulous, taken on the covered in outdoor patio. Staff were polite and courteous. The roof top hot tubs were the icing on the cake, so to speak, especially in the evening when the sun went down and the Toronto skyline lit up.

Parking charges were reasonable - the garage has a few tight corners, beware. An easy walk to the Eaton Centre and the harbourfont meant that we didn't use the car the whole 3 days we were there.

It was just nice to find a one of a kind hotel, instead of a run of the mill chain hotel. We will certainly stay again

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frances68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Frances68,

Thank you for your glowing review of your stay with us. We are happy that we could add in an extra touch for your anniversary with the chocolate strawberries and card. The rooftop hot tubs are definitely a highlight among guests in the summer when the weather is warmer and people can enjoy the sights and sounds of Toronto. We pride ourselves on being one of a kind with the amenities we offer, complimentary breakfast, and great staff. We hope to welcome you back warmly in the future.


Regards,
Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Took a trip to Toronto with my daughter on June 8 & 9 to see The Lion King at the Princess of Wales Theatre(which was incredible!). The Grand Hotel was a little older, but very nice. Rooms good size, beds comfortable, bathroom a little small but ok. Rooftop hot tubs were great. Skyline at night was amazing! They also play music videos on a big screen. Buffet breakfast in the morning was really nice with good selection of fresh fruit and hot items. We sat out on the patio for breakfast. Staff were friendly and helpful. Hotel is walking distance to Eaton Centre. We took a taxi to the theatre ($10) Overall a nice little getaway and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Get a room higher up for a view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emacel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Emacel,

Thank you for your warm review of your stay with us. We are glad to see that you were able to use the hotel’s amenities for your getaway to see the Lion King. We hope that your daughter enjoyed her stay with us as well. We would like to welcome you back warmly in the near future!


Regards,
Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

A few weeks ago, my husband and I decided to stay in one of the suites for a night. The room was absolutely breathtaking. The ceilings were so high and lavish. The room was the size of our house! There were 2 floors which included a living room, bedroom, bathroom, kitchen, balcony and a mini office space. The staff were first class and treated us like royalty. The whole hotel was extremely well maintained and the restaurant was beautiful. Thank you for such an amazing experience!

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Kim M,

Thank you for such a glowing review of your stay! We are very happy that you had an excellent time in one of our larger suites and that the staff were welcoming and hospitable. We hope that you were able to use the amenities the hotel offers including the two-storey saltwater pool, roof top terrace and Jacuzzis, and the health club. If not, you must come back to utilize them. We hope to welcome you back warmly in the near future!

Regards,
Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here last week when I attended a family wedding. I was very impressed with it. The decor in the lobby and dining room is stunning, the breakfast was excellent with many choices to suit everyone. The rooftop hot tubs and deck was lovely with great city views. The rooms were okay, I was on the sofa bed which was a little uncomfortable but it was clean which is of utmost importance. The pillows were huge and very comfy! Above all, the staff were fabulous, they were very knowledgable and obliging. They organised a rental car for us without any problems. The neighbourhood isn't central but is only a short walk from the Eaton Centre and about a 3km walk to both the Rogers Centre/CN Tower and the Ferry Dock. I would definitely consider staying here again.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank 152larag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Lara G,

Thank you for your welcome review of the hotel and your stay. Thank you as well for your warm review of our staff—I will definitely pass on your compliments to them, they definitely do their best to make every stay enjoyable and hassle free. Next time that you stay with us, check out St. Lawrence Market, just a 10 minute walk away for a variety of food. Finally, the roof top is definitely a highlight among guests during the warm summer months when it is best enjoyed. We hope to welcome you back warmly in the near future!

Regards,

Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#22 of 138 in Toronto
3,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
One King West Hotel & Residence
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel & Suites

Address: 225 Jarvis Street, Toronto, Ontario M5B 2C1, Canada (Formerly Grand Hotel Toronto)
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Toronto
#14 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#15 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#18 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#20 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: £131 - £304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toronto Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing