We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel & Suites
Nearby Hotels
US$273
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$262
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Delta Hotels Toronto(Toronto)
US$680
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$639
Delta Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Omni King Edward Hotel(Toronto)
US$247
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$236
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$539
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$462
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$439
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$364
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$577
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$450
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$296
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$284
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
US$967
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$754
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$313
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$291
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$353
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$261
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,140)
Filter reviews
2,140 results
Traveller rating
1,077
709
205
79
70
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,077
709
205
79
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmusic videoscitrus restaurantrooftop terracehot tub on the roofeaton centrejarvis streetbreakfast buffetindoor poolhomeless peoplehome friessmall kitchenettebedroom suitefresh fruitthe sofa bedshuttle servicesitting areast lawrence market
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,150 - 1,155 of 2,140 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2014

3 families... 3 rooms... Teens, parents and grandparents. The rooms were very comfortable. There is a microwave, refrigerator, etc which is handy for larger families and having snacks and drinks available.
Pull outs were good for the teens to sleep on. Room was very clean.
The pools were a bit hit especially the hot tubs on the top floor of the hotel. 19th floor with a fabulous view of the city and a huge video screen playing 80's and 90's music. Open until midnight on great summer nights. There was a 2 story indoor pool which was great as well.
A big bonus was the complimentary breakfast buffet which is a big cost saver when you have teenage boys. The staff was very attentive and the food was always fresh.
Short walking distance to Eaton Centre and the downtown happenings... Tim Horton's two doors down. What's not to love?

Room Tip: It seems like the hotel staff placed all of the families with children on the same floor. This worked out fine as they can be noisy and therefore did not distract other guests.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank taxmammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear taxmammy,

What a great review ! Thank you very much for sharing. We are delighted that we had the pleasure of welcoming you and your family while in Toronto and we hope to welcome you back soon !


Warmly,


Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed at the Grand for 7 nights in July. As a young, childless couple, the hotel was everything that we were after, and the previous reviews are mostly very accurate.

There were no problems that needed to be raised with the management during our stay, so the following issues were minor but they were the reason for rating as 'very good' rather than 'excellent'.

- Breakfast was exactly the same every day. Although there was a range, it would have been nice to see an additional food variety each day, such as pancakes one day, waffles another, eggs another etc. But, breakfast was complimentary and there was always space to sit, even at the busiest times.

- The bedroom was great. Great view, decent shower and bath, clean and well equipped. However, it could do with a little TLC in areas that are clearly overlooked during the every day cleaning. The handles for the drawers and cupboards were a little loose and if pulled too quickly, could come off completely - possibly dangerous for little kids. Free newspaper each day was a nice touch.

- Wifi was intermittent in the bedrooms and kicked you off every now and again. Perhaps this was just our room as wifi was great in the corridors, reception and dining areas. To be honest, if you go to toronto for the wifi, rather than the sights, you've got your priorities wrong...

- And as many previous reviews mention, the hotel is 5-6 minutes away from Dundas square / Eaton centre, but 5-6 minutes into slightly more impoverished areas. We never felt unsafe, but this walking to / from the hotel is a lot quieter than in town and not as built up, so at night passing pawn shops, 24h markets and people asking for money becomes a lot more noticeable, especially for the wary traveller.

I'd recommend this hotel, particularly for travellers, couples or young families. I'm sure this is a great hotel for business people too. Price-wise, it's very competitive. But, if you want 'excellent', there are probably better hotels out there.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank danwizey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Danwizey,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback and comments regards to your stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. I will be sure to share your comments with our appropriate Team Members to ensure these are looked after to improve for your return and our future guests.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel during your travels to Toronto.


Warmly,


Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed 9 nights and were given an instant upgrade to an 'ambassador' room, which is a two-storey luxury with a huge bed, two bathrooms, spacious living area, functional kitchen, and full window. It wasn't very high so it wasn't a very special view, but was still lovely. However even when the window is covered it gets very bright as soon as the sun rises so you may find yourself waking up earlier than you expected.
Everything was perfectly clean, staff were good, and a small tip went a long way with our room service (it was fine before we tipped as well - this hotel doesn't use the envelope system that many do - but the cleaner seemed to really appreciate it). Breakfast was a nice buffet featuring the usuals plus bagels, Canadian bacon, French toast, potatoes, and good pastry and fruit, plus more Central-European foods on the weekend (boiled eggs, cheese and cold meat), good food and especially so if you get in a bit earlier as things like bagels do run out. The one thing I didn't like here was that every morning we were asked to sign a bill for our room's breakfast which indicated that it was complimentary and gave an option to tip - but our only interaction with waiters during breakfast was when they gave us the bill, which shouldn't require a tip. Surely there's a better way to do it.
Wi-fi is excellent - reception all over the hotel and inclusive of streaming. Generally not noisy but on the last couple of nights a family with very loud, very young children were next door and they woke us up in the morning - definitely could be a bit more soundproof. Air conditioning was good.
The pool was great too and make sure you check out the views from the roof, they're a big asset to the hotel.
Lastly a downside of the hotel is its location - it's not too far a walk from sights in Toronto, but it can get just a little seedy at night. However I never felt unsafe.

Room Tip: Ambassador room upgrade is well worth it
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pancreas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Pancreas,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with other travelers. We are pleased that you had enjoyed your stay as well as the upgrade to the Ambassador Suite.

When in Toronto next, we do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel !


Warmly,


Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed with my daughter for 3 nights. Was immaculate inside. Had everything we could want or need. The bed was exceptional & comfortable & shuttle service everywhere we went! Amazing staff! Loved it! Thank you for a lovely stay & experience while in your country!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JujuG8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear JujuG8r,

It was such a pleasure welcoming you and your daughter to the hotel during your stay in Toronto. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay while in Toronto and we look forward to welcoming you and your family to the hotel once again !


Warmly,


Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The Hotel staff are friendly and helpful. The room was clean and well appointed. The food areas and bar are very comfortable. Breakfasts are well catered. The location is not the most central, but the centre is not far away. I would recommend the Hotel for families particularly. The roof terrace with hot tubs and music videos is a nice touch. I recommend this hotel highly

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Thank you very much John for your recommendation for others to stay with us during their travels into the city. We are so pleased that you had enjoyed your experience and Thank You for the 5 star review !

Hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future !


Warmest Regards,


Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews