We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Toronto
Ranked #22 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Rooms were great, views from full room width windows is spectacular at night. The roof top seating s great and you can enjoy the hot tubs whatever the weather, Breakfast was good though a little disorganised and at time there were short waits to be seated. Staff were helpful and friendly. The only downside is the location if you want a choice of bars and restaurants on your doorstep this is not for you though it's only a 15 minuets walk to a plethora of bars and restaurants. The area is ok but not great with a few unsavoury characters about

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, 20 October 2014
Dear Ray W,

We are delighted to you took the time to share your review with others and enjoyed your stay while at the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future !


Warmly,


Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,856 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    960
    611
    161
    65
    59
See reviews for
528
636
67
240
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed here one night, on our stopover in Toronto. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable and clean.

Breakfast in the morning was great - buffet style with a pretty good selection: Yogurts, cereals, oatmeal, various breads, lots of fruits, french toast, potatoes, bacon, eggs (hardboiled and scrambled), cheeses and cold cuts.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrscox12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, 20 October 2014
Dear Michelle T,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your 5 star review with readers as well, thank you for sharing your photos from your stay!

Hope to welcome you back soon !


Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

The Grand Hotel in Toronto, Ontario excels in all aspects of the hospitality business. The building itself is elegant; the rooms are so comfortable and clean; the breakfast has something for everyone; the Citrus Lounge has fine dining above and beyond expectations. What makes The
Grand so special is the staff. EVERYONE greets you and goes to any length to make your stay unforgettable. Two staff members have made our stays that much better - Lina in the Citrus Lounge ( so friendly, so professional, so meticulous about the fine details) and Karen at the Front Desk ( always smiling, always remembers your name, brings tea to your room if she learns that you are not feeling well). What more can I say? The Grand is THE place to stay. Did mention the two large hot tubs on the roof?

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, 20 October 2014
Dear Kathie,

Wow! What a great review. We are so happy to read that we have exceeded your expectations during your stay with us in August. I will be sure to share all your kind comments with Lina, Karen and the other associates and management.

Kathie, I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel during your next travels into the city !


Warmly,

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

What more could you want?

A big thank you to the hotel for helping us celebrate a special occasion and such an amazing gesture of delicious chocolate dipped strawberries!

The hotel was ideally located within 5 minutes walk of the main downtown square. Lovely rooms in reasonable condition but most importantly clean.

You are doing yourself an amazing disservice if you don't visit the restaurant for your evening meal as the dishes are delicious from the fantastic complimentary bread selection to start to every element of both our starter and main courses.

Everything at the hotel is ever so slightly looking tired such as holes in the curtains and loose paving on the roof terrace which i am guessing is why they do not always receive 5 star reviews but to be honest it is excellent value for money and I would visit again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigerlily4885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, 20 October 2014
Dear Karen_Harris83,

It was a pleasure welcoming you to the hotel and thank you for allowing us to be part of your special occasion !

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us based on your 5 star review! We are also consistently upgrading different components of the hotel so I will be sure to share your comments with management !

We hope to welcome you back in the future !


Warmly,


Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Visited this great hotel 04/08/14 with my family for 4 nights x 2 rooms. The rooms had a connecting door which turned the rooms into more like a suite, spotless and clean. The breakfast was great and plentiful. Staff where fantastic, could not have been more friendly and helpful, booked our trip to Niagara falls which was first class( personal limo). Facilities at this hotel are 5 star, jacuzzi's on the roof with great views over the city, pool and an outdoor terrace for drinks. Perfectly located for shopping and to the CN tower. I could not recommend this hotel highly enough, one of the best city hotels I have stayed in.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank con16507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, 20 October 2014
Dear Con16507,

Its great to read that you would highly recommend us to other readers and travelers. It reassures us that we are providing a great product for guests to enjoy; Thank you for the great review !


Warmest,


Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

The Grand Hotel & Suites is probably 20 minutes walk to the harbour side and downtown and while there are other lodging options closer, that shouldn't stop you from staying here. The hotel has it's own secure, underground car park, a nice indoor swimming pool, a terrific roof top deck with a hot tub and the most amazing views of the lake and the city. The rooms, or in our case the suite, was spacious and well cared for. The breakfast was extensive and enjoyable. The acid test is always "would you stay here again" and "was the stay fairly priced" and the answer in our case to both questions would be a resounding yes.

Room Tip: Pay for a junior or a full suite. The difference in price is small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RodneyT513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, 20 October 2014
Dear Rodney T513,

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and had the opportunity to enjoy all the amenities and value adds that we pride ourselves in.

Thank you for allowing us to be apart of your trip !


Warmest,


Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We spent two nights here en route to Boston via Niagara Falls. We received a very warm welcome by the Concierge and Reception. Breakfast was delicious and we ate Al Fresco which we enjoyed. The hotel pool was very nice and the views from the roof terrace were amazing. Centrally located, this hotel is excellent value for money!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank MickWig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, 20 October 2014
Dear MickWig,

What a great review. Thanks for sharing for others to read. It was a pleasure welcoming you to the hotel during your layover and hope that we can welcome you to the hotel again soon !


Warmly,


Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 132 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Downtown
The Saint James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Toronto

Property: Grand Hotel Toronto
Address: 225 Jarvis Street, Toronto, Ontario M5B 2C1, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Toronto
#13 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#14 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#17 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#20 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Toronto 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toronto Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing