We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,229)
Filter reviews
2,229 results
Traveller rating
1,120
743
213
82
71
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,120
743
213
82
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviews music videos citrus restaurant rooftop terrace hot tub on the roof eaton centre jarvis street breakfast buffet indoor pool homeless people home fries small kitchenette two bedroom suite st lawrence market the sofa bed sitting area shuttle service yogurt
Filter
Updating list...
152 - 157 of 2,229 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2017

We stayed here for a week between late October and early November 2017.

Other than being ripped off for the taxi ride from the train station to the hotel, our arrival at the hotel was great. The Rgeception staff were very courteous and helpful, and the support staff acted similarly.

We were given a room on the 11th floor. Other than the fact that the lift was rather quick (great if you want to get to your room/Reception quickly; bad if you feel queasy!) the journey and the room were great. We had a small living room area with TV, a mini kitchenette, and a good-sized double bed with lovely bathroom. Other than hearing some music from the adjacent room on one evening, the sound-proofing was good, and the air conditioning effective and quiet.

Breakfasts are great. They are served between 6-10am Mon-Fri and 6:30-10:30 Sat-Sun, with a great range of juices/hot drinks, cereal, toast, pastries, cooked breakfast items and fruit - everything you could want. In addition, the restaurant/bar where breakfast is served also do great food and drink for lunch and in the evenings. There’s a range of local and international wines, beers and spirits (including Toronto beer and Niagara wine) as well as a specialist sushi chef! The staff are great too. Big shout-out to Kirstin who treated us like royalty, and I suspect she makes every visitor feel that way.

Last but not least are the hot tubs on the roof. Accessed by a separate lift, they are wonderful, providing a relaxing experience on the roof afternoon or evening (they are open until 12:30am) keeping you very warm too!

Location-wise, this hotel was perfect for us. We’d wanted somewhere near the Ed Mirvish Theatre (we’d bought tickets for Bat out of Hell) and within walking distance of most key spots. The only times we needed transport were when we went up to Casa Loma (when we used the complementary hotel shuttle); when we went for dinner at El Catrin in the Distillery District (though we did walk there previously); and when we went to Niagara. Yonge-Dundas square is a 7-8 minute walk, and most key spots in the city are within walking distance.

All in all, we had a great trip, and I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jonathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg E, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

Dear Jonathan P,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. The location of the Grand makes it very convenient to get around to all major attractions in the city. We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you in the future.

Kindly,

Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

So my friend and I arrived to be welcomed with a card welcoming me back with two free complementary drinks and a upgrade to a suite. I have never had that happen to me ever. I don’t know how or why but that totally made our trip . The front desk was so friendly and made me feel important. The room was amazing and the roof top hot tubs and view was to die for. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. The mall was a 10 min walk away. This is the only hotel I’ll be staying at . Thanks u for the special treatment.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank tonyahatton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg E, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

Dear tonyahatton,

We appreciate you taking your time to leave a review. We aspire to continually be the home you seek when yours is miles away. We hope to welcome you in the future.

Kindly,

Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017

The hotel and all staff couldn't be more helpful. Everything is thought of to make your stay enjoyable and faultless. Nothing is overlooked. The rooms, food and the whole experience is more than you could wish for. Would definitely recommend to all travellers. Thank you for making our fourth stay as memorable as ever xx Especially to Kristen and the bar staff and also the breakfast staff who made our stay extra special.

Room Tip: A high floor on the south side provides great city views.
Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank harrison292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg E, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

Dear harrison292,

Thank you for taking your time to leave a review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Every day we strive to provide personalized care for all of guests. We look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Kindly,

Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017

We stayed here for the Royal's 2nd weekend (November 10-12). As it is a huge draw for the city, it was disappointing to discover that the staff and taxi drivers were not aware of it. We got caught in traffic and had to ask taxi driver to drop us off down the street so we didn't have a large fare to pay.

Stayed in Room 1818 away from the elevators; suite needs upgrading (paint, furniture, window coverings); bedroom #2 has a tv on the wall but it does not swivel; the bathroom is small with little counter space; the pillows are large and uncomfortable; but we were able to instantly receive smaller feather pillows, extra coffee pods, and bath robes. Fan/thermostat in the room did not work well and room always felt stuffy; opening the windows brought in the noise of many sirens.

Amenities: roof top hot tub, indoor pool, sauna, free shuttle (week days only) were all great. Breakfast: nice variety of fresh fruit, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, home fries, pan cakes; cereal/oatmeal in packages, baked goods, juices, etc. Service was excellent by staff; please remember to tip them on your room. Dinner: great selection, service, and affordable.

Late check-out 1pm is offered; however, we were not informed of the extra charge to stay until our requested time of 2pm. Only a 10 min walk to Eaton Centre; but neighbourhood is not touristy. Overall, good quality for price and comfortable atmosphere.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank G R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg E, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

Dear G R,

Thank you for taking your time to leave a review. We appreciate all of your feedback and we will work hard to improve upon these issues. We hope to see you in the future.

Kindly,

Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017 via mobile

The hotel was nice exactly what we had expected. The free breakfast was good which was a big plus. Check out is at 12 but it’s free to late check out at 1pm which i thought was amazing. The doormen were extremely friendly and super accommodating and helpful. Only wish it were a little bit closer to downtown but still only a few blocks walk.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg E, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

Dear Lauren G

Thank you kindly for your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Toronto. We very much appreciate you taking the time to leave a review as your feedback is very important to us. We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kindly,

Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews