We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, can't wait to go back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
Ranked #60 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Reviewed 19 July 2011

My friend and I arrived at about 10:30 am and checked in to our room without a problem, which was great because we didn't expect to be given our room so early in the day. We had a kind bed room which was small but big enough for the two of us. The room was clean and updated. We even had a small balcony off of our room which was a nice surprise. The bed was very comfortable and there more than enough pillows for us. The single problem we had with the room was that the shower occasionally got cold while using it, but this did not stop us from enjoying the hotel and its ammenities. The facilities the hotel offers are fantastic. They had a family area with a pool, hot tub, and waterslide which is very nice. On the 27th deck there is also a pool and fitness area for adults only. This was very nice and quiet. There is also a small outdoor area on this deck with lounge chairs and amazing views of the city.
Not only is the hotel beautiful, but it is in a great location. You can more than easily walk to restaurants, shopping, and multiple subway stops. We only stayed over one night but on our second day we weren't leaving the city until late afternoon so we asked for a late check-out (1pm) and a very nice woman at the front desk said it was not a problem. Check-out was also simple as we just let the people at the front desk we were checking out and it took less than a couple minutes.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone as it fits adults and children greatly. I am looking forward to staying here again!!

Room Tip: If you have a problem or a request ask because they are there to give you the best time possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baseballmlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TorontoJon, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I was sorry to hear that there was a problem with your hot water, howerver I was pleased to see that it was handled well.

I was glad to see that you enjoyed the rest of your stay.

Kind Regards,

Jonathan Holliwell
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,513)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,938 - 4,944 of 6,513 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2011

We stayed in June 2011 for nine nights.

We were originally booked into a room on the 5th floor but had a problem with the hot water. We were quickly put in another room and compensated for the inconvenience.

We could not fault the staff who were very helpful.

There were 3 eating establishments on the premises but also many local restaurants.

There was on-site parking which was rather expensive but then this was central Toronto.

There was also a nice gym and pool area.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank desandstu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

My wife and I decided to stay downtown after the Theatre.
Delta offered us an upgrade on check-in. Evening snack was
in the Market Garden Restaurant; morning was a full buffet breakfast
in the Bistro. I have stayed at Deltas across Canada on the business
with the level of service I expect and enjoy thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eyewander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosaDeltaChelsea, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2011

Dear Valued Guest

It was such a pleasure to hear of the exceptional service you received, and am truly proud of our staff for making your experience with us memorable.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Rosa Ramirez
Guest Experience Specialist
Delta Chelsea Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

stayed for 3 nights in September 2010, very luxurious hotel with great restaurants, food was a bit on the expensive side but tasted nice

bed was very comfortable and shower was great, would definitely recommend staying here when in Toronto as it is perfect for shopping, sight seeing etc

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goldielocks79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosaDeltaChelsea, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2011

Dear Valued Guest

I was thrilled to hear about your stay with us, and am appreciative of you review. I have sent your comments to our Food and Beverage Director to review your comments.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Rosa Ramirez
Guest Experience Specialist
Delta Chelsea Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Huge hotel we were on the 17th floor, express lifts though. We had a deluxe room, which was fine, very large with king sized bed. There is extensive building works, on the block across and we were wakened at 7:00am. Noisy before that with waggons reversing etc, Even on 17th floor! Many hotel rooms on this side. we had learnt of the building works 2 weeks before travelling and had requested a quiet room, but didn't get one.
Self sevice at breakfast, but wide range of food cooked while you wait plus continental breakfast as well. Hotel just off Yonge street and downtown Toronto.

Room Tip: I did request a quiet room but didn't get one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeraldN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosaDeltaChelsea, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2011

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for staying with us and for reviewing us. I would like to assure you we do our best to accommodate the requests of all our guests, and am sorry we were unable to reserve a room for you away from construction. We have the south tower with upgraded rooms that all face away from Gerrard St as well as the south facing view of our North tower, which also faces away from construction. I have sent your comments to our Rooms Division who will review your concerns.

We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back.

Sincerely,

Rosa Ramirez
Guest Experience Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Stayed one night on a Saturday and the room was a decent size and clean. The room did have a balcony, but it was very small and didn't have any furniture - also wouldn't want to go out on it bare foot.

Even though the reception area was very busy when we checked in, the line moved quickly and the staff were friendly and efficient.

Internet was not included and it was quite pricey

Room Tip: Rooms facing construction site might be loud if you're in the room during the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drloky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosaDeltaChelsea, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2011

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you reviewing us, and for providing valuable feedback. I am glad you found your stay comfortable and our staff friendly. I am happy to let you know we offer complimentary wireless Internet in the lobby, and complimentary wired Internet to our members of the Delta Privilege program.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Rosa Ramirez
Guest Experience Specialist
Delta Chelsea Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Rooms are old and are in need of serious refurbishment!! Lobby is nice, but once we arrived in our room I was extremely disappointed. Our room smelled stale, with a hint of smoke even though they are "smoke free". The bathroom had faded tile, bathtub was old. All furniture was old (not in a nice vintage way), carpet was old, and the patio was dirty with cracked paint. I will not return here...the location was great but there are lots of other hotels within a similar price range in the same area. No mini bar and $14 a day for internet. I wish someone told us all of this before we booked!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marigold79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosaDeltaChelsea, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2011

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you reviewing us and for your comments regarding your stay with us. I apologize for the disappointment you felt regarding the hotel, and assure you this does not represent the quality of service we are know for. We have renovated our rooms on the 4-9 floors and continually upgrade our rooms. I have sent your concerns to our Rooms Division to follow up with. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back, to showcase the service we know we can provide.

Sincerely,

Rosa Ramirez
Guest Experience Specialist
Delta Chelsea Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#58 of 137 in Toronto
2,715 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre
Downtown
The Saint James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Downtown
Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Hotel, Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Hotel, Toronto

Address: 33 Gerrard Street W., Toronto, Ontario M5G 1Z4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range: £101 - £291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chelsea Hotel, Toronto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1590
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of downtown, steps from amazing attractions, businesses and shopping, the Chelsea Hotel, Toronto offers travellers comfortable accommodations at exceptional value. Featuring 1,590 contemporary guestrooms and suites, Chelsea Hotel, Toronto is Canada's largest hotel, delivering warm and reliable service and a variety of accommodation options. All rooms are equipped with technological conveniences and amenities, including basic complimentary WiFi. Whether testing your limits in the well-appointed fitness centre, lapping up the quiet comfort of the Deck 27 indoor pool, or enjoying the Family Fun Zone heated pool with the 130 ft "Corkscrew" waterslide, Kid Centre and Club 33 Teen Lounge, Chelsea Hotel, Toronto guests can choose to exercise their body, relax their mind or take advantage of the family-friendly amenities.Chelsea Hotel, Toronto offers guests a broad choice of dining venues. Experience all-day dining at Market Garden, indulge in a coffee or cocktail at the T|bar Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chelsea Hotel, Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Chelsea Toronto
Delta Chelsea Hotel Toronto
Delta Toronto
Toronto Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing