We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In desperate need of renovation...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
Ranked #60 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Reviewed 7 August 2012

This huge hotel is well located. I also appreciated the swimming pool on the 27th floor and friendly staff. However, the hotel is old and needs to be renovated. Rooms are not well ventilated, smell like smoking rooms and appear dirty. Honestly, I was surprised to see a hotel with rooms in such a bad state in Canada. Wi-fi is only available in the lobby. While internet connection is available in rooms, it is of no use to those who use tablets or iPads. I understand that parking (29$) and breakfast are not included in the price. I booked this hotel using airmiles, but if I had to pay, I would think twice.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank pivoine5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GESDeltaCHE, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

Dear pivoine5,

Thank you for reviewing us on Trip Advisor.

I was disappointed to hear that the condition of your room did not meet your expectations, and would like to apologize for the disappointment you felt. I can promise you that this does not represent the usual high level of service we work hard to provide our guests with. We have recently renovated all of our corridors and our guest rooms on the lower floors 4-9 and continually upgrade our guest rooms and features. We have installed iPod docking stations and LCD flat screen TVs in the majority of our upgraded rooms and hope to finish the process soon.

We do hope that you will afford the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Sincerely,

Dasha Bortsova
Guest Experience Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,436)
There are newer reviews for Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,269 - 4,275 of 6,437 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2012

This was a much needed mini family vacation that we took from August 1st to August 3rd. We had never stayed in a hotel of this size before, and had not been on a vacation in a few years. We got a great deal on Travel Zoo which made this quite affordable for us. Parking was a little tight, luckily it was my husband driving and not me, and it was expensive we thought, at $29/night. But, it was underground and did seem to be a safe spot. Check in was very easy and the lady at the desk was very nice. The lobby was huge and offered WI-FI. The room was a bit on the small size..was a standard room, and was a bit on the older side of rooms, but, seemed nice enough. We were only in the room for a few hours before we asked to be switched to a different room later that night. The phone did not work except to press 0 for operator, the patio door was blocked off to make the patio unusable, and the free internet was not working. We called down for a service guy to take a look at the door and the internet and told him about the phone. He couldn't do anything about the door, telling us the patio was unsafe and was why the door was blocked. He didn't say anything about the phone. He did bring up a new cable for the internet, but, that did not work either. We had been down to the pool earlier after a long day of travelling and seeing the Younge Street sights and found it was closed due to some sort of problem. Was turning out to be a not so good first night. The repair man was very nice and tried his best and it was his suggestion to see if we could get a different room. We didn't want to bother or inconvenience anyone, but, he insisted. When my husband called down they were more than happy to move us to another room right away. The bell hop came with a cart and our new room key and up we went. We were switched to a deluxe room(bigger square footage and seemed to be recently upgraded)..pretty nice..not fabulous, but, better for sure. Patio doors opened, check, phone worked, check, flat screen tv had interference lines going through it quite a bit, the internet still did not work. Called for a repair man to come again(after talking to an internet tech again)and it was the same man. He was surprised it was us again. He tried the cable again, checked out our computer to make sure it wasn't us, and still nothing. Not sure what's up with the internet in your rooms but, perhaps you should look at getting WI-FI in all of your rooms and not just the lobby. The repair man felt so bad for us that he couldn't assist us, he gave us a case of water after finding out we were going to the Toronto Zoo the next day lol. That was very nice of him, and at least it was something. We did get to use the pool the next day, so that was good. My two teenage girls 17 & 16 loved that!The corkscrew tube slide was their favourite saying it was dark and fast. We didn't eat in the hotel restaurants as we found them to be a bit on the pricey side. The downtown location was excellent for walking and we did alot of walking! The Younge-Dundas Square always had something going on and was excellent focal point. It was less than a 5min walk. We were able to see a free concert sponsored by Coca-Cola the first night we were there! We are from a very small town of 5,000 people, so the city of Toronto is a huge change of scenery for us. One thing about the family pool area on the 2nd floor, it didn't seem to be wheelchair accessible considering you had to go down a small set of stairs to get to the hallway leading up to the pool. The beds were comfy but was hard to get a good night sleep. Not sure if it was the pillows or because it was only a double bed. There was no mini fridge or microwave in our room, which would have been nice to have. Because I had liked the Delta Chelsea page on facebook, we did surprisingly have a nice little cheese plate and two Heinikens on ice(although we don't drink beer) and a personalized note from the "facebook guy" Bryn Hendricks,left in our room for us when we got back from seeing the sights the first night. Thanks Bryn! For the most part, we loved our stay at the Delta Chelsea in downtown Toronto. Only wish we could have stayed a little while longer to take in more of the sights and surroundings of Toronto. If we come back to Toronto, I wouldn't mind staying at this hotel again as long as we don't have the same problems all over again. We live in a small rural area, so coming to Toronto is a huge change of scenery for us!

Room Tip: Higher floors have excellent views. Choose at least a deluxe room; the extra square footage is worth...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GESDeltaCHE, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

Dear Kim W,

Thank you for taking a few minutes to review our hotel on Trip Advisor.

I am very happy that you had such a wonderful stay with us. I sincerely apologize about the issues you have experienced with your first room and glad that our Maintenance Team Member was able to assist and encourage you to move to another room. I apologize that you still had issues with the Internet, and I have reported this issue to our inhouse IT department. I am glad that your daughters enjoyed the swimming pool with the water slide. Our second floor swimming pool is fully accessible through red elevators, as that way there are no stairs between the swimming pool/change rooms and the elevators.

We do hope that the next time you come you will have a much better stay with us.

Sincerely,

Dasha Bortsova
Guest Experience Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Typical better large city hotel, not new, not old. Very nice indoor pool and spa. Very expensive cafeteria for the quality...

Very helpful front desk staff and clean rooms and good about cleaning up each day and new linens. Hotel was nicely furnished and halls were clean and nice. Large decently furnished lobby. I would definitely stay at hotel again...very nice, but not fancy city hotel. Outside some of the deck railings were rusty and didn't look nice.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pittHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GESDeltaCHE, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2012

Dear pittHD,

Thank you for taking the time to review us.

I am pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that the location of the hotel was convenient to places you planned on visiting while staying with us. I am also glad that our team members were able to assist when needed.

We do hope to welcome you back soon for another visit with us.

Sincerely,

Dasha Bortsova
Guest Experience Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

My partner and I stayed a week at this hotel while on vacation in July, and I have mixed feelings about the hotel.
First the basics. The hotel is very centrally located close to a lot of sights and restaurants. The hotel itself is very large with three or four banks of elevators. Our room was decent-sized and seemed like it had fairly recently been renovated. The bathroom had a big sink area and a great shower with lots of hot water. It even had a balcony. They have two pool areas, one geared towards kids with a huge water slide and another for people over 19 only on the top floor with a nice workout area, hot tub and sunning area outside. All the staff that I came into contact with were friendly and helpful
The interesting thing about the hotel is that it's a very busy place. If you are looking for a nice, quiet hotel, this may not be the place for you. The lobby is always bustling with people. They are very child friendly and during the day they had someone dressed as Winnie the Pooh walking around and sometimes a robot that went around talking to kids. At night the kids are usually gone, but taking their place were partiers. The bar has loud music or live music playing, and groups of drunken twenty-somethings staggering around. Since they don't have wifi in the rooms (they do have free ethernet connections), there are also always a good number of people sitting around the lobby on their ipads or in the bank of computers that they provide. There was always at least one elevator on our bank of three that was in operable, so even on the 10th floor, people were sometimes opting to take the stairs down.
Normally, a big loud hotel like this wouldn't be for me, but there was a sort of energy there that was actually kind of fun. We ended up really enjoying our stay there.

Room Tip: Due to the elevator issues, it might be best to be on a lower floor. Also, we got a great rate throu...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kgtband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GESDeltaCHE, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Dear kgtband,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review us.

I am pleased that even though you have our hotel unusual you were able to enjoy your stay with us. As the largest hotel in Canada we do our best to cater to all the guests and to ensure they all have a good stay. We have children's entertainment during the day, and as you mentioned we have live entertainment during the evening. We are also opening our patio with more music and sitting area during the last 2 weeks of August.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Dasha Bortsova
Guest Experience Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

The hotel is very well located within a two-minute walk to Yonge-Dundas Square and the Eaton Center. Lots of restaurants and shopping in this area as well as the starting/finishing point for the Toronto open air bus tour which was hugely convenient for our large family. We found the staff to be extremely responsive and the room was clean and updated. Parking was conveniently located under the hotel (the 5'5" height restriction is not really accurate as the staff told us that in reality, vehicles up to 6'3" can fit and, in fact, we saw many mini-vans parked in the facility). The children's pool with its slide is an awesome feature for those traveling with kids. It was great for our children to expend built-up energy after having spent the day with the grown-ups sightseeing. Overall, we would easily stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meixedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GESDeltaCHE, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Dear Meixedo,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review us.

I am thrilled to hear that you had such a positive experience with us, and that your children have enjoyed spending time in the Children's Zone as well as the swimming pool with the water slide. Laos great that the location of the hotel allowed you to park your car and take the hop on hop off bus to go sightseeing in Toronto.

We hope we will welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Dasha Bortsova
Guest Experience Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We were offered a room on the 6th floor and I asked if we could have a higher floor. I was told there wasn't any other rooms!! This was the biggest hotel in Toronto. We had a sleepless night with a family taking up three rooms messing around and shouting/screaming/setting off alarms - security was called and they were allowed to stay - this went on until 0430!! No wifi in rooms. The lady on the conceierge desk was so helpful as was the bellboy.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kayerich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GESDeltaCHE, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Dear kayerich,

Thank you for reviewing us on Trip Advisor.

I sincerely apologize about the noise and the disturbances you have experienced during the night you have stayed with us. We do have a security team to monitor the peace and quite on the floors of our hotel, and I apologize that they did not catch the situation in time. Even being the biggest hotel in Canada we are not always able to guarantee the room preferences of our guests, such as high floors, rooms' locations, and other.

We hope the you will afford us the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future for a better stay.

Sincerely,

Dasha Bortsova
Guest Experience Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Stayed in the Delta Chelsea for three nights in July 19th - 22nd- we were very pleased with the hotel -we had one of the newer rooms , and found it spacious enough for three adults , and most importantly clean overall and very comfy beds after longs days packing in the sights of Toronto!I would second the comments from others re very friendly staff and the little touches they had for kids in the lobby ( even though we had no kids with us !) were very sweet! This big kid enjoyed the popcorn ;) The fitness suite and swimming pool at the top of the hotel were only sampled by some of our party but were excellent !
Location of the hotel was excellent - only a very short walk to Dundas Square and the Eaton Centre - the major shopping centre and where we ate most of our evening meals - NOT your typical Mall dining fare,very good! For breakfast there are facilities in the hotel , however we loved 'Panera' only a 3min walk away - and ideal for getting fresh bagels,pastries, breads, muffins, blueberry parfaits, fresh fruit smoothies and hazelnut coffee to load up for the day ;)
Would happily recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Toronto !

Room Tip: We got upgraded for only a little cost - but would say their newest rooms would be the best
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TanyaTraveller2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GESDeltaCHE, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Dear TanyaTraveller2012,

Thank you for taking the time to review us.

I was very pleased to hear about your stay and how much you enjoyed it. I am glad that you found the hotel in good order, with fun entertainment such the robot in the lobby, as well as the popcorn. The location of the hotel is also important as it does allow our guests to roam around the city and to explore it while still staying close to rest up.

We are looking forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely,

Dasha Bortsova
Guest Experience Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#56 of 137 in Toronto
2,700 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre
Downtown
The Saint James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Downtown
Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Hotel, Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Hotel, Toronto

Address: 33 Gerrard Street W., Toronto, Ontario M5G 1Z4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range: £102 - £340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chelsea Hotel, Toronto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1590
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of downtown, steps from amazing attractions, businesses and shopping, the Chelsea Hotel, Toronto offers travellers comfortable accommodations at exceptional value. Featuring 1,590 contemporary guestrooms and suites, Chelsea Hotel, Toronto is Canada's largest hotel, delivering warm and reliable service and a variety of accommodation options. All rooms are equipped with technological conveniences and amenities, including basic complimentary WiFi. Whether testing your limits in the well-appointed fitness centre, lapping up the quiet comfort of the Deck 27 indoor pool, or enjoying the Family Fun Zone heated pool with the 130 ft "Corkscrew" waterslide, Kid Centre and Club 33 Teen Lounge, Chelsea Hotel, Toronto guests can choose to exercise their body, relax their mind or take advantage of the family-friendly amenities.Chelsea Hotel, Toronto offers guests a broad choice of dining venues. Experience all-day dining at Market Garden, indulge in a coffee or cocktail at the T|Bar Lounge or embrace the lively vibe in Monarchs Pub, downtown Toronto's hotspot for nightly entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Chelsea Hotel, Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Chelsea Toronto
Delta Chelsea Hotel Toronto
Delta Toronto
Toronto Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing