We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lost in the shuffle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
Ranked #61 of 134 Hotels in Toronto
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lost in the shuffle”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

I booked this hotel back in May, when it was still the Delta Chelsea, but my stay was after the name change.

Right in the centre of Toronto, the Chelsea has entrances on 4 separate streets, which means it practically has a block to itself. My taxi dropped me at the Gerrard St entrance and I made my way to Reception, where a pleasant young woman checked my reservation.

She asked me to spell my surname, then tapped away at her keyboard.

Next, she asked if the reservation could have been made under another name. I assured her that this was not the case.

"I can't seem to find your reservation on my system," she said, apologetically.

"Well, you've already got my money, so it has to be in there somewhere," I joked, handing over my paperwork from eBookers. I don't know whether it was the joke or the eBookers reservation, but her demeanour seemed to change; but after making a couple of phone calls and checking with somebody named Gino, I got a key to a room on the 18th floor (1851, in case anyone's interested) and directions to the elevators.

The room was clean, comfortable and, in line with every hotel room I've ever stayed in, totally unlike the photograph on the website. At the rear of the building, there wasn't much to see from the window, but it was clear that the exterior badly needed a facelift.

The balcony, which was inaccessible from the room and may have been a fire escape route, had a rusted railing from which paint was peeling in places, and an item of ladies' clothing that appeared to have been there for some time (and for all I know, still is).

That aside, there was little to fault with the interior, and the staff were professional and helpful in all things.

A good breakfast can be had, buffet-style, on the ground floor (I recommend the pancakes), and the Monarch's Pub boasts a more than decent food menu and is not to be missed. The bartender during my stay, a lady by the name of Linda, keeps a good bar and taught me how to pronounce "Okanagan Springs" which I got wrong on my first couple of attempts.

It's a good place for a relaxing beer after a day's sightseeing or watching your baseball team lose.

So, would I go back?

Since this was my first trip to Toronto (hopefully the first of many), I wouldn't discount the idea; the hotel is centrally-located and no more than 5 minutes' walk from Yonge-Dundas Square and the Eaton Centre.

And while I do think the hotel needs to be a little more, ah, accurate in the depiction of their rooms (and the hotel exterior), the reality wouldn't necessarily prevent my returning...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoloBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alistair I, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Solobob,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. I apologize for the initial hiccup with your reservation and the delay in check-in. I am pleased that once that was sorted you were on your way to an enjoyable stay. We have recently begun a large balcony restoration project which we are excited to have completed. I am also glad you were able to experience the restaurants in the hotel, including the newly renovated Market Garden and T|Bar. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Guest Experience Specialist
Eaton Chelsea Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,992 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,146
    2,148
    1,638
    677
    383
See reviews for
1,480
1,678
486
1,285
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
sudbury
Level Contributor
97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Hello I booked this hotel through priceline showed 31/2 star and $135 Thurs nite
looked beautiful on line wasn't sure which hotel it would be.

I had stayed at the Chelsea another time in TO and had vowed never to stay again, to my disappointment, priceline $135 picked this hotel... pictures on line looked amazing so I figured maybe they renovated....

how deceiving....when checking in told front desk last time I came here, I was extremely disappointed with the room it was in their old section and mentioned I would not be coming back if given the same type of room, she assured us the room was nice, flat out lie....we will not be coming back ever to this hotel....l

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happysanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Toronto hotels

Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

If you're heading to downtown Toronto, you can't go wrong here. Close to shopping, and several restaurants nearby. The lobby area is comfortable, with seating and a cafe, and very helpful staff. We stayed in a Club room, which offers a private room for breakfast and evening snacks on the 25 th floor. The room itself was in need of an upgrade, although the bed was comfortable. Outdated and a tired. The bathroom was very basic and also needs updating. Hopefully a cleanup in in the works

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danymed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alistair I, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Danymed,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback from your most recent stay. We are so pleased that we are your go to hotel when visiting Toronto and take advantage of our fantastic location! Renovation are in the works and are continuing throughout the hotel. We have most recently completed the lobby level and meeting floors. Hope to welcome you back again soon!

Sincerely,

Guest Experience Specialist
Eaton Chelsea Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

My husband and I stayed here one night so he could attend a very early hospital appointment. We received a special rate for this, plus half price parking - very nice. Room was spacious, reasonably modern, bed spotless and very comfortable. I liked that I could step out on to the balcony, although clearly renovations are in progress and needed. Furniture looked slightly worn but not excessively so. Lobby quite lovely, check in easy, staff friendly. The underground garage is a nightmare, and not even up to City of Toronto code. Limited lighting, filthy fire-retardant material on the low ceiling, miniscule parking spaces and VERY limited turning room. Poor signage to find elevators and exits. Much more work needed here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Madeleine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alistair I, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Madeleine C,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I can assure you that all of our facilities have passed inspection and are monitored. I have passed your feedback to our management team for review. I hope that we may welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Guest Experience Specialist
Eaton Chelsea Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I stayed here at the Eaton Chelsea on sat Nov 2. I payed 139.99 plus tax and 39$ a day to park unlimited inn's and outs.
PROS: The hotel check in was great, done quickly, checked in at about 12pm. Front service was okay, nothing over the top. Parking was a little awkward, but I did not move my car out the whole time I was there. The lobby was nice, modern, filled with all kinds of people witch was nice. The Lobby has access to all different streets Gerard and Young out of the 1 main lobby. I seen restaurants and people but there but did not try for myself. Everything in the main lobby was clean and well kept. THE LOCATION was amazing really close to Eaton center and subways, 10$ cab ride to night life.
CONS: EXTREMELY SMALL ROOMS! ( like car barely bring a large suit case in, only 1 chair to sit on, not much room to walk around) I was on the 9th floor room 943 in the "red" section, and my room had a queen size bed, a small dresser a flat screen and a TINY bathroom that 2 ppl could barely fit it. The beds were comfy on the plus side BUT the heating sucked, my window was wide open and it was 2 degree's out, so it was feezing, the walls were thin and I could hear everything and my room has no balcony. Personally I did not stay in the hotel alot, as I went there for pleasure and night life, but any "family" type of stay or relaxation, this would not be the spot.
Generally I would recommend this place to a crowd of 18-28 year olds, and I would stay there again if i got an amazing deal.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rocsee0911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alistair I, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Rocsee0911,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a detailed review of your stay. We are pleased that the hotel was well suited to your needs. I do apologize for the disappointment you felt towards the size of our guest rooms. We offer several different room categories with a variety of sizes and hope that we can better accommodate you on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Guest Experience Specialist
Eaton Chelsea Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Chelsea with 6 friends in 5 rooms. Hotel lobby is lovely and check-in was easy. Limo had dropped off our bags earlier and concierge was very efficient at getting them for us. Hotel could do with a bit of a spruce up. Wallpaper was starting to peel in my room and shower head, while functional, was coming apart. I found the bed a bit soft for my taste but others liked theirs. I couldn't seem to get the AC to work in my room so slept with the balcony door open a crack to let some air in (I like to sleep cold).

Nothing really special but a very reasonable stay with a great location for downtown.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CJD C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alistair I, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Argy11669,

Thanks for your review. Pleased to know that your group enjoyed their stay and your check-in process was efficient. I do apologize for the difficulty you had with the heating/cooling unit in your guest room and for the inconvenience this caused throughout the night. I have noted this comment and passed it to our facilities team. We hope to welcome you back again.

Sincerely,

Guest Experience Specialist
Eaton Chelsea Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#55 of 134 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,590 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre
Downtown West
Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel
Downtown West
The Strathcona Hotel
The Strathcona Hotel
#52 of 134 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Hotel, Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Hotel, Toronto

Property: Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
Address: 33 Gerrard Street W., Toronto, Ontario M5G 1Z4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 134 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chelsea Hotel, Toronto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1590
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of downtown, steps from amazing attractions, businesses and shopping, the Chelsea Hotel, Toronto offers travellers comfortable accommodations at exceptional value. Featuring 1,590 contemporary guestrooms and suites, Chelsea Hotel, Toronto is Canada's largest hotel, delivering warm and reliable service and a variety of accommodation options. All rooms are equipped with technological conveniences and amenities, including basic complimentary WiFi. Whether testing your limits in the well-appointed fitness centre, lapping up the quiet comfort of the Deck 27 indoor pool, or enjoying the Family Fun Zone heated pool with the 130 ft "Corkscrew" waterslide, Kid Centre and Club 33 Teen Lounge, Chelsea Hotel, Toronto guests can choose to exercise their body, relax their mind or take advantage of the family-friendly amenities.Chelsea Hotel, Toronto offers guests a broad choice of dining venues. Experience all-day dining at Market Garden, indulge in a coffee or cocktail at the T|Bar Lounge or embrace the lively vibe in Monarchs Pub, downtown Toronto's hotspot for nightly entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chelsea Hotel, Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Chelsea Toronto
Delta Chelsea Hotel Toronto
Delta Toronto
Toronto Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing