We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude Management” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chelsea Hotel, Toronto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
Ranked #58 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rude Management”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

A group of 9 of us booked 3 rooms within the hotel. We were in the room together for only 10 minutes before Management came barging into our room. Management yelled at us about the noise and number of individuals and asked us to leave at that moment. We were not even loud and it was a very unprofessional experience having the manager BARGE into our room. He did not even call or requested us to be quiet. Worst experience ever - We did not spend over $600 as a group to be yelled at. Terrible service.

Room Tip: Stay away from this hotel - management is the worst.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ESK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alistair I, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear ESK2013,

Thank you for your feedback. One of our top priorities is the safety and security of our guests and staff members. Our security team is available 24/7 and is constantly monitoring guests hallways and common areas to ensure noise levels are not being exceeded to the point of disturbing other guests. We have very strict policies when dealing with these issues as it has a great impact on other peoples experience.

Sincerely,

Guest Experience Specialist
Eaton Chelsea Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,791 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,097
    2,086
    1,588
    649
    371
See reviews for
1,440
1,631
465
1,208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Simcoe, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

My husband and I stayed here for the weekend celebrating our birthdays. This is our second stay here and we very much enjoy it and recommend it. Staff and friendly and helpful. They have one of the busiest lobbys I've ever seen but they are very quick getting people through. The view from the pool area is spectacular. My only complaint would be the room was so hot and dry we had to sleep with the balcony door open even with the heat off. We will continue to stay here as it is great value and great location.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alistair I, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Rose J,

Thank you for choosing the Eaton Chelsea for your birthday celebration! We are pleased that you spent this special occasion with us. I have passed your comments to our team for review. We hope we may welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Guest Experience Specialist
Eaton Chelsea Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Staff was great and the room was utilitarian, but comfortable. Noise at night was the problem. If you book, ensure that you are not on the Gerrard Street side. The corridor of buildings is an echo chamber for the loud drunks walking from Yonge to University on weekend nights. It is also close to hospital row, which means sirens at all hours---a problem for both nights of our stay. Walls seem thin---we had to call the front desk to get the party girls next door to quiet down. Response from staff was quick, bit we couldn't get to sleep until 1:00 am. If a door closes within two doors of your room, it sounds like a shotgun---sure to wake you up if someone comes in late.
We were given one night's free parking for our trouble.

Room Tip: Avoid Gerrard Street side of hotel. Weekdays are probably better than weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alistair I, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear JF,

Thank you for taking time to provide a review on your recent stay. We appreciate all guest feedback as we use the information to continually improve services and let staff know how they are doing. I apologize for the multiple disturbances you experienced during your stay and certainly can understand your frustrations. Our security team is available 24/7 to assist and control noise levels throughout the hotel, but the surrounding construction can be a challenge. I have passed your comments to our facilities and security team. We look forward to your next visit and the opportunity to welcome you back.

Sincerely,

Guest Experience Specialist
Eaton Chelsea Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

On arrival we were greeted by polite hotel staff but to our shock needed to leave a 300 dollar deposit for our room, um hello nobody mentioned this in the brochure or at the travel agent! our credit/bank cards were at home as we never travel with them so we had to use our money card which then struck into our spending emergency money! money was refunded once we checked out as we stayed for seven nights but was a bit of a surprise to say the least. Room was very comfortable, nice and clean, tv with lots of channels and tea and coffee making facilities. Bathroom was small but covered needs, showers a bit slow if your used to a blast to wake you up in the morning. Sleep was good, comfortable and peaceful. room service and clean towels everyday. Restaurant and bar was lovely great food drink and service, very large and clean with good food choices, there is a little gift shop with snacks and drink that was nice. Swimming pool was a hit with the kids as was the childrens room, and movie nights. There was often staff dressed up in reception which was fun and costumes were amazing, the garden near restaurant was nice also to sit and have a drink in. The gym and adult pool is a pleasure if you can sneak away if you have travelled with children. overall a pleasant hotel and good if your a family. Enjoyed our stay but if your new to travelling and hotels then please check for anything that you may not know beforehand like deposits or towels or safe hire to safe surprises and expense.

Room Tip: Ask for low floor if you have children and a view of the TSN building is amazing at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindsey b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alistair I, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Lindsey b,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay at the Chelsea. We are pleased to know that our facilities and location proved to be very positive for your stay. Our adult pool and fitness facilities are great if traveling with out kids, but we also have a great family pool and kids creative center if you are with kids. I do apologize that you were not informed of our cash deposit policy prior to arrival and certainly understand your frustrations. I have passed your comments to the management team for review. We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future!

Sincerely,

Guest Experience Specialist
Eaton Chelsea Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitchurch-Stouffville, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

I remember this hotel as the Delta Chelsea from years ago. A huge hotel, over 3000 rooms - a terrific redone lobby. Great staff, great location.
However - this hotel is old. The room was clean but the balcony was not functional and frankly a bit nasty. Bed comfortable - flat screen TV.
I would stay again but cannot go over 3 stars on a hotel that needs a makeover.

The price is reasonable tells me they understand they can't charge top prices until the remodel is done.

Room Tip: Ask if they have any newly renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mdlphins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alistair I, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Mdlphins,

Thank you for the feedback from your most recent stay. We are pleased that our locations and services are well suited for your needs when visiting Toronto. We thank you for your kind comments regarding our newly renovated lobby and restaurants. Our next phase of planning for renovations has begun and we are excited to continue upgrades through out the hotel. We look forward to your next visit and the opportunity to welcome you back.

Sincerely,

Guest Experience Specialist
Eaton Chelsea Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
164 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed overnight in the Eaton Chelsea, and although the main reception areas are well kept and look like a four star hotel, perhaps some rooms need work. We compare it to our stay a few years ago when it was the Delta Chelsea and although not the same room,I don't remember the previous washroom looking so dated. New tiles, grouting and wallpaper are needed. The ceiling had a very noticeable patch job in the bedroom area but was otherwise okay. The room did not reflect what greeted you in the main foyer. Staff in the reception area however were very pleasant and friendly.
Breakfast was adequate in the market, also not really up to the charges. We would possibly stay again if we received a good price but know now what to expect.

Room Tip: Look for a good rate or package which will balance it all out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 24vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alistair I, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear 24Vacation,

Thank you for taking time to post a review of your recent stay at the Chelsea. We are pleased that your overall experience was enjoyable. We look forward to continuing our renovations throughout the hotel and are excited for the completion. Your feedback has been shared with our Rooms Division for review as we seek our greatest areas of opportunity.

Sincerely,

Guest Experience Specialist
Eaton Chelsea Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

If you are just staying for a night it doesn't really matter. For all other reasons it is a typical 3 star hotel with the only thing going for it is good location for a sane price. Room was semi dirty not too discusting but not too clean. Same with the bathroom... The elevators were super busy at the evening for some reason (old and slow is the reason)
I'm not even sure it is worth a review with the level of mediocrity this hotel is...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank wacko_654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alistair I, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Wacko_654,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at the Eaton Chelsea Toronto. I must apologize that your experience was nothing special and deemed average. Our goal is to provide exceptional service which creates memories for our guests. I apologize that we failed to provide you an experience that was memorable for all the right reasons. We are currently working to bring our facilities up to date and on par with our competition. I hope that we will have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Guest Experience Specialist
Eaton Chelsea Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#55 of 132 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,543 reviews
Downtown
No photo provided
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre
Downtown West
Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel
Downtown West
The Strathcona Hotel
The Strathcona Hotel
#53 of 132 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Hotel, Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Hotel, Toronto

Property: Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
Address: 33 Gerrard Street W., Toronto, Ontario M5G 1Z4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chelsea Hotel, Toronto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1590
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of downtown, steps from amazing attractions, businesses and shopping, the Chelsea Hotel, Toronto offers travellers comfortable accommodations at exceptional value. Featuring 1,590 contemporary guestrooms and suites, Chelsea Hotel, Toronto is Canada's largest hotel, delivering warm and reliable service and a variety of accommodation options. All rooms are equipped with technological conveniences and amenities, including basic complimentary WiFi. Whether testing your limits in the well-appointed fitness centre, lapping up the quiet comfort of the Deck 27 indoor pool, or enjoying the Family Fun Zone heated pool with the 130 ft "Corkscrew" waterslide, Kid Centre and Club 33 Teen Lounge, Chelsea Hotel, Toronto guests can choose to exercise their body, relax their mind or take advantage of the family-friendly amenities.Chelsea Hotel, Toronto offers guests a broad choice of dining venues. Experience all-day dining at Market Garden, indulge in a coffee or cocktail at the T|Bar Lounge or embrace the lively vibe in Monarchs Pub, downtown Toronto's hotspot for nightly entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TravelUp so you can book your Chelsea Hotel, Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Chelsea Toronto
Delta Chelsea Hotel Toronto
Delta Toronto
Toronto Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing