We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still needs work!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chelsea Hotel, Toronto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
Ranked #58 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Still needs work!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

I recently stayed at the Chelsea for business. The hotel has changed ownership in the past few years and has made some improvements - but has a way to go. The room price was actually quite good, but the room itself was tired, with visible wear on the furniture edges and the extra chair in the room. It was visibly clean, but seemed stale and made you wonder if it really was totally clean. The lobby was nice, restaurant bright but extremely over priced. The pub was dark, dirty and out-dated (although the live music was good). Valet parking was exorbitantly priced. I would stay again for business but there are other hotels in the area that cost just a bit more and are worth it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WinstonReid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alistair I, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear WinstonReid,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am truly sorry that you were unable to enjoy yourself while staying with us and that the conditions of your room were not up to standard. We pride ourselves in maintaining a high level of service, and I am sorry but we have failed in this instance. I have sent your comments to our Rooms Division to follow up and I can assure you your feedback has not been taken lightly.

We hope to welcome you back for a much better stay in the near future.

Sincerely,

Alistair Innes
Guest Experience Specialist
Eaton Chelsea Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,098
    2,091
    1,590
    652
    371
See reviews for
1,444
1,632
466
1,211
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

First time staying here since the change to Eaton from Delta and noticed a new freshness of the lobby décor and self serve dining area. Rooms are still tired and in need of serious updating but are clean. Opted for the bed & breakfast option but none of the staff seemed to know how the breakfast option worked. Still had to wait longer than necessary for valet parking to have the car ready on check out. Bartender was in his own little world and didn't notice us sitting at a clearly visible table for 10 minutes before serving us. Not the best service experience but the location of the hotel is convenient

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MurrayC915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alistair I, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear WinstonReid,

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay.

I would like to apologize that your experience with us was less than satisfactory. Our goal is to provide exceptional service which creates memories for our guests. I apologize that we failed to provide you an experience that was exceptional. We are currently updating our balconies and we plan to renovate our guest rooms in the new year. I am also truly sorry that you were disappointed with the price of our valet parking. We do feel that our prices are in tune with other competitive downtown market.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back for a much better stay.

Sincerely,

Alistair Innes
Guest Experience Specialist
Delta Chelsea Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iroquois, Canada
Level Contributor
155 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

I recently stayed at the Chelsea Eaton for business and was hugely impressed. I brought a group in to Toronto for a one day meeting, which required all the participants stay the night prior to the event, and getting a quote from the Chelsea was in my mind just a formality to have comparative bids. I had actually already decided on another property. However on speaking with Rebecca I was offered a price and package that could not be met or bettered by any of the other hotels. Her assistance was simply outstanding and my meeting rolled out perfectly from arrival to departure. No detail was too small for the hotel's attention and the staff was genuinely a pleasure encounter.
The Chelsea, as I recall from its Delta days, has always had a big city/big hotel charm that can't be duplicated in smaller properties but under new management the property just sparkles.The Market Garden is finally the culinary treat it always had the potential to be.The B33 Bistro has a cosmopolitan glamour that makes it not just a convenient place to eat when staying in the hotel but truly a destination of choice. My group had a wonderful evening in the Monarch Pub with live music and a party atmosphere and the quiet lounge was a comfortable oasis for post meeting debriefing over a glass of wine.
The guest rooms were more spacious than remembered and the furnishings and linen were rated quite highly by my meeting participants. I regret not having the time to enjoy the pool and fitness area but I have booked a second meeting in the Chelsea Eaton for next month.
I would also return on pleasure as the location is convenient to both uptown and downtown shopping and an easy walk to the theater district. As an added bonus it is just steps to Elm Street which provides a wealth of dining options.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alistair I, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Brenda K,

Thank you for taking the to post your wonderful review on TripAdvisor.

We are very pleased that you and your colleagues chose Eaton Chelsea Toronto for your business meeting, and that Rebecca was able to provide a rate that met your expectations. I am also truly pleased we were able to accommodate you with exceptional service from check in to check out, and that you enjoyed our BB33 and Market Garden restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back next month for another fantastic stay and a chance for you to enjoy our swimming pool!

Sincerely,

Alistair Innes
Guest Experience Specialist
Eaton Chelsea Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

We got this hotel on a Priceline bid, and after reading some of the negative reviews, we were more than a little worried about what to expect. It was wonderful. The room had obviously been renovated recently...very clean and comfortable. The location is great for seeing and getting around in downtown Toronto and only a few blocks from the Hop-On/Hop-Off bus terminal. We would definitely stay here again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OtleyandFatcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alistair I, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear OtleyandFatca,

Thank you for posting your review.

I am happy that your stay with us was pleasant and you enjoyed the hotels location to the Hop-On/Hop-Off bus stop. It is always wonderful to hear about our guests stays, as this helps our journey to continuously improve the level of service we are providing to our guests. We look forward to seeing again soon!

Sincerely,

Alistair Innes
Guest Experience Specialist
Eaton Chelsea Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

I had booked my two rooms months in advance. I was worried, though, that the rooms would not be connected and I was planning on housing my children in one room and my husband and myself in the other. I was assured the rooms would be adjoining, but I was told that the rooms would be both with twin beds. I was assured over and over that no king bed rooms adjoined to a double bed room. YUCKY. I wanted to be able to sleep in the same bed as my husband during our trip, but that did not seem to be possible. I even called an hour outside of the city to make sure that this was not a possibility, and was again told that no such set up existed at the hotel. When I arrived, however, I was told that, of course, I could get a king bed room adjoined to a double for an upgraded fee. Needless to say, I was annoyed. I would have had no problem paying the extra fee months ago or even weeks ago when I first booked the room, but at this point in the game, I felt I had been lied to over and over and I was miffed.

I was told that I could speak to a manager about this, but he was at lunch. Chris, the manager, contacted me when he was done with lunch and told me that he would upgrade me to the room I had been requesting for months free of charge. This made me happy. After all, my entire family comes to Toronto multiple times a year and we ALWAYS have stayed at this hotel. I explained that to Chris who looked up my account to confirm our frequent visits. At that point he saw that the last time we booked a room at this hotel we were upgraded to a suite. Not looking further into it, I assume he thought we had been given the upgrade for free. We had not, but either way, he told me...I will change your rooms this time, but you will "never be given an upgrade in this hotel again."

hmmm... after coming to the same hotel for over 18 years, and always booking 2 to 4 rooms, I would think that this manager would have not chosen such words with me. In addition, I would have paid for my upgrade had they told me that was an option in the five or so times I called to ask for it prevously. This statement left me offended. When I asked to speak to Chris later that day, he again was on break so we could not discuss the offense.

Putting aside this issue, I found other aspects of the hotel that need attention. For one, valet parking was $44.00 a day. I found this to be excessive. Furthermore, the children's pool with the slide... our reason for skipping nap time... was again disappointing. This hotel no longer operates the slide except on weekends and only during certain hours. We had arrived on Wednesday!

Despite never actually staying at any other hotel in Toronto because we were devoted to the Chelsea, I will sadly book my family Toronto vacations elsewhere..

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmaglo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alistair I, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear mmaglo,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your most recent stay. I would like to apologize that the offer to upgrade the rooms to suite your request was not offered until your arrival and I can certainly understand your disappointment in the way in which the manager approached the situation. This is not the intended level of service we are aiming to provide. Your comments have been shared with the management team for review. I hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Sincerely,

Guest Experience Specialist
Eaton Chelsea Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Toronto hotels

Harriston, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

We were a little concerned as this was our first time at the Eaton Chelsea (since the change-over from Delta Chelsea) and worried that there might be a lot of changes. We were thrilled that the same friendly and accommodating staff were there to look after our needs. We had a fabulous meal in the B33 Bistro. Love the hotel location as it is in the heart of downtown Toronto, within walking distance of the Eaton Centre.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Minto1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alistair I, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Review352,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide some feedback on your first stay with us as the Eaton Chelsea Toronto. It is great to learn of your experience and that you enjoyed the refreshed look of our lobby and restaurants but still enjoyed seeing all the familiar faces you have come to know. We hope you will visit again soon!

Sincerely,

Guest Experience Specialist
Eaton Chelsea Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Ontario
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

Not a fan of change, I was pretty sad to see the Delta Chelsea become the Eaton Chelsea earlier this year. As a regular guest for almost 20 years it has been my go to hotel in Toronto. What I discovered was the Eaton brand, via the Langham Properties knows how to get it done! An amazing make over in the lobby and main restaurant, small touches in the rooms and a traveler recognition program that is outstanding. The staff continue to be some of the best in the country, the rates competitive (and more often than not a great value) and the Eaton extras are outstanding. If you are visiting Toronto, for business or pleasure you can't beat the Eaton Chelsea.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goin'solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alistair I, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Goin'solo,

We would firstly like to thank you for your years of loyalty to the Chelsea, and we are so pleased you have chosen to keep staying with us through our brand transition. Thank you for your feedback regarding our updated lobby and restaurants. It is great to learn that your stay was most enjoyable. I will be sure to share this feedback with the staff.
We eagerly await your next visit and the opportunity to welcome you back once again.

Sincerely,

Guest Experience Specialist
Eaton Chelsea Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#55 of 132 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,544 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel
Downtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre
Downtown
Grand Hotel Toronto
Grand Hotel Toronto
#23 of 132 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Hotel, Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Hotel, Toronto

Property: Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
Address: 33 Gerrard Street W., Toronto, Ontario M5G 1Z4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chelsea Hotel, Toronto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1590
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of downtown, steps from amazing attractions, businesses and shopping, the Chelsea Hotel, Toronto offers travellers comfortable accommodations at exceptional value. Featuring 1,590 contemporary guestrooms and suites, Chelsea Hotel, Toronto is Canada's largest hotel, delivering warm and reliable service and a variety of accommodation options. All rooms are equipped with technological conveniences and amenities, including basic complimentary WiFi. Whether testing your limits in the well-appointed fitness centre, lapping up the quiet comfort of the Deck 27 indoor pool, or enjoying the Family Fun Zone heated pool with the 130 ft "Corkscrew" waterslide, Kid Centre and Club 33 Teen Lounge, Chelsea Hotel, Toronto guests can choose to exercise their body, relax their mind or take advantage of the family-friendly amenities.Chelsea Hotel, Toronto offers guests a broad choice of dining venues. Experience all-day dining at Market Garden, indulge in a coffee or cocktail at the T|Bar Lounge or embrace the lively vibe in Monarchs Pub, downtown Toronto's hotspot for nightly entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Booking.com so you can book your Chelsea Hotel, Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Chelsea Toronto
Delta Chelsea Hotel Toronto
Delta Toronto
Toronto Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing