We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
Ranked #60 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

I have given this hotel three chances and the third was not a charm. Room was run down and not what is shown in pictures upon booking. Balconies were under construction which is understandable but tell people upon booking!!!! We are finally getting nice weather and picked this hotel due to unlocked balconies! Kitchen in room completely outdated. Not open concept. Carpet was thrown down over tile. Something questionable on couch cushions. It wasn't horrible..... But for the appearance of the lobby I expect much more in the rooms. Let just say for the money I wouldn't go back. I'd rather save 150$ and go to a holiday inn, or spend an extra 20$ and stay at the Sheraton.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alistair I, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Lo11,

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to learn of your disappointment in the hotel. I do apologize that the booking agent did not advise you that the balconies were out of order for repair. The project is almost complete and we are excited to share this updated feature with our guest just in time for summer. I hope that in the future you will afford us another opportunity to welcome you back.

Sincerely,

Guest Experience Specialist
Eaton Chelsea Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,889 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,119
    2,117
    1,611
    663
    379
See reviews for
1,465
1,652
478
1,239
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed at the Chelsea for 6 nights in April. What a fantastic time we had. The hotel is situated right by Yonge Street. The hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful. The room was a little dated and maybe they need a bit of TLC but we can't fault anything. The swimming pool and gym on the 26th floor was great and the views of the city were spectacular. We would stay there again if we stayed in Toronto. Thank you Eaton Chelsea staff for making our holiday so memorable .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ekey6063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alistair I, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear ekey6063,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback from your most recent stay. We are so delighted to learn of your enjoyable vacation with us in Toronto. Our location is paramount for those wishing to explore the city and get some serious shopping done. Keep your eye out for our Shop n Stay packages in the Fall. We look forward to the next opportunity to welcome you back!

Sincerely,

Guest Experience Specialist
Eaton Chelsea Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Apparently some of the suites have recently been upgraded... I definitely do not recommend rooms which have not yet undergone upgrades....

My friend had booked a one room suite (rm. 2536) for my sister's birthday and it was not what we had expected at all. Of course pictures look nicer than the real thing, however this room looked like a dingy apartment building unit in any old apartment building in Toronto... Photos online had much nicer furniture and looked far cleaner and more modern. Our room was very, very outdated, carpet was bumpy/old/laid down horribly (and honestly, just plain ugly)... kitchen was more or less clean but looked very, very outdated as well, and like that of any old dingy apatment building. furniture smelled old..dingy... (and do not even try to sleep on the pull out couch/bed because your back will surely be killing you the next day)

Also to top it off one of the only reasons we booked the suite was because we knew that they had a balcony and upon arrival we saw a sign on the window stating that the balconies are closed for upgrades- there was no mention of this upon making the reservation.

Would have also been much nicer to have an open concept kitchen/common area- however this was not a surprise because the photos showed the layout as it was.

Staff at check in were friendly and we only stayed one night so did not experience too much of the hotel's other services, however the room was not at all what one would expect for nearly 300 dollars/night...

Room Tip: Do not book a suite that has yet to be upgraded... And ask about the balcony construction... Or you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ambtoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Toronto hotels

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Recently spent 5 nights at the Eaton Chelsea Excellent stay Hotel central to everything Staff friendly Room cleaned daily Toiletries and free wi-fi in room Would definitely stay there again if visiting Toronto

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank gezza48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alistair I, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Gezza48,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback from your most recent stay. It is great to learn that your overall experience was most enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Sincerely,

Guest Experience Specialist
Eaton Chelsea Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
110 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Our room had not been renovated but was clean and comfortable. (I'm a bit peeved that they didn't have HGTV anymore!) Check in was fast. Very good concierge service. Public spaces (not renovated?) were odd- not particularly inviting or neat looking. Our room (standard) was $73/night via Priceline. Given the tight room situation our particular weekend, I think we got a great deal (we usually score a nearby property for less, but not this time!) Maybe the new windows will cut down on the street sounds, but we are in a real city, folks. LOTS of restaurants in the area.

Room Tip: Various wings/floors are closed off at different times. If you are paying rack rate, make sure you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Motowners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alistair I, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Motoowners,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad your stay was most enjoyable. One of our upcoming projects will be working to update our television service to include more selection of channels. We look forward to your next visit and the opportunity to welcome you back.

Sincerely,

Guest Services
Eaton Chelsea Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Except for the location this place is a dump I payed too much and the service was horrible the management should look closely at the staff and the service there was blood stains in the bathroom the room was extremely small they told me I would have a queen bed where in fact it was double

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danolovoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alistair I, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Danolovoto,

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize that the level of service and quality did not meet your expectations. I have reviewed your feedback with the management team. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back.

Sincerely,

Guest Experience Specialist
Eaton Chelsea Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
254 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

With tickets to see Opera Atelier’s Persée performed at the Elgin Theatre on Yonge, just down the street and The Last Confession, staring David Suchet (Hercule Poirot) at the Royal Alex, just a short walk away, the Eaton Chelsea Hotel was a smart choice, not only for easy access to the two theatres in question but also with a Yonge St. subway stop located both north and south of the hotel; thus, our visit to Toronto on the GO train, stopping at Union Station on Front St., allowed for an easy transit connection, and it saved us money on parking that we could transfer into meals. One does not need a car in Toronto. It is one of the easiest cities to navigate by public transit.

The Eaton Chelsea is also quite close to the Eaton Centre for shopping; we walked through, had a meal at Mr. Green Jeans, an old-time favourite that’s been there for an incredible 37 years, but shopping was not on our agenda.

I was surprised to learn that the Eaton Chelsea is Canada's largest hotel with 1,590 contemporary guest rooms and suites for business travellers and tourists. These include the comfortable Chelsea Room and an apartment-style One-Bedroom Suite. Our two-bed was a quite ordinary room on the 12th floor, with free WiFi, a bit small, but nonetheless comfortable and functional. With an upgrade to Club Room, guests enjoy access to the E-Club Lounge on the 25th floor with breakfast and snacks such as evening canapés.

Eaton Chelsea offers spa and fitness opportunities with a range of amenities as well as family-friendly facilities such as “The Family Fun Zone” consisting of an indoor family pool, 130 ft “Corkscrew” waterslide, “Kid Centre” and “Club 33 Teen Lounge,” “Deck 27,” the adult-only heated indoor pool and well-equipped fitness centre, none of which we had time to use.
There is a huge, open-air casual Market Garden for meals and the more up-scale Bb 33 Bistro and Brasserie. Returning late from a play, I noticed that things were swinging in Monarchs Pub with vibrant (loud) live music and hockey playoffs on screens. T Bar is the likely venue for a quiet coffee or pre-dinner cocktail.

Our room faced Yonge Street, and I was amazed from the balcony to witness the construction amidst Ryerson University buildings with the sad thought that two-storey buildings on Yonge are surely doomed. Renovations were underway around the hotel, but our room and hall were quiet, the beds comfortable and sleep easy.

I have stayed in the old Chelsea many times before, but this was my first experience under the new name. The hotel is kid-friendly and quite popular during March break. Something clever about the Chelsea is that Harry Enchin is their Artist in Residence for 2014 with his pieces displayed in both the lobby and the E|CLUB Lounge for guests to enjoy. Now, that’s classy!

Contact information: 33 Gerrard St., West, Toronto, (416) 595 1975 F (416) 585 4375
http://chelsea.eatonhotels.com/

Room Tip: Try to get an upgrade and face Yonge St. to witness Toronto's development.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alistair I, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Mike K,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your stay. We are happy to learn that your stay was overall enjoyable. Your feedback is appreciated and you can trust we use the information to improve our services or let our staff know how they are doing.
Once again I would like to thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel soon.

Thank you,

Guest Experience Specialist
Eaton Chelsea Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#54 of 132 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,562 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre
Downtown West
Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel
Downtown West
The Strathcona Hotel
The Strathcona Hotel
#53 of 132 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Hotel, Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Hotel, Toronto

Property: Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
Address: 33 Gerrard Street W., Toronto, Ontario M5G 1Z4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chelsea Hotel, Toronto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1590
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of downtown, steps from amazing attractions, businesses and shopping, the Chelsea Hotel, Toronto offers travellers comfortable accommodations at exceptional value. Featuring 1,590 contemporary guestrooms and suites, Chelsea Hotel, Toronto is Canada's largest hotel, delivering warm and reliable service and a variety of accommodation options. All rooms are equipped with technological conveniences and amenities, including basic complimentary WiFi. Whether testing your limits in the well-appointed fitness centre, lapping up the quiet comfort of the Deck 27 indoor pool, or enjoying the Family Fun Zone heated pool with the 130 ft "Corkscrew" waterslide, Kid Centre and Club 33 Teen Lounge, Chelsea Hotel, Toronto guests can choose to exercise their body, relax their mind or take advantage of the family-friendly amenities.Chelsea Hotel, Toronto offers guests a broad choice of dining venues. Experience all-day dining at Market Garden, indulge in a coffee or cocktail at the T|Bar Lounge or embrace the lively vibe in Monarchs Pub, downtown Toronto's hotspot for nightly entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chelsea Hotel, Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Chelsea Toronto
Delta Chelsea Hotel Toronto
Delta Toronto
Toronto Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing