We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
Ranked #60 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I was quite pleasantly surprised by this hotel. I don't recall having a better, faster, efficient, friendlier, more welcoming check-in anywhere than by Elizabeth at this hotel. The room was quite comfortable and very quiet. There were no slamming doors, and, although the elevators were near, I never heard them. The room was kept quite clean. The shower had sufficient water pressure and the towels were even soft! The Internet service was both fast & reliable. My one complaint was the television: the room is equipped with an HD LG flat-panel television, but the television channels are horrible to watch. Most are grainy and many have the picture stretched so that everyone appears short and wide. I'd like to see the hotel arrange with Starbucks to have full Starbucks service in the Market Garden coffee bar (i.e. Frappucinos in addition to iced coffee).

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eirewolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alistair I, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Eirewolf,

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to learn of the warm welcome provided by your check-in staff and the enjoyment you found in the hotel amenities. I have passed your comments regarding the channel selection and quality to our management team for review. Our partnership with Starbucks is fairly new and we will be expanding the menu as time and demand permits. That you once again for your feedback. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Sincerely,

Guest Experience Specialist
Eaton Chelsea Toronto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,438)
There are newer reviews for Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,171 - 3,177 of 6,438 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

We booked 8 nights at this hotel for a visit to Toronto to see family. I'm 5 months pregnant and hoped the central location would make life easier for us. I brought a pillow from home to help me sleep and it went missing from our room on the second day of our stay after housekeeping had been. We asked the concierge to look into the issue, which in all fairness they did straight away. When we went back to our room, it was being cleaned by a member of staff, who proceeded to yell at us and say the pillow never existed in the first place. She was so disrespectful and put stress on me that I really didn't need. She works on floor 8. It's not the monetary value that bothers me, nor the fact that I've had a hard time sleeping since it went missing. It the utter rudeness of this woman, plus the lack of customer service that means we won't be coming back to this hotel. We tried to speak to the manager about the issue, but haven't heard back. We check out on Sunday, so the fact we are still staying here while I am writing this review should give an idea about this hotel. My advice would be to look into many of the other hotels in the downtown core...you'll have a better experience and holiday with a different chain.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alistair I, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Kate A,

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to learn of the poor level of service provided by our housekeeping staff. This is certainly not the level of service we are known for and will be following up with the management team regarding this treatment. I hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you again.

Sincerely,

Guest Experience Specialist
Eaton Chelsea Toronto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights, and is a great location for exploring downtown, and a good selection of places to eat nearby. The room was a decent size and had all we needed, and the information contained in the welcome pack very useful. The food in the eatery was of good quality and made fresh to order, however we did find going elsewhere for breakfast a better option. (Coras!) Only downside was the guests in an adjacent room decided to do an all night party at the weekend, and made loads of noise. The hotel staff did attend, and handled the situation well, achieving eventual peace! The concierges at the reception were very helpful, and eager to give assistance. Didn't use the leisure facilities, but they looked like fun, and terrific views being on the top floor. Overall, very happy with the hotel, and would recommend. One point to note, we paid $28 each for a transfer from the airport to the hotel, which took 90 minutes. A better and cheaper alternative is the 'Rocket' bus, (I think number 92) which takes you to the end of the subway; then into town. Buy your ticket from the driver, ask for a transfer ticket, $3 per person, and total journey time less than an hour!!

Room Tip: Our room on 15th floor, north side. No issues, can hear traffic with window open, but hey - its a ci...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stuart E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Loved the family friendly facilities in the hotel and the ease of being able to walk to attractions,
Would recommend the Eaton Chelsea to any family. The children's play area was suitable for young ones and the children's pool area, with a cork-screw slide, was a great surprise for the children.
The hotel became part of the destination, not just a place to sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Grandma062014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We just returned from a 6 night stay at the Eaton Chelsea and we were very satisfied. Very nice staff (in particular the housekeeping staff on floor 23) King size bed was very comfortable. We booked through priceline and got a good rate and were pleasantly surprised by the room we got.
The location is excellent...short walk to Dundas Square. Great views from the rooftop deck. All in all I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ilovehawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Sorry, another negative review from this contributor. Booked this hotel for the location which is great. Check in efficient and friendly. Fast wifi meant to be available, but in our corner room very slow wifi which kept on disconnecting. Called the CANDO helpline and immediately transfered to the external technical help company. Identified that being in a corner room the problem. Needed email to keep in contact with our UK business. Spoke with Duty Manager and offered alternate room. Before we moved wanted to check out the replacement. Good job we did. Travelling as a family of 3 and we had booked as such the alternate room offered much smaller - so stayed put and did email from the lobby. Duty Manager advised that the problem would be addressed by their IT Dept the next day. It was solved with a booster. But as the hotel is obviously aware of the problem, why wait for customers to complain? The room we checked into: fluorescent tribe needed replacing, toilet cistern leaking and had to be replaced, bath plug faulty. First night my wife felt cold and I called for an extra duvet. Amazed to be told against hotel policy to provide an extra duvet. Checked with DutyManager the next day who confirmed this policy. Lastly, very surprised to find no safe provided in the hotel rooms. Using the safety boxes at front desk not exactly convenient. The above are the facts. The Eaton is a large hotel and I just felt the staff were going through the required responses and there was no service from ethic.

Room Tip: Using wifi - avoid corner rooms
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AB888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Having read some negative reviews on this site I booked the hotel anyway. I am so glad I did. Really friendly staff, nothing too much trouble. We had 2 rooms. They were both clean, the beds were comfortable and the bathrooms clean. Everything worked.
The food in the market garden restaurant was excellent and not too badly priced. We only ate breakfast here. $13.50 gets you the eaton express. Scrambled eggs, french toast, bacon, breakfast potatoes, toast, fruit juice and free refills of starbucks coffee! What more could you want?
The only negative? The balcony was a bit scruffy. But then it is in the middle of a major city so not really a problem.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#56 of 137 in Toronto
2,702 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre
Downtown
The Saint James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Downtown
Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Hotel, Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Hotel, Toronto

Address: 33 Gerrard Street W., Toronto, Ontario M5G 1Z4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range: £102 - £339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chelsea Hotel, Toronto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1590
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of downtown, steps from amazing attractions, businesses and shopping, the Chelsea Hotel, Toronto offers travellers comfortable accommodations at exceptional value. Featuring 1,590 contemporary guestrooms and suites, Chelsea Hotel, Toronto is Canada's largest hotel, delivering warm and reliable service and a variety of accommodation options. All rooms are equipped with technological conveniences and amenities, including basic complimentary WiFi. Whether testing your limits in the well-appointed fitness centre, lapping up the quiet comfort of the Deck 27 indoor pool, or enjoying the Family Fun Zone heated pool with the 130 ft "Corkscrew" waterslide, Kid Centre and Club 33 Teen Lounge, Chelsea Hotel, Toronto guests can choose to exercise their body, relax their mind or take advantage of the family-friendly amenities.Chelsea Hotel, Toronto offers guests a broad choice of dining venues. Experience all-day dining at Market Garden, indulge in a coffee or cocktail at the T|Bar Lounge or embrace the lively vibe in Monarchs Pub, downtown Toronto's hotspot for nightly entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Chelsea Hotel, Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Chelsea Toronto
Delta Chelsea Hotel Toronto
Delta Toronto
Toronto Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing