We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good all round hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chelsea Hotel, Toronto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
Ranked #58 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good all round hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Downtown hotels in Toronto are chronically sold out, but the Eaton seems to have room most of the time. The rooms are a little dated (carpet, wallpaper etc.), but the furniture is reasonably modern. Desk/ chair are pretty good if you have to work from the hotel. I like the cordless phone, nice when you can walk around with it when on a conference call.

The bathroom has the typical shower/ tub combo, also a little older but the two times I was there everything worked fine, with plenty of water pressure. Sink/ fixtures have been updated recently, with a granite counter top. Nice array of toiletries, with a faux turn-of-the-century labeling ("pharmacopeia"). Both the room and bathroom were clean.

The A/C in the room was OK. The fan was a touch noisy, but it kept the room at a good temperature.

The beds are very comfortable, and the linens were spotless. Because of this I've not felt the need to find a different hotel in this area. There is a good radio/ alarm clock with an iPod dock.

The TV is fairly large, flat screen, but picture quality is sub par because of the standard TV input. Hotel managers, let me let you in on a little secret. This HD thing is here to stay. Wireless access is good throughout the hotel, I did not have any connectivity issues nor dropped VPN connections. Speed is adequate but not stellar. There is a wired connection available as well, which I did not use. Clothes iron worked well, definitely above average.

On the top floor there is a lap pool, hot tub and gym. The lap pool is definitely for exercise, it is not warm. You have to keep moving. The hot tub was pretty clean. The fitness equipment is excellent, modern and well maintained. Treadmills, ellipticals, weights, stationary bikes etc. Most have a TV. The only downside is that it's all one open area. The air is quite moist because of the pool, so 5 minutes on the treadmill and you're already sweating. The (men's) locker room was clean, good showers, and a sauna. A nice touch is the swim suit dryer.

There is a coffee/ snack place (Starbucks), a restaurant, and a bar. Service is good, quality is reasonable, but it's expensive. I'd go as far as saying a little overpriced. But there is definitely lots of room to sit, including a courtyard area at the back.

The staff is very friendly and helpful, and provided some good restaurant/ shopping recommendations.

Room Tip: Look for a room away from the elevator. A colleague had a room next to the elevator and said it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,798 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,098
    2,090
    1,589
    650
    371
See reviews for
1,443
1,631
465
1,211
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pompano Beach
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

It's a lot like work getting a room at the Eaton Chelsea that justifies the price they charge. Forget about pouncing on some discounted rate from a third party online vendor: you'll be treated like a second class citizen. And heaven help you if you arrive late when they're fully booked and get the last unoccupied room.

I booked on the hotel's own website and reserved a "Standard" room for two nights for $400 (Check-in Monday, June 23, 2014). When I arrived around six p.m., check in was swift, and within minutes I was stepping into:

Room #1: Which reeked of some industrial strength cleanser, I'm guessing a vain attempt to undo the damage from one too many incidents involving bodily fluids. Back to the desk, dragging luggage for:

Room #2: In the same block of the hotel (BEWARE THE BLUE ELEVATOR), and last touched by renovators long before the turn of the millennium. When exactly did that mellow yellow shade of porcelain in the tub go out of fashion? And when was the last time you saw a tub whose drain sealing technology was a rubber stopper on a chain? The rest of the room confirmed the age of its finishings. Back again to the desk for:

Room #3: Sensing a pattern, I finally asked for a room that had been renovated in the last decade. The desk clerk mumbled something about the fact my reservation was for only a "Standard" room, suggesting that getting one with plumbing fixtures made in this century should cost more, and I should feel humbled by her largess. The room provided was no bigger than the first two, and it probably had been renovated within the last ten years, though not the air conditioner, a thunderous unit that required increasing the volume on the TV every time it erupted.

Make sure you insist on a quality room here. Give the owners a reminder that some of the money they get out of a property should go back into it.

Room Tip: Insist on a room that has been renovated within the last decade, or in this millennium at least.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gavin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Toronto hotels

Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed at the Eaton Chelsea for 1 night on Saturday,June 14, 2014, as we going to see the Lion King that evening.

We arrived downtown at approximately 1:00 pm and the front desk employee was kind enough to allow us to check in early.

We had a standard size room with 2 queen beds and it was clean and comfortable - we also had a small balcony.

The room was equipped with a work desk and chair, an arm chair, an iron with a full size ironing board, alarm clock, two telephones (one on the desk and the other on the night stand), a flat screen TV with remote, full size vanity mirror, luggage stand and approximately 8 hangers in the closet and a coffee/tea maker with two cups.

Our room had a very small bathroom with a tub/shower. Ample of towels were provided. A single sink, ample of counter space for toiletry items, two drinking glasses and a hair dryer.

The hotel provided the following 36 ml complimentary toiletry items (Brand was Pharmacopia - Natural and Organic Body Care): Shampoo, Conditioner, Body Wash, Body Lotion, Body and Hand Soap Bars.

Our room did NOT have a mini-fridge and/or microwave.

This hotel is centrally located to everything (casual/upscale/fast food restaurants, shopping etc.) and is very close to the subway station. The hotel seemed quite busy (occupancy wise), so the wait times for the elevators (especially in the morning) was long. The staff we encountered during our stay were just pleasant.

We picked up some breakfast items at the hotels Market Garden and Expresso Coffee Bar. It cost us approximately CAD $16.00 for one muffin, one pastry, one small container of strawberries, a chocolate milk and two coffees.

Overall, it was a nice stay at the Eaton Chelsea ... it was nothing exceptional, but just the usual average stay at a any downtown hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

i stayed at the eaton chelsea June 2014, the location of the hotel is smack dab downtown Toronto. With that in mind, be prepared for some noise issues. Get your room not facing the Dundas square which is party outdoor band every summer nite. But even that, you must get your room at the end of the halls. the walls of this older hotel are paper thin. if you are a light sleeper, every body walking down the halls talking - you are hearing as if there is nothing in the way. ie ie thump door shut, shower going, door again, laughter, more talking, another door etc etc etc - up until midnite or so. my suggestion would be ear plugs or noise cancellers!!!!!! at the end of the hall will still be some noise issues but better than everyone on your hall walking by.
It is a good hotel, great cafe restaurant, a bit dated, balconies (ilovethem), overall not bad, but watch the noise issues

Room Tip: get room away from dundas towards bay not younge - and get at end of hallways - i think north west...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cincinSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Spent four nights here for a conference. It cost much the same as other potential options of a similar standing, and I ended up selecting it because it was well positioned in terms of downtown. There is nothing particularly objectionable about the hotel, but neither does it stand out....

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Joel_Quirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Our hotel in Toronto was such a contrast to that of the Sheraton in New York Times Square. The staff at Eaton Chelsea, Toronto were smiling, welcoming, friendly, went to the trouble to explain the facilities and, as we were to discover during our stay, absolutely obliging.

Reception was efficient and our porter carried our three bags to our room whilst we checked in. He ensured we had fresh ice and took the trouble to reiterate what attractions were nearby and how to get there. The room was well appointed although without safety deposit box (perhaps they aren't necessary in Canada ^_^) and the beds very comfortable.

The pool on the 27th floor was of reasonable size in a lovely bright environment with blue and turquoise sails suspended from the ceiling and the attendant was welcoming, helpful, friendly and efficient.

We took meals in both the bar and the 'Market Garden' self-service buffet restaurant. Both were manned by obliging staff and the food on offer was fresh and tasty. (We didn't use the hotel breakfast or the 'English Pub' facilities during our stay.)

I have two criticisms: One is the peculiar lift system where reception seems to have a dozen lifts (elevators) labelled red, blue and green, the colours denoting which floors they stop at... This was a little confusing and proved a little tedious to have to travel down from our accommodation floor to reception to travel back up to the pool - nevertheless, I expect brighter, younger minds than my own could negotiate this minor complication without difficulty!

More notable, whilst our accommodation, all the public areas, the pool and changing areas were clean and fresh, the sixth floor corridor carpet was not vacuumed* in the three days that we traversed it, and in any event, it could do with a thorough spring clean. The sides where it was clean(ish) showed the carpet to comprise bright and pretty colours whereas the vast majority was just plain dirty. Perhaps is has been a difficult winter, but it's well overdue for a spring clean!

We would certainly opt to stay at this hotel again and would hope that the carpets had been cleaned! Thanks to all the staff for their kind welcome and obliging manner.

Room Tip: The lifts were a trial. If you are planning on using the spa on the top floor, ask for a room on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flombergasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Best things about hotel were location (easily accessible to everything on foot) breakfast in the restaurant and the shower was one of the best. The room was a wee bit dated and the pool wasn't amazing but all in all good base for exploring a fantastic city.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank laurabalmerholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alistair I, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Laurabalmerholiday,

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to learn of your enjoyable stay with us. Your feedback will be shared with the team. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Guest Experience Specialist
Eaton Chelsea Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#55 of 132 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,544 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre
Downtown West
Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel
Downtown West
The Strathcona Hotel
The Strathcona Hotel
#53 of 132 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Hotel, Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Hotel, Toronto

Property: Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
Address: 33 Gerrard Street W., Toronto, Ontario M5G 1Z4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chelsea Hotel, Toronto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1590
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of downtown, steps from amazing attractions, businesses and shopping, the Chelsea Hotel, Toronto offers travellers comfortable accommodations at exceptional value. Featuring 1,590 contemporary guestrooms and suites, Chelsea Hotel, Toronto is Canada's largest hotel, delivering warm and reliable service and a variety of accommodation options. All rooms are equipped with technological conveniences and amenities, including basic complimentary WiFi. Whether testing your limits in the well-appointed fitness centre, lapping up the quiet comfort of the Deck 27 indoor pool, or enjoying the Family Fun Zone heated pool with the 130 ft "Corkscrew" waterslide, Kid Centre and Club 33 Teen Lounge, Chelsea Hotel, Toronto guests can choose to exercise their body, relax their mind or take advantage of the family-friendly amenities.Chelsea Hotel, Toronto offers guests a broad choice of dining venues. Experience all-day dining at Market Garden, indulge in a coffee or cocktail at the T|Bar Lounge or embrace the lively vibe in Monarchs Pub, downtown Toronto's hotspot for nightly entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TravelUp so you can book your Chelsea Hotel, Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Chelsea Toronto
Delta Chelsea Hotel Toronto
Delta Toronto
Toronto Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing