We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average basic hotel room at very reasonable price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
Ranked #60 of 138 Hotels in Toronto
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I stayed here earlier this year to attend a conference. The location of the hotel is great. The lobby can be a little chaotic. The hotel is huge - over 1500 rooms. Front desk staff are efficient and pleasant. BB33 restaurant was decent. The market garden offers fresh, enjoyable options. Monarch's Pub was quite lively. I was in a suite that had a living room, bedroom and kitchen. There was no longer access to the balcony. The room is a little dated. My one big issue was a noisy party on the floor that went on till about 3am. I could hear security requesting the party to end for over 2 hours. I would have thought that hotel security would have training to deal with such an issue more effectively.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank yyz_kat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,693)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,328 - 3,334 of 6,693 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

Parking is directly below the hotel. The check -in process was easy. There different types of restaurants on site and so many surrounding the property. It is close to the metro, Eaton centre and other shopping areas. Since it has been taken over by new owners I have noticed a huge change in the property and I really enjoyed our time there.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 642lindseya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

We've stayed at the Chelsea many times over the past 30 years for both business and pleasure. The location is great for downtown activities (Air Canada Centre and Rogers Centre are short subway ride away). Close to lots of theatres and restaurants for all tastes and price ranges.

Close to shopping at Eaton Centre and more upscale shopping on Blood and Yorkville. Also try wandering Queen West for some
more unique shopping.

While they have renovated extensively over the past year, the rooms still need some work. I found the bathrooms pretty rundown.

The cafeteria style restaurant is expensive for a family.

The adult pool on the 27 floor was nice, but the hot tub was filthy and so were the showers.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJWray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The first thing that hits you with this hotel is that it's clearly a family vacation place. And lots of them. Due to the size of the property, it's lobby is very busy with line ups of mostly vacationers with lots of kids waiting to check-in/out.

The location for a family vacation is great, with close proximity to the shopping of Eaton Centre. Saying that, it's close to the busy Yonge (and noisy) and Dundas Square, where events sometimes take place. As a result it was like there was a concert going on outside until 11 pm on the night I was there.

And the rooms. I was apparently in one of the unrenovated rooms that the hotel does not illustrate in its marketing materials. The furnishings were fine but the room had the stale smell of a room that had at one time been a smoking room but had been superficially recovered. My complaint elicited a move to a smaller room with the exact same smell. It permeated the sheets.

Also in not so great condition were the balconies. The concrete was cracked around the railings and had clearly been patched several times.

Room Tip: Request a renovated room. I understand the Club floor rooms are worth the extra price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank drgmobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I needed a hotel close to the Toronto General. This hotel is 2 blocks away and offers a special
medical rate. Room very decent. Comfy bed. Corridors a bit musty.
Great breakfast.
I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank maltoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The Eaton Chelsea is a decent hotel for the money - just don't expect anything special. It is in a great location and provides a good home base if you are going to be exploring the city. Rooms are a little tired, but generally clean.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank kiwi-33333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed here this past weekend. The beds were comfortable, the pool area clean and the check in and check out were uneventful. The location was good and there are plenty of amenities on site.

However, I was disgusted by the smell in our room. It smelled like a wet basement. There was no working fan in the bathroom. I assume that was the reason for the smell. When we called down to the front desk we were told that they would have maintenance look at it. As we were out all day I have no idea if they popped by it if they did anything but there was still no working fan when we got back. Upon calling the front desk again and advising that I was very sensitive to smells, they advised that none of the bathrooms have working fans (odd, why have then then?) They offered to send up an air purifier. Imagine my surprise when I opened the door to find a man with air freshening spray. He told me they had no purifiers, it was spray or nothing. I'm sensitive to smells and allergic to perfumes and why on earth would you want to try and cover the smell up? No thank you!

Housekeeping also had some issues. They made my daughters bed with the remote in it and they didn't bother to get the hair clump out of the tub.

It was an unpleasant experience but it could have been worse. We have stayed here before without issue but next time we'll stick with the Royal York.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank PickyMomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#59 of 138 in Toronto
2,747 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre
Downtown
The Saint James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Downtown
Novotel Toronto Centre
Novotel Toronto Centre
#47 of 138 in Toronto
2,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Hotel, Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Hotel, Toronto

Address: 33 Gerrard Street W, Toronto, Ontario M5G 1Z4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 138 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range: £86 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chelsea Hotel, Toronto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1590
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of downtown, steps from amazing attractions, businesses and shopping, the Chelsea Hotel, Toronto offers travellers comfortable accommodations at exceptional value. Featuring 1,590 contemporary guestrooms and suites, Chelsea Hotel, Toronto is Canada's largest hotel, delivering warm and reliable service and a variety of accommodation options. All rooms are equipped with technological conveniences and amenities, including basic complimentary WiFi. Whether testing your limits in the well-appointed fitness centre, lapping up the quiet comfort of the Deck 27 indoor pool, or enjoying the Family Fun Zone heated pool with the 130 ft "Corkscrew" waterslide, Kid Centre and Club 33 Teen Lounge, Chelsea Hotel, Toronto guests can choose to exercise their body, relax their mind or take advantage of the family-friendly amenities.Chelsea Hotel, Toronto offers guests a broad choice of dining venues. Experience all-day dining at Market Garden, indulge in a coffee or cocktail at the T|bar Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Chelsea Hotel, Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Chelsea Toronto
Delta Chelsea Hotel Toronto
Delta Toronto
Toronto Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing