We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
Ranked #57 of 135 Hotels in Toronto
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This is a huge hotel. It's extremely busy all day and night. It's clean and there are lot's of staff around. What I didn't like and what freaked me out was that the lifts were always packed and there were queues to get on the lifts. I was concerned about being so high up and if a fire broke out that the hotel was so packed out you would never get out...perhaps smaller hotels suit me more. It was ok, if not a bit dingy in the rooms. The pool was child free so that was nice - there was another pool for families, so no screamers to be seen or heard:)

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank 1964MrsH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,850)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,447 - 3,453 of 6,850 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

A lovely hotel based in the center of Toronto and within walking distance to the attractions we wanted to visit.
The restaurant was lovely with a good variety of salads and food cooked to order.
I would recommend the hotel for anyone visiting Toronto.
Near to the Eaton Centre where I was able to meet distant family members living in Toronto

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gillo_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The strengths and weakness of this hotel is quite obvious: superb location within Toronto while the hotel itself is definitely disappointing in terms of tired decoration and internal layout. If the management team could upgrade and refurbish the hotel, Eaton Chelsea is sure to revive itself into a top notch one in the city.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Nice staff but horrible hotel! No renos in last 30+ years. Assume it was an apartment complex but feel extremely deceived based on pictures! I thought we were staying in a decent hotel not a run down motel feeling hotel. Extremely disappointed!

Room Tip: Ensure it has been newly reno'd
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jaber2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We were only here overnight, but the service was very good. The booking in staff were very professional, and despite the large number of people coming and going, they somehow managed to remember your room number!! The concierge were very helpful, although not as well informed about local attractions as one would expect and we could have missed a really good one in the Distillery area, had it not been for a gentleman in the street who stopped to tell us about it!
The room was spacious enough, although the bathroom size was just about adequate....certainly only one person at a time! Despite being on 27 floors, the lifts came frequently.
There was good signage above the three exit doors, enabling you to know exactly which side of the building you were going out of.
The corridors were a little noisy with early risers, but this seems to be a common problem in most hotels, with guests not considering other guests as they move around. I think all hotels should verbally and physically remind them about this, having stayed in so many where this is a problem! There was also some building work going on across the road from our room, which started at 6.30am and could be heard through the double gazing, but the hotel is in the middle of the city, where lots of building work is going on, so hardly anything they can do about it.
Good to have tea and coffee making facilities in the room as well as nice toiletries., so I didn't have to unpack everything for a one night stay.

Room Tip: Ask if there is any building work going on on your side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Uzum54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

First impressions are of a busy, noisy lobby, almost like a train station. However, check-in was done quickly and politely. There's a number of delicious food courts adjacent to the reception where you can buy fresh pizzas, salad buffets, pasta and breakfast. These are open to the general public, hence the noise. The lifts are colour coded according to your room and there were many, so didn't have to wait too long or squeeze in. In the lobby you can use the internet at a fee. The room was quiet, clean and comfortable. Free wifi and good air con and a safe. Unfortunately, we didn't have a view of the city skyline, or better still,the CN tower, as some others do: didn't think to request. The kids' pool downstairs looked brilliant. We were too late to use it. There didn't seem to be any bell boys to take your bags, and you can't park too long outside as it's just a pull-in off the street. So, we left the car at the front, checked-in, and headed to the adjacent car park. Hotel is perfect location to sight-see. 2 mins walk to Eaton Centre and subway. Would recommend hotel. Safe area to be in at night-time. Toronto is a beautiful, clean city. Someone said that Toronto is like Manhattan, run by the Swiss.

Room Tip: Ask for CN Tower or city skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yahooholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 5 nights, 3 payed by Brithis Ayrways and 2 by my office..the full price. Well my room was old, bath with Enamel debarked, room frozen: I've asked to a gentle domestic if it was possible to increase the temperature but she kindly explain me that in summer the hotel close the heater. I can understand, but everywhere in this hotel was cold! More than in other place/bar/restaurant around Toronto. I've really suffered in my room and the weather, before midday, was always around 16-17°C outside...then not so hot!!! Anyway the location is super, food too (but really expensive). Reception , Concierge, Bell, domestics, people all very kind .
Wi-fi connection free but in some zone the line is less efficient. Lovely pool and solarium.
I will come back to this hotel for my job, but not for my holidays.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miriam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
#58 of 135 in Toronto
2,778 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Saint James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Downtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre
Downtown
Ramada Plaza Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Hotel, Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Hotel, Toronto

Address: 33 Gerrard Street W, Toronto, Ontario M5G 1Z4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 135 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range: £92 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chelsea Hotel, Toronto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1590
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of downtown, steps from amazing attractions, businesses and shopping, the Chelsea Hotel, Toronto offers travellers comfortable accommodations at exceptional value. Featuring 1,590 contemporary guestrooms and suites, Chelsea Hotel, Toronto is Canada's largest hotel, delivering warm and reliable service and a variety of accommodation options. All rooms are equipped with technological conveniences and amenities, including basic complimentary WiFi. Whether testing your limits in the well-appointed fitness centre, lapping up the quiet comfort of the Deck 27 indoor pool, or enjoying the Family Fun Zone heated pool with the 130 ft "Corkscrew" waterslide, Kid Centre and Club 33 Teen Lounge, Chelsea Hotel, Toronto guests can choose to exercise their body, relax their mind or take advantage of the family-friendly amenities.Chelsea Hotel, Toronto offers guests a broad choice of dining venues. Experience all-day dining at Market Garden, indulge in a coffee or cocktail at the T|bar Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Chelsea Hotel, Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Chelsea Toronto
Delta Chelsea Hotel Toronto
Delta Toronto
Toronto Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing