We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
Ranked #60 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but could be better”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The hotel is in the heart of downtown Toronto surrounded by a few good restaurants! Although I had read reviews regarding the decor of the hotel, it was of a good standard. My room was clean and tidy and the bed was very comfortable. In general, most of the staff were particularly pleasant, especially the doormen, service staff and maids. The weekend reception staff were great, however, the reception staff during the week were a little rude, not all but some. At one point I was ignored by five members of staff, who continued to talk between themselves when I asked for assistance (not good for a Monday morning when I needed to attend an important meeting across town) and when checking out, the receptionist was extremely rude, which was surprising as she had previously been quite pleasant. There was also an incident whereby a tray with remnants of food was left overnight in the corridor by the staff. I understand that this is a very large hotel but this is not excepted. The hotel does have many positives, such as the pool, gym and steam room and the views from the rooftop balcony are spectacular, which after a long days work is welcome and as stated the majority of staff are pleasant. In general, this hotel is good value for money in a good location but some of the reception staff lack customer service skills

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lifts, can be noisy at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenPr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,088 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,168
    2,173
    1,665
    691
    391
See reviews for
1,491
1,707
493
1,320
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chapleau
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Very clean room. Fast, Efficient check in and out. Wonderful beds and pillows! Great downtown location. The Market restaurant was a great way to pick up breakfast for the room or to eat in while travelling alone. I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mccsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Central location in downtown, comfy bed, free wi-fi and decent toiletries. These are the only good things in this hotel.
I stayed in the executive floor but my room felt like a budget one. Horrible, musty smell and no wonder since even the bathroom had wallpaper. The room was dark, furniture were old, table lamps were difficult to use.
And no adapter! I called to reception to ask if I could borrow one, but no. They said I have to go and buy my own. Really?
Checking in and out took forever. Lobby was always crowded when passing it. Cocktails in hotel bar were a joke.
I had an access to the executive lounge that offered some snacks and drinks. I only went there for breakfast that was included. Nothing to write home about. Better to eat out in the city in some nice cafe.
If I come back to lovely Toronto, I won't stay here again. I wouldn't recommend you to do so either.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelboysc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Toronto hotels

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights. Room was very nice and very clean. Hotel service met expectation and overall the stay was very pleasant. The hotel is well positioned close to lots of activities in Younge Street. It is about 40 min walk to the waterfront but there is a limited underground.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We always stay at the Eaton Chelsey we find the price reasonable and the accommodation is very close to all major attractions we also find the beds to be very comfortable and the rooms are quiet some of the negative issues is that the hotel needs some upgrades to become a higher star designation but we were able to walk to Blue Jay Games without any issues if you prefer to get a ride the hotel offers a shuttle to the games for $5.00 another plus is that there is entertainment every night in the Monarch lounge not top class but they do the be3st that they can to provide music it is also a place where you can have a beer and a snack at night.

The worst issue is if you leave from the Younge Street exit there is a mission right across the street and some nights I have found that they are hanging out on that intersection so you have to beware of your surroundings I wish the hotel provided more hotel security around that entrance otherwise we loved our stay and we will be returning again

Room Tip: If you are looking to go to the new Aquarium buy your tickets at the hotel if you are guests you rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob-Pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I was a bit concerned about staying here after reading some of the negative reviews on Tripadvisor. Upon check-in, I requested a quiet room away from renovations as I was in town for surgery. The front desk clerk told me not to worry as most of the renovations were completed. She was correct. Our room was quiet, clean and very comfortable albeit a bit dated. If you're looking for a clean, comfortable, convenient hotel in downtown Toronto, that is reasonably priced then this is the place. Do your comparative shopping and you'll agree.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThunderBay17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My husband and I spent a night at the hotel as our weekend getaway. The lobby, while very busy, was well appointed and impressive. Until we got to the Red elevators. The center elevator was out of service, I assume, although there was no signage to indicate this, and no obvious interest from the hotel staff. It remained on the 5th floor the entire time we were there, despite how busy the hotel was, amid how great the need for use was. Our hotel room was on the 5th floor. It was dismal, dated, and dirty. The carpet was dirty, the paint at the elevator chipped with splashes of I don't know what on the walls. The wall paper was dated an dull, giving the hallways the appearance of darkness. The room was standard at best. The bed, however, was comfortable and inviting. The air conditioning seemed antiquated and noisy enough to wake us when it turned off and on. Over all, a very disappointing stay, that we will not make the mistake of repeating.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#56 of 136 in Toronto
2,614 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel
Downtown
The Saint James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Hotel, Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Hotel, Toronto

Property: Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
Address: 33 Gerrard Street W., Toronto, Ontario M5G 1Z4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chelsea Hotel, Toronto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1590
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of downtown, steps from amazing attractions, businesses and shopping, the Chelsea Hotel, Toronto offers travellers comfortable accommodations at exceptional value. Featuring 1,590 contemporary guestrooms and suites, Chelsea Hotel, Toronto is Canada's largest hotel, delivering warm and reliable service and a variety of accommodation options. All rooms are equipped with technological conveniences and amenities, including basic complimentary WiFi. Whether testing your limits in the well-appointed fitness centre, lapping up the quiet comfort of the Deck 27 indoor pool, or enjoying the Family Fun Zone heated pool with the 130 ft "Corkscrew" waterslide, Kid Centre and Club 33 Teen Lounge, Chelsea Hotel, Toronto guests can choose to exercise their body, relax their mind or take advantage of the family-friendly amenities.Chelsea Hotel, Toronto offers guests a broad choice of dining venues. Experience all-day dining at Market Garden, indulge in a coffee or cocktail at the T|Bar Lounge or embrace the lively vibe in Monarchs Pub, downtown Toronto's hotspot for nightly entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Nozio Netplan srl, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Chelsea Hotel, Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Chelsea Toronto
Delta Chelsea Hotel Toronto
Delta Toronto
Toronto Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing