We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the right place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
Ranked #60 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Beautiful and clean room. I have stayed here wtice in the last year.
The bed is rediculously comfortable and you can't beat the location if you want to be downtown T.O.
Everything is right there. We enjoyed the food from the onsite restaurant as well.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank BrennaSmith15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,515)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,055 - 3,061 of 6,515 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed at the Eaton Chelsea in August and were a bit disappointed, the lobby is clean and bright but the rooms are tired and shabby and badly in need of re decoration. We arrived on a Monday and used the toiletries in the bathroom but they were not replaced until I asked the concierge on Sunday, this was whilst reporting that there had been vomit outside the lift on our floor for two days! The bathroom was incredibly small and the toilet had to be repaired by my husband every day as it constantly filled with water.

Another special treat during my visit whilst using the ladies downstairs restroom off the lobby was to find that someone had defecated on the floor, does nobody check the facilities to see if they are clean, I could find no record of them having been checked.

This was the third hotel we had stayed in on our trip and by far the most disappointing I would not recommend it nor stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We were in town for a hospital visit and booked the hotel very last minute. It was a welcome oasis during a difficult time. After being discharged from the hospital my wife and I had a full day of just relaxing and napping in the hotel. The staff, amenities, food, room, everything was just wonderful. Hopefully they'll open some hotels out in Western Canada as well.
I stay in a lot of hotels and haven't experienced service like at this hotel in a long long time. I was thoroughly impressed by each staff member and service that we came across. I highly recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: The red elevator seemed to be the least busy, so rooms on the floors that use the red elevators are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

While the lobby and restaurant areas of the hotel are very modern the guest room we stayed in left a lot to be desired. The entire room needed to be updated. Even though the room was clean it just felt really tired and old. Food in the restaurant was ok, very expensive. I really like the food station concept of the restaurant though. It would be a good place to give delegates to a conference a meal voucher that could be spent anywhere in the restaurant.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank LisaHSays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Our family has stayed at the Chelsea for many years. Terrific neighborhood with amazing restaurants (Korean BBQ across the street with Marble Slab ice cream down the road). Chinatown, ROM, Art Gallery of Ontario--all in easy walking distance. Kids love Eggsmart for breakfast and Mercatto for Italian dinner. Outdoor parking lot nearby and public underground parking also easily available. No need to use valet. Very family oriented with a fun slide in the pool, plus a great adults only pool and fitness center on the top floor. Now they have wifi in the rooms and the rooms have been redecorated since switching from Delta Chelsea to Eaton Chelsea. I do miss the Delta Chelsea's Christmas decorations in the lobby; it seems a bit pared down now. And also miss the mint infused water in the lobby, too. But with that said, still a very good hotel in fabulous location.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CAB111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed at the Eaton Chelsea for two nights with our children. The first thing I noticed when we arrived was how big and busy the hotel was. Check-in was seamless, but we were quite disappointed with our room. We booked a discounted rate and I had read other negative reviews prior to our arrival, but I was hopeful that we would be pleasantly surprised. Unfortunately, we were not. The room was in need of some major updates. Wallpaper was peeling, tiles were cracked, toilet was stained, tables were dusty (I've never seen that much dust in a hotel room before!), remote control for the TV barely worked, the furniture was all chipped and stained, no in-room safes, stained curtains, no fan in the bathroom, the bed and pillows were lumpy. The hallways of the hotel were very dirty, as were the elevators.

The family pool was dated and packed with people. I did not swim in it but the kids did. They enjoyed it and did not mind the the number of people. There is also an arcade area that has some older pinball machines, pool table, air hockey, and x-box (all cost $, except the xbox). The children's play room has toys and activities for small children, a fish tank and two pet rabbits.

We looked at the adult pool which was quite nice and there was a decent fitness area. There is a good view of the city from the outdoor balcony on the 26th floor.

Overall, our stay was okay but I really think there isn't enough staff to stay on top of things. If our room was in good condition and the public areas of the hotel were clean I would give it a better rating.

Room Tip: If you stay, I suggest a higher floor. We were on the 23rd and if was fairly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank renae72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

When we were booked in this hotel I did not realise just how big it was, must have got somehow distracted at that stage of the trip's planning.
We arrived in the evening and so many other would-be-guests, as the queue at the reception desk was quite long. Said that, the staff was efficient, polite and clear in their communication with all customers.
We never experienced queues at the the lifts, though sometimes we had to wait a bit for one to arrive, but with such a busy place it is understandable.
The first impression of our floor was not overwhelming, especially as what looked like dirty breakfast crockery was piled on a console table and some was left on the floor.
The room itself was rather small, without a fridge and with a rather basic bathroom which could do with some deep cleaning as there was grime around the plugs and some of the ceramics, like the cistern lid. Slightly off-putting.
It was nice to have the balcony, as it opened up the room a bit.
The location is excellent, very close to the shopping mall, high end shops, museums and plenty of excellent restaurants - though having decided to get some fresh air after settling in we ended up in an area which appeared rather dodgy at that evening hour (but it looked better in the morning!).
Reception staff was very helpful also when organising our departure and storage of the luggage for few hours before the flight home.
The overall positive rating is mainly on the basis of location and performance of reception staff, not the quality of the room.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trepesciolini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#58 of 137 in Toronto
2,716 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre
Downtown
The Saint James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Downtown
Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Hotel, Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Hotel, Toronto

Address: 33 Gerrard Street W., Toronto, Ontario M5G 1Z4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range: £100 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chelsea Hotel, Toronto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1590
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of downtown, steps from amazing attractions, businesses and shopping, the Chelsea Hotel, Toronto offers travellers comfortable accommodations at exceptional value. Featuring 1,590 contemporary guestrooms and suites, Chelsea Hotel, Toronto is Canada's largest hotel, delivering warm and reliable service and a variety of accommodation options. All rooms are equipped with technological conveniences and amenities, including basic complimentary WiFi. Whether testing your limits in the well-appointed fitness centre, lapping up the quiet comfort of the Deck 27 indoor pool, or enjoying the Family Fun Zone heated pool with the 130 ft "Corkscrew" waterslide, Kid Centre and Club 33 Teen Lounge, Chelsea Hotel, Toronto guests can choose to exercise their body, relax their mind or take advantage of the family-friendly amenities.Chelsea Hotel, Toronto offers guests a broad choice of dining venues. Experience all-day dining at Market Garden, indulge in a coffee or cocktail at the T|bar Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chelsea Hotel, Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Chelsea Toronto
Delta Chelsea Hotel Toronto
Delta Toronto
Toronto Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing