We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A boys night out!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
Ranked #61 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Booked this hotel through hotwire.com ... booked a standard room and then upgraded the room when we got there for an additional $100 to a suite with a kitchen and a balcony... got the room for 115 on hotwire then with the 100$ upgrade we spent about 215$ which is cheap considering it was a saturday night and the hotel room sells for upwards of $300 if you book directly with the hotel. The hotel has just seen renovations in the lobby and i think they are upgrading the rooms soon. it is one of the only remaining hotels left in downtown toronto with balconies, which is key for those who smoke although the balconies are deemed "non smoking" for whatever reason. hotel furniture is a tad bit old but you cant go wrong for the price. you always get what you pay for in toronto

Room Tip: try to get on to the top floor there is a pool and hot tub and gym up there as well as a party room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Maseeh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,610)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,140 - 3,146 of 6,610 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

This hotel is one I will not visit again - the staff are great but the rooms, carpets and trimmings are old - carpets stained - go up to the indoor pool and the carpet is torn, Ice machines broken.
I booked online - probably got the worst room next to the elevator - noise all night long.
I was in the red elevator area - got moved to blue - better but not great.
Long lines to book in - staff are patient, but having to deal with complaints must really get to staff morale. The management needs to spend some money on the entire building. I just felt that a great family weekend reunion was spoilt.

Room Tip: Do not go to the RED zone!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank anafricanincanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Beautiful and clean room. I have stayed here wtice in the last year.
The bed is rediculously comfortable and you can't beat the location if you want to be downtown T.O.
Everything is right there. We enjoyed the food from the onsite restaurant as well.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank BrennaSmith15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed at the Eaton Chelsea in August and were a bit disappointed, the lobby is clean and bright but the rooms are tired and shabby and badly in need of re decoration. We arrived on a Monday and used the toiletries in the bathroom but they were not replaced until I asked the concierge on Sunday, this was whilst reporting that there had been vomit outside the lift on our floor for two days! The bathroom was incredibly small and the toilet had to be repaired by my husband every day as it constantly filled with water.

Another special treat during my visit whilst using the ladies downstairs restroom off the lobby was to find that someone had defecated on the floor, does nobody check the facilities to see if they are clean, I could find no record of them having been checked.

This was the third hotel we had stayed in on our trip and by far the most disappointing I would not recommend it nor stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We were in town for a hospital visit and booked the hotel very last minute. It was a welcome oasis during a difficult time. After being discharged from the hospital my wife and I had a full day of just relaxing and napping in the hotel. The staff, amenities, food, room, everything was just wonderful. Hopefully they'll open some hotels out in Western Canada as well.
I stay in a lot of hotels and haven't experienced service like at this hotel in a long long time. I was thoroughly impressed by each staff member and service that we came across. I highly recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: The red elevator seemed to be the least busy, so rooms on the floors that use the red elevators are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

While the lobby and restaurant areas of the hotel are very modern the guest room we stayed in left a lot to be desired. The entire room needed to be updated. Even though the room was clean it just felt really tired and old. Food in the restaurant was ok, very expensive. I really like the food station concept of the restaurant though. It would be a good place to give delegates to a conference a meal voucher that could be spent anywhere in the restaurant.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank LisaHSays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Our family has stayed at the Chelsea for many years. Terrific neighborhood with amazing restaurants (Korean BBQ across the street with Marble Slab ice cream down the road). Chinatown, ROM, Art Gallery of Ontario--all in easy walking distance. Kids love Eggsmart for breakfast and Mercatto for Italian dinner. Outdoor parking lot nearby and public underground parking also easily available. No need to use valet. Very family oriented with a fun slide in the pool, plus a great adults only pool and fitness center on the top floor. Now they have wifi in the rooms and the rooms have been redecorated since switching from Delta Chelsea to Eaton Chelsea. I do miss the Delta Chelsea's Christmas decorations in the lobby; it seems a bit pared down now. And also miss the mint infused water in the lobby, too. But with that said, still a very good hotel in fabulous location.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CAB111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#59 of 137 in Toronto
2,731 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre
Downtown
The Saint James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Downtown
Novotel Toronto Centre
Novotel Toronto Centre
#47 of 137 in Toronto
2,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Hotel, Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Hotel, Toronto

Address: 33 Gerrard Street W, Toronto, Ontario M5G 1Z4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range: £93 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chelsea Hotel, Toronto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1590
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of downtown, steps from amazing attractions, businesses and shopping, the Chelsea Hotel, Toronto offers travellers comfortable accommodations at exceptional value. Featuring 1,590 contemporary guestrooms and suites, Chelsea Hotel, Toronto is Canada's largest hotel, delivering warm and reliable service and a variety of accommodation options. All rooms are equipped with technological conveniences and amenities, including basic complimentary WiFi. Whether testing your limits in the well-appointed fitness centre, lapping up the quiet comfort of the Deck 27 indoor pool, or enjoying the Family Fun Zone heated pool with the 130 ft "Corkscrew" waterslide, Kid Centre and Club 33 Teen Lounge, Chelsea Hotel, Toronto guests can choose to exercise their body, relax their mind or take advantage of the family-friendly amenities.Chelsea Hotel, Toronto offers guests a broad choice of dining venues. Experience all-day dining at Market Garden, indulge in a coffee or cocktail at the T|bar Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Chelsea Hotel, Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Chelsea Toronto
Delta Chelsea Hotel Toronto
Delta Toronto
Toronto Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing