We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,359)
Filter reviews
7,359 results
Traveller rating
1,466
2,586
1,977
841
489
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,466
2,586
1,977
841
489
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarket gardenadult poolfamily poolhuge hotelelm streeteaton centrebusy hotelmarch breakcentral locationyonge stcn towerheart of downtowngerrardsubwayconcierge
Filter
Updating list...
3,767 - 3,772 of 7,359 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Was there in Aug/2014 with my wife and kids. Hotel lobby is so crowded that looks like a permanent huge fair is happening anytime. Service is terrible everywhere: room service was always a surprise, with wet towels left on the bed, floor was wet, and cleaning is not top priority in hotel. Regarding staff, bad humor is mandatory, especially in restaurants. And food is less than okayish. Do not recommend at all!

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank andre_santos77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Used to stay here for the Toronto film festival and to visit relatives in the city. Will try somewhere else this year. Check in usually slow. Decor becoming tired. Needs a make-over. Some of the rooms very tired. Room service for breakfast good. Car park large and deep! Good location downtown. Staff courteous.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed this hotel for the Lions club international meeting, and it was convenient to look around the city. All the hotel stuff are really nice and could sleep well. Only thing that I didn't like was the noise from outside at night. I think that is not this hotel's fault, but down town in Toronto itself.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 三鈴 久
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alistair I, Manager at Chelsea Hotel Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to learn that your stay was enjoyable and you found the location of the hotel to be beneficial for your needs. We were delighted to welcome members of the Lions Clubs from all over the world and hope to have the same opportunity in future.

Sincerely,

Guest Experience Specialist
Eaton Chelsea Toronto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Started at check in. Waited in line then it took 20 minutes to check in. Gentleman totally screwed up our reservation.
We were sent to the green elevators way behind the post. Took us to Floor 12. When you get out it had an arrow pointing to the right. That is it. You then get to a T intersection. You look right and it looks like a dead end. To the left you see doors so of course you go that way. Oops turn around.... go back to elevator and check again..... you then find you have to go behind the elevators! I checked after and there were no more signs. You just have to scout it out yourself!

The room was ok. Too much air freshener when you open the door. Patio doors were filthy both inside and out. Some tape on them that looked ancient, ...also extremely hard to open.
The bathroom was tiny to say the least. Almost like a travel trailer size. You had to close the door to use toilet or shower. No ventilation at all. Door stop hanging off door so it hit tub when you opened. Mold in corner of shower and under sink. Tile grout stained and dirty looking. Bathtub looked dirty but it was the no slip coating at the bottom that was way passed its prime. Shower curtain rod was ready to give way but lasted for stay.

The bed was soft and lumpy. VERY UNCOMFORTABLE. The bed was made with nice white sheets and bed spreads.
The best part of the room experience was the towels in the bathroom. Very nice towels and they were made in Cambridge Ontario at Cambridge Towels!
The room was extremely noisy, ... especially on the weekend and from the hallway not the city.

Food at the hotel was a joke! Really only one restaurant the Market. Mostly overpriced crap. The first night the "executive chef" took our order. Then asked again for it. Then 3 other people had to confirm. My steak was fully cooked and sat there when they started my friends gyro! They did not even bother to try to keep it warm. The second night I found that cooking a hamburger took 4 people that came and squeezed the juice out of it. No one seemed in charge. They all ask you again and again what you ordered!

Best to get out of hotel for food. Lots of restaurants around. If you want a burger McDonalds is a short walk and have a better burger at 1/4 the price! :-)

The whole place from front desk, bars and restaurant is Disorganization to the extreme!

Room Tip: Your best bet is to go somewhere else!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MickFergus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Booked this hotel through hotwire.com ... booked a standard room and then upgraded the room when we got there for an additional $100 to a suite with a kitchen and a balcony... got the room for 115 on hotwire then with the 100$ upgrade we spent about 215$ which is cheap considering it was a saturday night and the hotel room sells for upwards of $300 if you book directly with the hotel. The hotel has just seen renovations in the lobby and i think they are upgrading the rooms soon. it is one of the only remaining hotels left in downtown toronto with balconies, which is key for those who smoke although the balconies are deemed "non smoking" for whatever reason. hotel furniture is a tad bit old but you cant go wrong for the price. you always get what you pay for in toronto

Room Tip: try to get on to the top floor there is a pool and hot tub and gym up there as well as a party room that you can get into with your room key
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Maseeh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews