We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay, food not so great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
Ranked #60 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Staff, as always very helpful & informative. The room was clean & comfortable. Great location, within walking distance to Sick Kids Hospital.
I found the quality of food at Market Garden below standards, pizza was barely warm & crust was like cardboard.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alistair I, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Valued TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback from your stay at the Eaton Chelsea Toronto. We are pleased that our proximity to the hospitals was helpful during your stay and the staff you encountered provided warm welcomes and friendly service. It is unfortunate that this experience did not carry through to your meal at the Market Garden and apologize for the level of quality displayed. Your comments have been shared with our Food and Beverage team for review. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Guest Experience Specialist
Eaton Chelsea Toronto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,438)
There are newer reviews for Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,977 - 2,983 of 6,438 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

We got this hotel thru Priceline. Good location as we were able to walk to a lot of places and restaurants. We walked to Chinatown, Kensington Market and other sites. Big hotel that is family friendly. We liked the patio outside of the on site restaurant and the gym/pool area. Especially appreciated that it was open late. Didn't care for our room which was incredibly small, didn't have room safe or refrigerator in the room. Also didn't like that we were charged for local calls and toll free calls. The renovation as a previous review wrote was sloppy in the room we stayed. The wall paper was peeling in several areas. I will say the bed was comfortable and the WIFi was easily accessible. Last note, be mindful that parking in this area in general is expensive at $30, but they do allow for in and out. Overall would we stay here again? Only if we got a great deal.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
1  Thank MLJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alistair I, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear MLJohnson,

Thank you for taking the time to record your experiences while staying with us. We are delighted that you had the chance to stay with us and found good value through one of our partnered online travel agents. We apologize that the size and condition of the room did not meet your expectations and some inconvenience. We currently offer safety deposit box's free of charge to guests through the Front Desk in the lobby level. In room mini-refrigerators are provide upon request and are free of charge. We will be addressing these issues during our upcoming room renovation project and we are excited to share this with our guests. Stay tuned for more information regarding our upcoming plans. We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Guest Experience Specialist
Eaton Chelsea Toronto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

On a business trip to Toronto and the vendor booked this hotel. The hotel is pretty average. Room is ok, clean but not really special. Bathroom is not really trendy or stylish so I guess for the purpose of business trip is just ok. Quite a big hotel so lots of people around and quite noisy I have to say. Not really a good choice for couple or if you want a romantic stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jcch1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

The Eaton Chelsea is perfectly located for downtown Toronto- 5-10 minute walk from Yonge-Dundas square. It is therefore a great base for exploring Toronto. The rooms are nice, clean and spacious and have cable TV. The pool / gym / jacuzzi area is pristine but small with outstanding view of CN Tower. The staff were generally friendly. Quite affordable. Good as a budget base in Toronto- certainly not luxury. Very busy place (you only really notice this in main lobby). Plenty of dining options both in and around the hotel- I recommend Sunset Grill for breakfast. The Eaton Chelsea also offers very good discount cards for some places (eg. 15% off dinner food bill) so make sure you check these out!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Fraser B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Very enjoyable stay. Hotel allowed us to leave our car on the Mon. morning - while we visited the Hockey Hall of Fame and Wayne Gretzky's restaurant. Being able to get a Pizza made up for us , to take up to the room was a bonus. - on the Sun . night. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I stayed here for a week in August. Location could not have been better -- close to hospitals, university, and city centre. Our room was sound-proof and the bed was comfortable. Staff were very accommodating. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This hotel is on the corner of Yonge and Gerard. It is 10 minutes easy walk fro Toronto General Hospital. Several good restaurants are available within a 5 minute walk from any of the 3 entrances.
Renovations continue and some of the older rooms are really tired.
Price is reasonable and the balconies are an added bonus

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank gordon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#56 of 137 in Toronto
2,702 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre
Downtown
The Saint James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Downtown
Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Hotel, Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Hotel, Toronto

Address: 33 Gerrard Street W., Toronto, Ontario M5G 1Z4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range: £102 - £339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chelsea Hotel, Toronto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1590
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of downtown, steps from amazing attractions, businesses and shopping, the Chelsea Hotel, Toronto offers travellers comfortable accommodations at exceptional value. Featuring 1,590 contemporary guestrooms and suites, Chelsea Hotel, Toronto is Canada's largest hotel, delivering warm and reliable service and a variety of accommodation options. All rooms are equipped with technological conveniences and amenities, including basic complimentary WiFi. Whether testing your limits in the well-appointed fitness centre, lapping up the quiet comfort of the Deck 27 indoor pool, or enjoying the Family Fun Zone heated pool with the 130 ft "Corkscrew" waterslide, Kid Centre and Club 33 Teen Lounge, Chelsea Hotel, Toronto guests can choose to exercise their body, relax their mind or take advantage of the family-friendly amenities.Chelsea Hotel, Toronto offers guests a broad choice of dining venues. Experience all-day dining at Market Garden, indulge in a coffee or cocktail at the T|Bar Lounge or embrace the lively vibe in Monarchs Pub, downtown Toronto's hotspot for nightly entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Chelsea Hotel, Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Chelsea Toronto
Delta Chelsea Hotel Toronto
Delta Toronto
Toronto Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing