We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Downhill from Delta Chelsea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
Ranked #60 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Port Hope, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Downhill from Delta Chelsea”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

I've stayed here a few times. Busiest lobby in North America - 20 minute wait times are usual. Lobby is beautifully renovated, rooms still old and tired. Last visit there were service problems - concierge wouldn't hold a small gift for my niece which was to be picked up within the hour - sent me to the 1863 desk (or some such thing) who in turn sent me back to the concierge.
Staff didn't pick up the breakfast order card in the night which had hung there since 9 pm. Trying to rectify this (security was to come to pick up the order, they never came). Finally resolved one hour later than requested order time.
They took order off bill.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CleghornS67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,889 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,119
    2,117
    1,611
    663
    379
See reviews for
1,465
1,652
478
1,239
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hagersville
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

This hotel is easy walking distance to Eaton Centre, rogers Centre etc.
Lots of reasonable food choices right at hotel.
We had a one bedroom suite which was spacious , the bed was very comfortable and the kitchenette was a bonus. Would have given it 5 stars except the pullout sofa was VERY uncomfortabke. Since it was booked for 4 people this was dissapointing.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor as it is downtown their is traffic noise. Check their specials. We were able...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duckngail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

We were there when world pride was
In so whole city was busy. Not troubled by noise but foyer always busy. Balcony awful and owned by pigeons. Good food and good music in the bar. Colleagues were in the Marriott up the road and this was better. Great location.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sparksterful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

If you want to stay at a luxury hotel with access to the heart of Toronto, consider the Eaton Chelsea. It has excellent restaurants and other features, so when I went there for an IEEE conference I could have stayed inside the entire time, however, I enjoyed walking around the area which is one block from Rierson University. The local cuisine is varied and reasonable. Be aware that it will cost you to arrive and depart from the airport. There is no free hotel shuttle, and the city has an airport express bus which is currently $27 one way and $42 round trip. Traffic is significant making the trip to the airport a chancy thing requiring more time than you might think. I would avoid driving in it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Eaton Chelsea. It was in a great location, our check in was very fast and easy (and there was a long line but we didn't wait long). The hotel is very large. Our room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. We had no issues at all staying here. We didn't have a chance to check out the pool because we ran out of time. But it was a positive experience and not our first time staying here. We will stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

It looks like you have to be aged between approximately 18 and 24 to enjoy a stay in this hotel. Long queues of young people either checking in or out each time we came to the lobby, noise level extremely high. Very hard to get some sleep during night, always someone yelling, shouting or generating some other type of noise. Also I had to go down 4 floors to find a working ice machine which was not broken.
This 1st weekend in August the Caribbean carnival took place in Toronto and this may have been the reason the hotel was so crowded. Although the room was spacy and clean, I would never again stay there.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
1 Thank rkrcp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Toronto hotels

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

We stayed in this hotel five nights. We are pretty happy about the hotel. They kept our luggages ~1.5 days after we checked out, which was very helpful; they store delicate items like laptops separately.
Carpet in the room was very old, and a tap was leaking. But those were not disturbing. There is a very nice swimming pool on 26th floor.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room facing Younge Av, so didn't have a view of downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NuDe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#54 of 132 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,563 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre
Downtown West
Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel
Downtown West
The Strathcona Hotel
The Strathcona Hotel
#53 of 132 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Hotel, Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Hotel, Toronto

Property: Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
Address: 33 Gerrard Street W., Toronto, Ontario M5G 1Z4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chelsea Hotel, Toronto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1590
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of downtown, steps from amazing attractions, businesses and shopping, the Chelsea Hotel, Toronto offers travellers comfortable accommodations at exceptional value. Featuring 1,590 contemporary guestrooms and suites, Chelsea Hotel, Toronto is Canada's largest hotel, delivering warm and reliable service and a variety of accommodation options. All rooms are equipped with technological conveniences and amenities, including basic complimentary WiFi. Whether testing your limits in the well-appointed fitness centre, lapping up the quiet comfort of the Deck 27 indoor pool, or enjoying the Family Fun Zone heated pool with the 130 ft "Corkscrew" waterslide, Kid Centre and Club 33 Teen Lounge, Chelsea Hotel, Toronto guests can choose to exercise their body, relax their mind or take advantage of the family-friendly amenities.Chelsea Hotel, Toronto offers guests a broad choice of dining venues. Experience all-day dining at Market Garden, indulge in a coffee or cocktail at the T|Bar Lounge or embrace the lively vibe in Monarchs Pub, downtown Toronto's hotspot for nightly entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Chelsea Hotel, Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Chelsea Toronto
Delta Chelsea Hotel Toronto
Delta Toronto
Toronto Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing