We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“over rated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
Ranked #60 of 133 Hotels in Toronto
toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“over rated”
Reviewed 28 October 2010

Am presently staying at the delta with family who are undergoing testing at the hospital. The room upon arrival was a disappointment. It is very small, and not clean. Obsviously it hadn't been thourghly cleaned before our arrival. The support staff went on strike during our stay........need I say more, all the comforts were are being charged for are not being provided, not to mention the noise level at all entrances due to the workers picketing. The bed linens are lumpy beyond statement. Would not stay here again! The only positive thing is the location for our purpose. The food is way overpriced in the hotel resturants, dined out at a resturant nearby after the first night.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank notpei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,990 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,146
    2,147
    1,637
    677
    383
See reviews for
1,479
1,678
486
1,284
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2010

I have stayed at Super8's which were nicer than this hotel. The hotel staff although friendly enough, were completely inept, with long waits for service and a lack of communication between front-desk managers. Our "modern, renovated room, with a balcony overlooking the city" was run-down with threadbare carpets, a disgusting, mildewy bathroom and a balcony consisting of crumbling concrete with a view facing a wall. Upon arrival, we found the lobby full-of drunken, rowdy twenty-somethings. I would highly recommend paying the extra few dollars to stay at one of the areas nicer hotels and skip this one. This was my first and final stay in a Delta hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ck231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Toronto hotels

Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2010

My only criticism of this hotel is that there is no free wi-fi in the rooms! I see no excuse for this in todays day and age when other luxury hotels do it. The Marriott two blocks up has it as do hostels so why can't they? That being said there is wifi in the lobby if you can find a spot on one of the couches.
Other than that little bed bug the Delta Chelsea is fantastic! It's a very, very busy hotel so if you're looking for somewhere quiet this is not the hotel for you. I found the hallways to be a little out dated but other than that I really enjoyed my stay.
The rooms are spacious and have nice televisions within them and good bathrooms too.
Location wise you couldn't ask for a better spot! You are two minutes walk from Dundas Square / Eaton Centre but also inbetween two subway stations so you can get anywhere you like.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SweetHeartScene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

I only stayed at the Delta Chelsea one night and I'm shocked at how loud the construction is next door. They started before 630am and the sounds include jackhammers and someone yelling over a loud speaker.

I also felt this hotel is totally old, smells musty, and floored that they charge a $4 delivery fee plus gratuity for room service. Wish they had mentioned that when i ordered a $5 icecream!

Thank God I only had to stay one night!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hrborders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2010

I stayed there for one night for a rate of $160cad that didn't include wireless internet (tough these days you almost never do)
I was mostly shocked when I received my bill showing an amount of 2.75 for a call which was to a toll free number.. This is quite a flat fee !!
The room itself was handicapped accesible which I was not even made aware of at the time of checking-in. 
There was hardly any space between the bed and the TV. I have to note that the bed and pillows were quite confortable.
I went to the "market style" breakfast place and was charge hefty $23 for an omelette, a yogurt with fruits and a coffee.. 
Other than being conveniently located, I wouldn't recommend it for its price.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vincentmontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2010

We enjoyed our stay at the Delta Chelsea. There was a problem with our TV - we could not order a movie - and the staff was very responsive. Comfortable beds, clean and spacious rooms - it was perfect. I don't recommend the food however, both the restaurants left much to be desired.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krista H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neyland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2010

Me and my partner stayed at this hotel for 10nights and everynight was fantastic, on arriving the staff were very helpful we immediately got upgraded to a larger room in the hotel with a better view of the city. The room was very clean and had been modernized recently. The bed was comfy.
We were helped with our enquires to every detail on looking for places to go by the staff.
Everything we wanted to do was within walking distance (except the zoo on which the staff told us the subways to take and the bus number aswel).
This is a hotel i would definatly use again although walking through the lobby it was always full of people and lots of children we were never disturbed in our room once by the noise in the hallways.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arich21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#55 of 133 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,587 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre
Downtown West
Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel
Downtown West
The Strathcona Hotel
The Strathcona Hotel
#52 of 133 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Hotel, Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Hotel, Toronto

Property: Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
Address: 33 Gerrard Street W., Toronto, Ontario M5G 1Z4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 133 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chelsea Hotel, Toronto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1590
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of downtown, steps from amazing attractions, businesses and shopping, the Chelsea Hotel, Toronto offers travellers comfortable accommodations at exceptional value. Featuring 1,590 contemporary guestrooms and suites, Chelsea Hotel, Toronto is Canada's largest hotel, delivering warm and reliable service and a variety of accommodation options. All rooms are equipped with technological conveniences and amenities, including basic complimentary WiFi. Whether testing your limits in the well-appointed fitness centre, lapping up the quiet comfort of the Deck 27 indoor pool, or enjoying the Family Fun Zone heated pool with the 130 ft "Corkscrew" waterslide, Kid Centre and Club 33 Teen Lounge, Chelsea Hotel, Toronto guests can choose to exercise their body, relax their mind or take advantage of the family-friendly amenities.Chelsea Hotel, Toronto offers guests a broad choice of dining venues. Experience all-day dining at Market Garden, indulge in a coffee or cocktail at the T|Bar Lounge or embrace the lively vibe in Monarchs Pub, downtown Toronto's hotspot for nightly entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Chelsea Hotel, Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Chelsea Toronto
Delta Chelsea Hotel Toronto
Delta Toronto
Toronto Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing