We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not great :(” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of International Plaza Hotel Toronto Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
International Plaza Hotel Toronto Airport
Ranked #81 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
GreenLeadersSilver level
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not great :(”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We were placed in this hotel for the second of our two night delay with Air Canada, overall I was a little disappointed and quite frankly was glad that I wasn't paying for the stay! The check in staff were friendly, however they didn't explain that the vouchers given to us by Air Canada to spend on food in the hotel actually included gratuity which meant the full value of the voucher wasn't available to us to spend.

Baring in mind, we were there totally unexpectedly so we didn't have any Canadian money or any other form of payment, the vouchers were rendered useless to us as the $7 provided to us by Air Canada didn't cover the $22 it cost for the breakfast. We were told when enquiring at breakfast that the price using the vouchers would be $22 each including tax but not using the vouchers, it would cost $19. We were forced to use our food vouchers for lunch and dinner to cover the price of breakfast which wasn't worth it as most of the hot food was actually quite cold and tasteless - this meant that we couldn't eat for the rest of the day as all the food vouchers had been used. We discovered after this point, that the vouchers given to us by the check in clerk in exchange for the airline vouchers actually stated that gratuity wasn't included in the vouchers so it was a little annoying that we were told otherwise at breakfast by the greeter.

The remaining staff that we encountered weren't as friendly as the staff in the previous hotels we had stayed in around Toronto airport which was a little disappointing. All in all, I wasn't impressed with this hotel and given the choice, I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carly1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy P, Guest Relations Manager at International Plaza Hotel Toronto Airport, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Carly1234,

Thank you for your insight on your recent experience at International Plaza Hotel. We’re very sorry that we didn't meet your expectations and we’re taking your recommendation to improve our menu and service. Our guest reviews give us valuable information to deliver the best dining experience possible, and we appreciate your feedback. Please visit us again the next time you’re in Toronto, and tell us how we’re doing. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    202
    164
    92
    76
See reviews for
140
178
46
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Mohamed should not be at front desk!! Found him to be very rude and condesending. To top things off we didn't get the room we booked online. According to him we came to late!!! I will never stay here again

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Quadaisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy P, Guest Relations Manager at International Plaza Hotel Toronto Airport, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Quadaisha,

We’re sorry we didn't provide the high quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel staff, and we have addressed the issues you mentioned. We try to make each guest experience a great one at International Plaza Hotel and your satisfaction is important to us. Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope you’ll give us another opportunity soon to make your stay the best it can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Our flight was cancelled so Air Canada put us up here for the night. The room was clean and the beds were great. The bathroom was large and well equipped. There was free internet and the speed was adequate. We were not here long but the staff were good and the hotel was clean. There is a free shuttle to and from the airport which was nice.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank GummyStewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy P, Guest Relations Manager at International Plaza Hotel Toronto Airport, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear GummyStewart,

We’re happy you had a great stay at International Plaza Hotel. Come see us again soon! Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Great price, big rooms, beautiful lobby with Starbucks and 2 other restaurants, indoor pool and hot tub, 15 min from downtown Toronto! :) Great for one night, 2 big events were taking place there and we did not hear anything from our room.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy P, Guest Relations Manager at International Plaza Hotel Toronto Airport, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Jamie P,

Thanks for taking the time to send us the great review. We hope to see you again soon at the International Plaza Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birch Run/Frankenmuth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

I have stayed at many hotels in the Toronto area and have used priceline quite often and have had great experiences and sometimes not so much.... I have never written a good or bad review on-line before but really felt compelled to share our horrible experience at The International Plaza. Two weekends ago my husband and I booked a hotel through priceline for one night and I chose 3 1/2 stars because we have had good luck getting the Crowne Plaza...but nope not this time. The International Plaza exterior looks good and the lobby great but thats as good as it gets. The rooms are dirty and disgusting...beds are comfortable I will admit but I didn't get much sleep after a big, black bug crawled across my chest as I lay in bed watching TV. My husband scooped up the bug in a couple paper cups and immediately took it down to the front desk to talk to the manager on duty. He was discreet as there was other people standing at the counter. He showed the clerk who did not look surprised at all. He took the bug in the back to the manager and the manager who did not sound surprised in the least but did sound very annoyed told the clerk to give us a different room. The manager did not even bother coming out to speak with my husband to offer any kind of apology...absolutely nothing!! The clerk told my husband to check back with the day manager and explain our "situation" to him. So at 11:30pm we moved rooms ...2 floors directly above our old bug infested room...new room smelled bad...bathroom was dirty with hair all over the floor and there was something wet and sticky on the bedside table...nice!! I have read other posts about this hotel with ppl moving rooms and how smelly they were and honestly I thought maybe just over picky etc...but trust me when I say "Stay away from this hotel...run far!!" ....Ohhhh and so my husband went to the front desk to talk to the day manager in the morning and he knew absolutely nothing about it...(so he says) and again did not seem surprised in the least....with which my husband responded .."obviously this is a frequent occurence???" The day manager did not offer any kind of apology and had a hard time hiding his annoyance....brutal! The part I could not believe...are u ready for this?? Is when he told my husband that this matter was a Housekeeping Issue and we should go speak to them!!!!!...yup you read it right! Never again! I will be contacting Priceline and advising them to downgrade that 3 1/2 star rating.....

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank gunner11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy P, Guest Relations Manager at International Plaza Hotel Toronto Airport, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear gunner11,

We apologize for the very unfortunate experience that you had at the International Plaza Hotel. Our guests’ health and safety is extremely important to us and we focus a great deal of our time and attention on them. We work closely with a professional pest control company to address and correct any pest situation that might occur. We have shared your comments with our staff and promise the situation has been successfully addressed and hope you’ll consider giving us a second chance if you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We took advantage of a Wagjag deal and could not have be happier with our park n fly stay. We were greeted and checked-in very professionally and efficiently. Our Wagjag deal included breakfast, drinks, parking and airport shuttle. We were given vouchers for these at check-in. After check-in we enjoyed our complimentary drinks in the very comfortable lounge while watching sports on the modern TVs. Went back to our room and had a great night sleep. We were not disturbed by any airport noise as others have mentioned. The next morning we presented our vouchers for a delicious breakfast with awesome service. Then heading to the lobby to catch our on-time shuttle to the airport, after grabbing a Starbucks coffee in the lobby. Upon return from our trip, our shuttle was exactly as they said it would be. Parking is right next to the hotel, as opposed to other airport hotels we have stayed that needed a shuttle to parking. We look forward to staying here the next time we fly out of Pearson. The deal far exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lorden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy P, Guest Relations Manager at International Plaza Hotel Toronto Airport, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear lorden,

Your comments about your stay at International Plaza Hotel made me smile. We know it’s the little things that make your stay more comfortable (along with our great location). Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Vacation stay at hotel July 21 - July 26. Found most of the staff friendly and loved that we could have our pet shihtzu, Buster, stay with us. The hotel room was clean and very comfortable; requested room overlooking parking lot and we weren't at all disturbed by the planes. We will stay again when we travel to Toronto.

Leonard and Audrey Frelix
Chicago, Illinois

Room Tip: Planes are less noisy in rooms overlooking parking lot. Would be nice if microwave and refrigerator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy P, Guest Relations Manager at International Plaza Hotel Toronto Airport, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Audrey F,

Thank you for choosing International Plaza Hotel for your stay – we’re happy to hear it was enjoyable! We look forward to welcoming you again to Toronto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Etobicoke
Radisson Suite Hotel Toronto Airport
Etobicoke
Crowne Plaza Toronto Airport
Etobicoke
Sandman Signature Toronto Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Etobicoke
Sheraton Toronto Airport Hotel & Conference Centre
Etobicoke
Holiday Inn Toronto Airport East
Etobicoke
Courtyard Toronto Airport
Courtyard Toronto Airport
#65 of 132 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International Plaza Hotel Toronto Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Plaza Hotel Toronto Airport

Property: International Plaza Hotel Toronto Airport
Address: 655 Dixon Rd, Toronto, Ontario M9W 1J3, Canada (Formerly DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Airport)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Etobicoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Toronto
#23 Spa Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — International Plaza Hotel Toronto Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In early 2017 the hotel will be converting to Delta Hotels Marriott Toronto Airport & Conference Centre! This will come with some spectacular renovations to the lobby, restaurants, public space & of course guestrooms. Enjoy spacious accommodations just minutes from Toronto Pearson International Airport. Offering seamless stays and full-service amenities, our Toronto airport hotel is perfect for productive business trips and relaxing leisure travel, no matter if you are staying a night, a week, or longer.Each of the rooms and suites at our hotel in Toronto are warm, inviting, and outfitted with contemporary comforts. Property-wide complimentary Wi-Fi access and large in-room work stations make staying connected simple, and plush bedding, in-room dining, and flat-panel HD TVs with cable channels make every night relaxing.The Toronto Airport hotel features 60,000 square feet of flexible function space, ideal for business meetings, weddings, conventions and other occasions. Complimentary 24-hour shuttle service makes the five-minute drive to the airport easy, and our onsite fitness and business centres provide all the tools necessary for a seamless stay. The hotel showcases an indoor pool and a large hot tub, along with five onsite dining options - including a full-service Starbucks, Ginko Japanese, Harry's Bar, and Orchid Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your International Plaza Hotel Toronto Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Toronto Airport Hotel Toronto
Doubletree Toronto Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing