We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings about this place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
International Plaza Hotel Toronto Airport
Ranked #86 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
GreenLeadersSilver level
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings about this place”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

First of all, I did not choose to stay here. Our flight was cancelled and the airline put us up here. Naturally we were a little leery on the way to the hotel not knowing what to expect, but when we arrived late at night, we were pleasantly surprised at how nice it looked as we drove onto the lot. The lobby was also spacious and clean. We were greeted by a very friendly person at the front desk who quickly checked us in and gave us our meal allowance from the airline. When we got up to the room, we thought it was nice, but upon closer inspection as we do at every hotel we stay at, we noticed paint is beginning to peel and fade in some spots. Though it was clear that some effort was put into cleaning the room, it just didn't feel as clean as some places we've stayed. I'm not sure if it's because the room is beginning to show it's age or if it's through neglect. Nonetheless we adjusted and made the best of our evening in our room, enjoying a relaxing evening. Because we arrived so late the night before, we decided to skip breakfast and combine our meal allowances together and get a good solid lunch before heading back to the airport. We checked out at 11 a.m. and asked where we could eat. Turns out the night staff, forgot to point out that not only does the lounge not open till 4:30 pm, but more importantly, the cafe closes for lunch! I couldn't believe that. The only option we had was to go to the Starbucks onsite in the hotel. If you've ever eaten there, you'll know that their food is pre-made and where needed, tossed in a microwave. Our thoughts of having a good solid lunch before we left were dashed. And unfortunately we had no other choice but Starbucks because the front desk wouldn't give us the cash for the vouchers so we could eat somewhere else, which we understood. We disagreed with it given the circumstances, but understood. By the way, we didn't feel the day staff were as friendly as the night staff. They weren't rude or anything, It just felt they weren't all that concerned about our predicament as if they've gone through this before. So we loaded up on banana bread, smoothies, coffee, paninis, mints and gum. Some lunch! There was a bright spot however. While we sat in the little area across from Starbucks and ate our "lunch", we watched the Concierge go about his day. He was cheery and friendly to anyone he spoke to, and was very helpful when we asked for assistance with something. It was interesting watching him do his job with obvious pride. A bright spot to a crappy morning. His attitude made me us feel a little better towards the hotel, but didn't make up for the fact their cafe wasn't open for lunch. Overall, it's not a bad place to stay, and with a little bit of renovation, a better focus on guests such as what was shown by the Concierge and a proper restaurant, it could very well turn out to be a nicer place to stay.

Room Tip: Have breakfast in the morning if you're travelling that day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank govboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy P, Guest Relations Manager at International Plaza Hotel Toronto Airport, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear govboy,

Thank you for sharing your stay with us on Trip Advisor. At International Plaza Hotel, we know that how our guestrooms look is very important. Our focus on a great guest experience and reviews like yours have led us to renovate our guestrooms beginning in 2015. We hope that the next time your travels bring you to Toronto you’ll stay with us and tell us what you think about our new guestroom experience.

We hope you’ll be one of the first to enjoy our improvements. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    210
    177
    102
    83
See reviews for
154
188
47
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I stayed here with my family. Close to airport. Harvey's across the street as well as gas station. Decent rooms, average, dated but decent nonetheless. Free shuttle to and from airport runs every 30 mins 24 hours/day!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy P, Guest Relations Manager at International Plaza Hotel Toronto Airport, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Travel s,

Thank you for your positive comments about your recent stay at the International Plaza Hotel.
We hope to see you again soon. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherstburg, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Have stayed here twice now for business. When it was a Hilton it was what you would expect in terms of cleanliness but they seemed to be VERY understaffed. Under new management now and they have enough staff but not well trained. They can communicate with each other but grasp of English or French is poor, resulting in some ridiculous mixups in meal service. Dinners merely adequate. At least they got our drinks right! They were pleasant enough though. Breakfast buffet is excellent and fast. On the plus side, the rooms were very clean, nice, and the pool is beautiful. Also great location for airport access and good shuttle service. Concierge on duty was very helpful and accommodating. Will stay there again for business simply because of the convenience factor. Not bad value for the price.

Room Tip: If you are a plane fanatic the top floor is fabulous for watching takeoff and landing. Can see the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy P, Guest Relations Manager at International Plaza Hotel Toronto Airport, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Donna S,

Thank you for your review of your recent experience at International Plaza Hotel. We’re very sorry that you encountered an unacceptable level of service. We do our best to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. We’ve addressed these issues with our staff and hope that next time you’re in Toronto, you’ll visit us again and experience a higher level of customer service. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel waesnt that bad for its value. It had waterslides, and a nice mall. But the room isn't special in fact I got used cups :( Overall its an on hotel. With a nice mall and swimming area it beats the bad room.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harrison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy P, Guest Relations Manager at International Plaza Hotel Toronto Airport, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Harrison F,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing the International Plaza Hotel. We’re sorry you encountered housekeeping problems. Dirty rooms are not typical at our hotel, and we appreciate that you brought this to our attention. We have discussed this with our staff and will make every effort to be sure our rooms meet the highest housekeeping standards. We look forward to seeing you the next time you travel to Toronto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I was staying for 4 nights at this hotel for a anime covention. So far the hotel looks very nice outside and inside. The pool has a waterslide and it looks cool it's near everything including restaurants I would suggest this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy P, Guest Relations Manager at International Plaza Hotel Toronto Airport, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Nick M,

We’re happy you had a great stay at International Plaza Hotel. Come see us again soon. Safe travels….
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Ok, so this hotel is right in the flight path of a runway. So you're going to be either hearing the sound of an aircraft coming in for a landing or an aircraft taking off. There is no way around this.

The staff at the hotel were extremely friendly. Safe Deposit boxes are available on a first come first serve basis at the front desk. The only good Dim Sum place west of Young Street is called Grand and is located in this hotel. Parking was an additional $14 CAD a night. I wish I had a chance to try out the pool and the water slide. They looked like fun. There is also a Japanese restaurant on premises. I didn't dine at either restaurant, but my traveling companion did try Grand and went again so it's most likely good if you don't want to go out. There are also several restaurants located within walking distance across the street. They try to run the airport shuttle on the half hours with pickup at the airport on the 15 & 45 of the hour but it doesn't always work out.

There was a breakfast buffet package available and I heard good things about the buffet but I didn't do it. I figure only if you get the breakfast voucher upon check-in is it worth doing.

I was on the 5th floor for 8 days. The room it self was roomy, as was the bathroom. The water pressure from the shower was very good but the shower head was a bit low and I'm 5ft 7in. People that are taller might have an issue. The toilet is a standard size toilet. In the room was a coffee maker with tea supplies, and there was an iron and ironing board in the closet.

For a Cheap breakfast option head to the Ikea in Etobicoke. It's a 10 minute rive from the hotel but breakfast is $1 and they offer free coffee if you get there before 10:00AM. Breakfast is served at ikea from 9:30 to 11:00AM everyday but Saturday. They open at 9:00AM on Saturdays so free coffee is from 9:00AM to 9:30AM.

I didn't have any issues with the hotel itself other then it being in the direct flight path of what seemed to be every plane coming in for a landing or taking off depending on which way the wind was blowing.

I'm not sure I would stay in this hotel again knowing what to expect.

Room Tip: Get something in the middle. There is no quiet area of the hotel. Too High you get the airplanes, to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisWish301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy P, Guest Relations Manager at International Plaza Hotel Toronto Airport, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear CWipes,

Thanks for your comments. Your satisfaction is very important to us, and we appreciate your feedback about the airplane noise. Your comments have helped us to improve our guest experience, and we’re now offering earplugs at the front desk. We hope you’ll stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
Level Contributor
57 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

stayed here 2 nights during our 20 night trip , hotel is good and comfortable , rooms and bedding ok , only some noise problems with planes flying over . they gave us a deal for breakfast and parking for $18.00 per person per day . Would stay here again

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank gemo5566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy P, Guest Relations Manager at International Plaza Hotel Toronto Airport, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear gemo5566,

Thank you for sharing your experience during your recent stay at the International Plaza Hotel. Your satisfaction is very important to us, and we appreciate your feedback about the airplane noise. Your
comments have helped us to improve our guest experience, and we’re now offering free earplugs
at the front desk. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Etobicoke
Radisson Suite Hotel Toronto Airport
Etobicoke
Crowne Plaza Toronto Airport
Etobicoke
Holiday Inn Toronto Airport East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Etobicoke
Sandman Signature Toronto Airport Hotel
Etobicoke
Hotel Carlingview Toronto Airport
Etobicoke
Residence Inn Toronto Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International Plaza Hotel Toronto Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Plaza Hotel Toronto Airport

Property: International Plaza Hotel Toronto Airport
Address: 655 Dixon Rd, Toronto, Ontario M9W 1J3, Canada (Formerly DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Airport)
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Etobicoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Toronto
#22 Spa Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — International Plaza Hotel Toronto Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In early 2017 the hotel will be converting to Delta Hotels Marriott Toronto Airport & Conference Centre! This will come with some spectacular renovations to the lobby, restaurants, public space & of course guestrooms. Enjoy spacious accommodations just minutes from Toronto Pearson International Airport. Offering seamless stays and full-service amenities, our Toronto airport hotel is perfect for productive business trips and relaxing leisure travel, no matter if you are staying a night, a week, or longer.Each of the rooms and suites at our hotel in Toronto are warm, inviting, and outfitted with contemporary comforts. Property-wide complimentary Wi-Fi access and large in-room work stations make staying connected simple, and plush bedding, in-room dining, and flat-panel HD TVs with cable channels make every night relaxing.The Toronto Airport hotel features 60,000 square feet of flexible function space, ideal for business meetings, weddings, conventions and other occasions. Complimentary 24-hour shuttle service makes the five-minute drive to the airport easy, and our onsite fitness and business centres provide all the tools necessary for a seamless stay. The hotel showcases an indoor pool and a large hot tub, along with five onsite dining options - including a full-service Starbucks, Ginko Japanese, Harry's Bar, and Orchid Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your International Plaza Hotel Toronto Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Toronto Airport Hotel Toronto
Doubletree Toronto Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing