We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Alexandra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alexandra Hotel
Ranked #96 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Nice, friendly and comfortable.

Located near the China town - about 30 min by walk from city center and Railway station.
A lot of places to eat in the neighborhood.

The room was not very big but with the kitchen and bathroom.
Laundry on the floor.
Very friendly and helpful staff.

Enjoyed the stay. Can recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alexander_StPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe_at_Grange, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2011

We appreciate your recommendation! There are many fine restaurants within walking distance, and our staff is always willing to help people find their way around the city. Glad you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

107 - 113 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2011

Do not be put off by the exterior of this hotel - it is better inside. Not in anyway luxurious but clean & tidy. Our room was quiet spacious, the bathroom was clean & the staff friendly - cant really ask for more for the price.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blondethoughts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe_at_Grange, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2011

Thanks blondethoughts! We try to focus on the basics here - cleanliness, comfort and affordability. Hope you stay again next time you come to Toronto.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

I arrived here after leaving my previous accommodation in disgust. The Alexandra made my feel much better about my stay in Toronto. Location was acceptable (I like to walk) but transport was nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe_at_Grange, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2011

Thank you for the positive review. We hope you stay again next time you are in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

My boyfriend and I originally booked the Grange hotel, but upon arriving we were told that the parking lot was full and that we would have to stay at the Alexandra, about a block and a half away. This seemed fine, as the Grange was across the street from a kind of sketchy area, and the Alexandra is up the street from a theatre and right next to a park. The person in the Lobby was very friendly and we recieved the keys to our room right away. Upon getting to our room - it was pretty standard. There were 2 beds a small kitchenette and a bathroom - very no frills but it suited our needs. The only complaint I would have is that the next morning, my boyfriend found a bug in the bed, that looked like a small beetle. He put it in a cup and went to speak to the manager. Instead he was told to come back at check out and that a manager would deal with it then. When we were checking out my boyfriend spoke to the manager, who told him that the bug was a spider (which is was clearly not) and that that was that. Otherwise the hotel was fine, but because of this experience, I probably wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ScoobCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe_at_Grange, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2011

We do appreciate it when our guests bring up any concerns they have during their stay, and unfortunately during the summer the occasional bug (beetle or spider) does sneak in. We do our best to keep our rooms clean and comfortable and our guests happy, and I'm sorry if we were less than satisfactory in that regard during your stay here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

It's nice. It's a hotel where the focus is on the purpose of your trip. In other words, we were in Toronto to see Toronto, not for a hotel experience. It feels like a former college dormitory (a hospital is situated about one block north...could it have been a residence for nursing students)? I was entertained by the co-ed softball game in the adjacent park one evening, and the men's soccer game the following evening.

Two short blocks to the south you will find Queen St, a major east-west thoroughfare with frequent public transportation, although if you like to walk (we do) you'll find that downtown to, for example, the CN Tower takes only 35-40 minutes. I personally feel one only gets the flavor of a city by walking around, so going to the city center on foot was pleasurable, You can go on one of the sightseeing tours ($35-$45) or get an all-day public transportation pass ($10.00) and a public transportation map and design your own tour. You choose.

One block north (through the park) and you're in Chinatown where we had dinner several times. You might want to purchase fresh fruits and vegetables at the open markets there. Most city-located hotels don't provide a free Continental breakfast...this hotel gives you the opportunity to have breakfast in your room taking advantage of the refridgerator/stove/sink.

Others have commented that the neighborhood makes them a little uneasy but I never felt that way; the parking is free and adequate; we mistakenly failed to lock our car door one day and I was not surprised to find everything untouched.

I was completely satisfied and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: ask for a high south side room to get a good view of the CN tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nfl_reject
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe_at_Grange, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2011

Thanks for the review! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay in Toronto and found the location convenient. The Alexandra Hotel was never a dormitory but it was, at one time, an apartment building. This is why all the units are self-contained and private.

Toronto is a great city for walking, and I always recommend guests check out the area on foot, as some of Toronto's most interesting neighborhoods (Kensington Market, Chinatown, Little Italy, The Annex, etc.) are within walking distance from our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Some prior reviews mentioned that this hotel is in a run-down neighborhood. It's not like that. There is a housing project in a different part of the Alexandra Park block, and the area is ethnic. But the hotel itself is located in a quiet residential part of the block. People walk through the area and it's just fine. It's also convenient with a streetcar stop about 2 minutes away.

There are some non-standard things that were a little bit weird. The hotel used to be some kind of apartment complex, so when I arrived I had to sign a form that said I was not a tenant, just a lodger. They also asked for a credit card imprint as a "deposit." It was either that or $100 in cash, but when I left they gave the credit card slip back so they didn't keep anything.

The room did have a kitchen, complete with some pots and utensils. There was also a refrigerator and microwave. The building and halls were sort of old, and the room itself, including the TV, was old style, but it was clean and quiet. It was comfortable to settle in.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nimrod987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe_at_Grange, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2011

Hello, and thank you for your kind review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay! As a smaller, independent hotel, we try to keep things simple so we can pass on savings to our guests. Larger hotels generally file credit card deposits electronically without informing their guests, but we simply use imprints that are returned to the guest when they check out.

Comfort and cleanliness are our priority, and I'm glad you found the hotel satisfactory in that regard!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

It fit the bill for what I was looking for. It was about a 20 minute walk from where I had to be. There is a park across the street. The room (kitchenette) was clean and it offered me the ability to cook if I wanted to. Close to public transportation. About an hour to the airport (Pearson) at a cost of $2.00 !! The neigborhood is a mix of different types residential homes (apts, duplexs, etc). If I was going back to Toronto I would stay there again

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clinton1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe_at_Grange, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2011

We appreciate the review and hope you stay with us again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Chinatown
Studio 6 Toronto
Studio 6 Toronto
#93 of 137 in Toronto
192 reviews
Chinatown
Super 8 Downtown Toronto
Super 8 Downtown Toronto
#58 of 137 in Toronto
1,538 reviews
Downtown
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Comfort Hotel Downtown
Comfort Hotel Downtown
#75 of 137 in Toronto
493 reviews
Downtown
Filmores Hotel
Filmores Hotel
#104 of 137 in Toronto
26 reviews
Downtown
Comfort Inn City Centre
Comfort Inn City Centre
#81 of 137 in Toronto
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Hotel

Address: 77 Ryerson Ave | at Queen Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5T 2V4, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range: £57 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Alexandra Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Alexandra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing