We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent visit”
Review of Alexandra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alexandra Hotel
Ranked #96 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The staff at Alexandra hotel were very kind and exceptionally accommodating in all our encounters during our brief (1-night) stay. Since we were coming from the States, we didn't have any Canadian currency, and the front desk staff readily provided currency exchange for any amount needed. They also let us store our bags after our night there, so we wouldn't have to lug them around for the whole day before our late evening return back to the States. The facilities were really clean, the location was just on the doorstep of Kensington Market and Chinatown, and physically situated on the very attractive Alexandra Park, which had an incredibly convenient, clean, large outdoor swimming pool open to the public. Definitely would recommend this place to anyone coming to Toronto. Since the room had a kitchenette, would be a great place for longer term renters as well.

For the price, what it is is wonderful. The room had a large desk, a nice view, and was perfectly spacious. Much better experience that what I might have imagined from other reviews on Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank schweek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe M, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Alexandra Hotel. We try our best to provide comfortable stays for travelers on a budget and we really appreciate the positive comments. We are fortunate to be near a park with a public pool, playground, baseball diamond, and (in the winter) two skating rinks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
There are newer reviews for Alexandra Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

81 - 87 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2013

Rooms smell terribly. And I cannot really complain about the cleanness in the room, it just all very old and requiring major renovation or even demolition and building the new hotel at the same spot. Front desk Lady was very dry and she was cutting the conversation and my attempts to ask questions. Maybe they need a more smiles in their service too.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alex_sj_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe M, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Hello, and thanks for taking the time to review the Alexandra Hotel. Though your ratings suggest you found some aspects of our hotel favourable, I would like to apologize for our shortcomings regarding the room. Our staff strives to provide clean and comfortable rooms and obviously we did not succeed during your stay. We likely could have dealt with the issue which may have been related to cooking odours (the rooms do have kitchenettes). We will discuss this review with our Front Desk and cleaning staff to help us avoid complaints such as these.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Four stays in the last fifteen months. This is a converted single room occupancy apartment building.This may not be for rich people or those who require pampering.Yet the staff has been responsive to every single request we(my wife and I) or I made. Think dormitory.Yet the beds are good. Think spartan.Yet there is enough kitchen function to make breakfast,lunch,tea and toast,bedtime snack, chill beer,etc.Think functional minimalist. Yet steady wifi and old school tv with cable. Yes parking is $5 try finding anything less than $25 in downtown TO. No it's not a backpacker hotel and I've NEVER heard them represent themselves as such. I suppose ultimately there is a relative quality to cleanliness but i"m a retired Registered Nurse and nothing came close to setting off my cleanliness radar. Did I mention beautiful Alexandra park with daily morning/evening Tai Chi going on is right out the front door? Check a map. If location counts this place is eleven on a scale of ten.Please check my other Toronto reviews. This somewhat insular Bostonian thinks Toronto is beyond incredible and the Alexandra has become my epicenter.

Room Tip: The basic question is cityside or park side. City side try third floor up for the view. Park side Th...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe M, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel, Thomas! We strive to provide affordable and comfortable stays for visitors and I'm glad you were satisfied with our services. We appreciate the positive comments and hope you keep coming back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

This was officially our worst hotel experience ever. The hotel was dingy with grim with depressing lighting. They charge you for everything. Parking was $5, you could borrow a hairdryer or coffee maker for $10. I felt like a criminal already. overall the hotel would have been fine if it was $40 or $50, but we paid $120, plus $10 deposit, plus $10 tax, enough to stay in a nice b+b. We left feeling grossed out and ripped off.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MNaIIIIa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe M, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We were not made aware of any serious complaints about the lighting or condition of any room so we do appreciate your opinion on the matter. I'm sorry you felt you had a bad experience, but we try to ensure our rates are reasonable and are appropriate for downtown travelers on a budget. Our parking rates are especially low at only $5.00 per day in downtown Toronto. We do not charge for amenities but do require a refundable deposit for some extra items.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

The stay was alright. Each corner of the room had some dust and cobwebs. I also found a piece a of lego and some coins lying around. Bathroom is the cleanest part of the room.

Kitchen was in between clean and dirty although everything was organized.

Price isn't too bad

As a student studying Hotel management, front desk agents shouldn't mention a guest's room number out loud for security purposes

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe M, Guest Relations Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

Thanks for the thorough review! We apologize for the substandard cleaning in the room, though I am pleased it was organized and that you found the bathroom acceptable.

Thank you for the suggestion regarding Front Desk security. The Alexandra Hotel is staffed 24/7 and has a secure front entrance so guests generally feel quite safe here. Our clerks know never give room numbers to others without permission from the guest but it is true they will tell an arriving guest what their room number is so they know where to go. Since that may be a problem for some travelers, I will bring this issue to the attention of management.

Thanks again for taking the time to review our hotel. We hope you stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

My friend and I stayed he when we were in Toronto to see the Blue Jays. The Alexandra was in a great location and was within walking distance to the Rogers Centre, CN Tower, and the fashion district which has a lot of bars, restaurants, and stores. There's even a Taco Bell nearby.

The rooms are very basic. No frills but it's worth it for the location and the price.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gomerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe M, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

Thank you for reviewing the Alexandra. We have a great location for exploring downtown and aim to be an affordable alternative to some of the pricier hotels in the area. There are many restaurants and shops within walking distance (including Taco Bell!). Hope you stay again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Our son needed emergency spinal surgery and we live 2 hours away. I found this hotel on the internet and it is a 5 minute walk from Toronto Western Hospital. We were able to leave our car in the hotel parking lot for only $5.00 per day (a bargain in the city) and we could walk easily back and forth from the hospital and cut through Victoria Park. We felt very safe, even at night. This hotel looks like it used to be a dormitory but it was very clean (could use some bigger, thicker towels). There is even a kitchenette with a fridge, sink, 2 burner stove and microwave. If you want the Hilton, then stay at the Hilton. This hotel is very basic but met our needs and I would recommend it for anyone needing close proximity to the hospital. The staff were very helpful and friendly and I would stay there again.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
7  Thank DT5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe M, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

Hello and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. The Alexandra Hotel is only a few minutes from the Toronto Western Hospital, which is just north of Alexandra Park (not Victoria Park, which is near Scarborough). I'm glad you found it safe and comfortable and we appreciate the recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Chinatown
Studio 6 Toronto
Studio 6 Toronto
#99 of 137 in Toronto
185 reviews
Chinatown
Super 8 Downtown Toronto
Super 8 Downtown Toronto
#62 of 137 in Toronto
1,502 reviews
Downtown
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Filmores Hotel
Filmores Hotel
#111 of 137 in Toronto
23 reviews
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#56 of 137 in Toronto
2,696 reviews
Downtown
Comfort Hotel Downtown
Comfort Hotel Downtown
#78 of 137 in Toronto
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Hotel

Address: 77 Ryerson Ave | at Queen Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5T 2V4, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range: £80 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Alexandra Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alexandra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing