We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware the DMP”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel
Ranked #33 of 138 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The hotel was generally comfortable and convenient. The staff was friendly and certainly wanted to be helpful. That said, they really did not seem to know the neighborhood well and had few suggestions for restaurants and cafes outside of the hotel.

The biggest issue I had was the gratuitous adding of a "DMP" charge to the bill. DMP stands for Destination Marketing Program, which is a voluntary marketing fee that is part of a Toronto tourrism initiative connected with The Greater Toronto Hotel Association; the Marriott has chosen to add this fee onto the bill without explanation. Luckily, I was alerted to this by a prior posting on Trip Advisor. When we saw this on our bill, we asked for it to be removed and that was quickly done, without comment, by the front desk.

Also, as others have noted, the valet parking is very expensive. I would suggest exploring the self-park option that is part of the shopping mall to which the Marriott is attached and which seemed to be very accessible.

Last, Marriott Bloor is considered part of the Yorkville area, about which I had heard many positive things. The hotel is itself, while convenient, is on main thoroughfaret in a commercial area, several blocks from what seems to be the "charming" or "trendy" part of Yorkville.

In sum, the hotel is fine, but not outstanding in any way. Frankly, I expected more.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DCTravelFan100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

675 - 681 of 1,187 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013

Stayed here for our annual "sisters" weekend. Found it very convenient to be right near Yonge Street and very close to the underground. Breakfast was really good and the staff was professional and friendly.
Our room was very spacious and the beds were very comfortable. All and all great base for a weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yvon72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I stayed at this hotel upon the recommendation of a friend, and loved the hotels. The staff was extremely polite and the rooms were clean. Great place! In my humble opinion you can't beat this mixture of great price and awesome service.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Yisroel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

While primarily a business hotel, this is also a very comfortable hotel for holidaymakers. It is not fancy and has few recreational facilities but does the basics well. The buffet breakfast is fine, especially if you can get it included within the tariff. Situated right on the Bloor-Yonge subway station, it is convenient for airport transfer (bus/subway) and downtown. It is at least a 30 minute walk to the harbour.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SilverTravellersUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This was my second time staying at the Marriott Bloor Yorkville and it was fantastic. The location is great for the shopping that's around the hotel which is first class. Be sure to eat at the restaurant in the hotel, it's called Matisse. I had several wonderful meals there during both visits to this hotel.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Jeff1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed for a few nights while in town for Zwanze Day. Valet parking was conveinent. The room was typical of a Marriott, clean, comfortable, and decently equipped. Hotel staff was friendly and accommodating. Loved having the metro rail downstairs, our car never left the parking garage. Would have liked a pool, but other than that, everything was nice. Bed was the most comfortable bed ever.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pjfarr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

My company prepaid my room so I wasn't expecting much. I am only a Silver level Marriott member. When I checked in, Sam Kim treated me like Marriott's most important guest and immediately gave me a free upgrade. I wrote to his boss, Susan Anderson, and received an email back within 15 minutes. This is my second stay here and I really recommend it. Last time I was here, I enjoyed a grilled cheese sandwich with lobster. That's a must-have on the menu.

Room Tip: Here's a travel tip. When you arrive at Toronto Pearson Airport, go down TWO levels. What is lab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank professordoctormom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Midtown
InterContinental Toronto Yorkville
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Midtown
Park Hyatt Toronto
Park Hyatt Toronto
#20 of 138 in Toronto
1,847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel

Address: 90 Bloor Street East, Toronto, Ontario M4W 1A7, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#25 Business Hotel in Toronto
#25 Family Hotel in Toronto
#31 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: £116 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel is a top choice among hotels in Toronto, Canada. Located in the heart of Yorkville, which is Toronto's fashionable downtown area, guests can enjoy shopping, dining, and entertainment in an area known for vibrant shops and venues. Our hotel's location puts you in the middle of it all. You have direct access to the Yonge and Bloor subway too, plus we offer newly renovated guest rooms and beautiful public spaces for relaxing in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Toronto
Toronto Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing