We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Victims of ice storm, Marriott Bloor Yorkville went out of way to make us feel at home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel
Ranked #37 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Victims of ice storm, Marriott Bloor Yorkville went out of way to make us feel at home”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The day after Toronto's devastating ice storm, we checked into the hotel little expecting to be there for the next 8 days. From the moment we arrived, along with others who quickly filled the hotel, the staff were fantastic. They swiftly got us settled in our room where we had a delicious meal. Everyone in the hotel was extremely kind, even though some of them were without homes because of the ice storm. The housekeepers always had a smile on their faces and told us how sorry they were that we were homeless (for the 8 days.) The servers, too, were great, with special mention going to Alix, a Colombian new Canadian who had only good things to say about Canada and its sometimes brutal weather. And she was more than efficient every day. Last word goes to the front desk staff who greeted me in a most friendly way every time I took our dog for a walk.We have since told many of our neighbours, similarly homeless until power was restored, how great this hotel is. We never knew until an ice storm took us to its doors. Sounds like a Christmas parable, and well it might be.

Room Tip: I do not think they need worry about this. Every room we visited was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    462
    167
    41
    36
See reviews for
169
293
90
364
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The staff at the Marriott Bloor Yorkville treated us like royalty. We were immediately impressed upon check-in on how great the customer service is at this hotel. The staff greets you by name after the first interaction. The rooms are spacious and large. Our suite (upgraded as a Platinum member) was as large as a 1 bedroom city apartment with a walk-in closet and a separate living room. The complimentary arrival gift and buffet breakfast was also a treat. We will definitely stay at this Marriott the next time we are in Toronto.

Room Tip: The king suites are really spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dnumgis02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2013

This hotel was a home away from home at a very difficult time for us. Staff welcomed us with our dog and cossetted us all along the way. We had to stay 7 nights because there was no power in our house. If I hadn't been so worried about our house, I would have had a great time; the food was good, rooms very comfortable with terrific beds, the location is great and the staff hard working and friendly. We were so busy checking up with Hydro about getting power that we didn't try the pool or spa; we should have but...that's for next time.

I've never reviewed an hotel before but I'm so thankful for everything this one did for us in our hour of need that I want to thank its staff.

Room Tip: Our room looked onto the courtyard to the north and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
erie, pa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Hotel had fabulous service. Upon check in they offered us a
Free upgrade to the concierge floor. Our room was a king and very clean. Nice products in the bathroom, big room, clean. Front desk was more than helpful when we needed directions etc. Parking for hotel is expensive but there is a parking garage for Hudson's bay company department store connected to the hotel that is only $15 a day on weekends. Also there is a subway connected to the hotel so you don't even have to walk outside. It also connects to some shops and Hudson's bay dept store. Offer breakfast options but not free continental so we went out for
Breakfast. Overall this hotel stay was good and the service made it
Great!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jessjg21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed for two nights on business in Nov. 2013. The hotel is in a convenient location and offers good-sized, clean rooms. Though I wasn't actually paying for it, the $189 a night with free WiFi deal our group was given was quite reasonable (it appears that you normally have to pay daily for WiFi). A business centre in the lobby also provides 30 minutes of free net access and free boarding pass printing.

I didn't try the restaurant or room service, but there are plenty of dining options at all price levels in the area.

The room was spacious with a comfortable king-sized bed. The bathroom seemed recently updated and the shower was just fine.

Overall, a very positive stay with no complaints.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank needadecentmeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

When we arrived around 1 pm, check in was overall OK. Tamara told us she had room for us with double beds and extra towels as requested in internet reservation. When I inquired about upgrade for gold members she said we will need to pay $60, which is odd as the actual principle is that you get it complimentary subject to availability. Then she said suites have only one bed. Well in this situation you can recline sofa bed or have rollaway bed for the child as we were offered many times before but I just did not bother insisting. Hotel was very quiet so they definitely had higher standard rooms they could have given us. Tamara was however very helpful with all other things, including extending check out for 1.5hrs to fit our onwards travel plans. Another reception team member called Michael was also very nice and even helped us with the luggage to the car. House keeping lady was lovely when we requested toiletries for another person (we initially had just 1 bottle of shower gel for family of three). Soon the gentleman arrived with extra towels and was happy to give us bathrobes as well. Breakfast staff was absolutely lovely and nothing was too much for them. There is omlet station with also nice man preparing it. They had cooked tortillas next to scrambled eggs, I have never seen it in European Marriotts! Hotel room was very clean, bathroom with dark wooden shelves felt cosy. It was truly quiet, facing inner part of the hotel, we were on 3rd floor. Sleeping after jet lag was easy. My only complain would be that room was small, much smaller than the one with two double beds in Courtyard Toronto. However this hotel is much cleaner and well worth paying more. Location is perfect, next door to subway station to go to attractions like CN tower. Premium shopping is walking distance. We would definitely return because of pleasant staff and cleanness.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pekao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

In point forms :)

Location:
- is great!
-Located in the heart of the city with subway station there
-Parking is questionable. They didn't clear the snow and ice that was there and cars were sliding all over the place trying to look for parking

Staff:
-Mixed experience
-Check in was great
-Valet was not good
-customer service was poor

Room:
-Spacious for downtown
-View was not bad
-Was very dusty

Out of the norms:
- Building evacuated at around 1am
-No staff guidance or direction
-Even when building was evacuated there were many people in back and side entrances not knowing what to do
-They should develop a better procedure & The alarm was just outside of the room, not inside, no telephone call with automated call to "evacuate"

-People were told to contact manager in the morning... Seriously pissed and unhappy about the entire experience. Did not appreciate being woken up at 1am to go down over 6 flights of stairs and then told it was a false alarm... after going from parking garage "emergency exit" to walk outside to goto lobby to see what happened.

Room Tip: -Make sure your air vent is working, we couldn't change the temperature or turn the fan on -Mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurier14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Midtown
InterContinental Toronto Yorkville
Midtown
Park Hyatt Toronto
Park Hyatt Toronto
#15 of 132 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
Downtown
Windsor Arms Hotel
Windsor Arms Hotel
#39 of 132 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville
Downtown
Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel

Property: Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel
Address: 90 Bloor Street East, Toronto, Ontario M4W 1A7, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Toronto
#26 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#31 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#35 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville is a top choice among Yorkville hotels, located in the heart of Yorkville, which is Toronto's fashionable downtown area. In Yorkville, guests can enjoy shopping, dining, and entertainment in an area known for vibrant shops and venues. Our Yorkville hotel's location puts you in the middle of it all. You have direct access to the Yonge and Bloor subway too, plus we offer newly renovated guest rooms and beautiful public spaces for relaxing in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Marriott, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Toronto
Toronto Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing