We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bare-bones small room, clean+new shared bathroom, light-filled dining hall”

Victoria University
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Toronto
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Victoria University
Ranked #37 of 101 Speciality Lodging in Toronto
Ottawa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bare-bones small room, clean+new shared bathroom, light-filled dining hall”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Stayed here 1 night while visiting our son. Tiny room, comfortable twin beds, view of quad with lit Christmas tree and stained glass windows in opposite building. Quiet. Strange to be the only people over 30 (well over 30!) in the dining hall at breakfast. We will go back though, great location on campus and close to TTC.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

10 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    4
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
1
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

First time stay at Burwash B&B. Stayed 1 wk. Great value. Great location. Had room on second floor in Burwash Hall. Check-in & parking pass a little complicated but doable. Very modest room. Clean, quiet. 4 units on floor. 2 washrooms w showers on floor were shared & co-ed, but very nicely renovated. Too bad a messy guest was there that week. Fresh towels daily, sheet change weekly. Nice cleaning staff. Walk up several flights of stairs ok if you don't have heavy luggage. My window overlooked loading area behind building, but had nice view across to Vic courtyard. Internet service incl., bring your own ethernet cable. Had phone in room for local / or int'l calling card calls out, but no calls in. Breakfast/brunch incl. in dining hall downstairs. Very enjoyable. Great coffee. Polite, helpful people at front desk & in dining hall. Polite, friendly atmosphere. Parking underground in Rowell Jackman Hall next door was $19.00 / 24 hrs. I was there during semester & it was quiet! Beautiful campus.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Stayed 2 nights. It felt like more.

Bed was average. No electrical outlets that I could find in the room.

Bathroom was not great. It was clean the first time I went in, but by late at night it looked as though the whole Russian Army had been through it.

I guess you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Toronto hotels

Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

The location cannot be beat - a stone's throw from a subway entrance and walking distance to all types of shopping, the UofT campus is ideal if you don't need to drive in Toronto. And, of course, it's a residence! I expected the bathroom down the hall, communal kitchen and laundry, and storage facilities (all of which were well maintained, easily accessible, and very clean). I didn't expect construction blocking access to the facilities and the lack of wifi (unless you can use EduRoam). After paying $10 for an Ethernet card and spending hours updating my laptop (which has never had a problem connecting to other LANs) I finally gave up and used public wifi at coffee shops and restaurants. Also didn't expect to have to bring my own hair dryer (no hand dryers in the bathrooms) and the room was very cold - pack layers if you are traveling in the summer. Another plus, however, was the excellent breakfast in a stunning dining hall across the street.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights and am going back next month. Rooms are available from May - August. Basic room with a single bed, a desk, a closet, bookcase & a window. Kitchen had a microwave & kettle. You'll need to bring a plate, cup & cutlery (or pick them up at a fast food outlet). TV room was available and free local calls. Bathroom is down the hall. If taking VIA Rail, take University subway line from Union Station & get off at MUSEUM stop. The Royal Ontario Museum (ROM) is to the west & 1 block east is the residence. Secure entry & the front desk is very accommodating. Luggage room is available.

Room Tip: Men's & women's washrooms are on opposite ends of a long hall. You might want to have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2008

This was our 3rd stay here at Victoria and we were pleased with the place,We got to stay in Burwash residence (south hall)this time and for $60 canadian for a single room with a/c and a cooked breakfast too! clean comfortouble,and safe,rooms with a very nice maid on each floor.At breakfast eat your hot food first has it soon goes cold.

  • Liked — The Price
  • Disliked — The food at breakfast went cold fast (Maybe have hot plates)
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2007

This is a great way to stay in downtown Toronto for a reasonable price. Not for you if you want a hotel with all the amenities, but for price and location it can't be beat.

We stay at least once a year.
Generous buffet breakfast in Hogwarts-like building (from the outside) (if you know your Harry Potter) is included. Also access to kitchenette if you come prepared (you might need a pot and dishes, for instance).
Student residence accommodation (shared bathroom, not terribly comfortable beds) in older part of BEAUTIFUL University of Toronto campus. Really nice if you get into the older residence building but the newer one is ok too. Stone building opening on a treed grassy enclosure. LOVE IT.
Guests from around the world. All well-behaved (never once had any complaints about noise).

And you're right downtown. Several museums, bookstores, restaurants, within walking distance in one direction and strip bars within walking distance in the other direction - what more could you want?!

Stayed July 2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville
Midtown
InterContinental Toronto Yorkville
Midtown
Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Windsor Arms Hotel
Windsor Arms Hotel
#39 of 136 in Toronto
342 reviews
Midtown
No photo provided
Signatures on Bloor
#87 of 136 in Toronto
4 reviews
Midtown
Park Hyatt Toronto
Park Hyatt Toronto
#19 of 136 in Toronto
1,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Victoria University

Property: Victoria University
Address: 140 Charles St W, Toronto, Ontario M5S 1K9, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 101 Speciality Lodging in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 700

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing