We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As expected” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Victoria University

Victoria University
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Toronto
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Victoria University
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“As expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stayed there for three nights in August.
It is a great value, clean, very well located, with breakfast included but although they provide hotel-like services (reception 24/7, beds made every day), this is basically student rooms that are rented during the summer. So it's mean that rooms are rather austere, the linens are not top-shelf, and the bathrooms are shared (they were cleaned every day).
If you are ok with that, then go for it, but if your looking for a true hotel, then I don't think this place is for you.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philippe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    4
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
1
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
ottawa,on
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

I see the positive reviews for Victoria college and I must post a warning to ensure that you know what building you are staying in. I checked in at 140 Charles street, a nice building, and was then told to go to Rothwell Jackman residence.

This building is 20 years old and looks un renovated. There is no front desk or room telephone. I entered by swipe key and went up to 6 th floor to end of the hall. I saw no one and heard no one. Again used swipe to get in to common area. My "room" was accessed by a key. It was tiny with a single bed, no phone, no TV. The blanket was thin and ratty, sheets were OK but mattress had crumbs on it. The window took 5 minutes to open as latches were old. It was unclear to me whether 2 other rooms off common area would be rented as well but it seemed deserted.

As a solo female traveller I would not have slept a wink. I felt very isolated and unsafe and would have froze with the thin blanket. I went back to front desk and said it was unsuitable. He had nothing else to offer me and said I would be charged for a night if I left. After 15 minutes he decided to give me a refund and I left!

I have slept in dorms before. This one was advertised as clean and comfortable but it did not feel like that to me. Also, the fact that you sign on admission that you recognize your valuables may be stolen and they are not liable increases the feeling of an unsecure building. Cost was 70$ so not low but not insignificant.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank jensuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Toronto hotels

Ottawa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Stayed here 1 night while visiting our son. Tiny room, comfortable twin beds, view of quad with lit Christmas tree and stained glass windows in opposite building. Quiet. Strange to be the only people over 30 (well over 30!) in the dining hall at breakfast. We will go back though, great location on campus and close to TTC.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmm57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

First time stay at Burwash B&B. Stayed 1 wk. Great value. Great location. Had room on second floor in Burwash Hall. Check-in & parking pass a little complicated but doable. Very modest room. Clean, quiet. 4 units on floor. 2 washrooms w showers on floor were shared & co-ed, but very nicely renovated. Too bad a messy guest was there that week. Fresh towels daily, sheet change weekly. Nice cleaning staff. Walk up several flights of stairs ok if you don't have heavy luggage. My window overlooked loading area behind building, but had nice view across to Vic courtyard. Internet service incl., bring your own ethernet cable. Had phone in room for local / or int'l calling card calls out, but no calls in. Breakfast/brunch incl. in dining hall downstairs. Very enjoyable. Great coffee. Polite, helpful people at front desk & in dining hall. Polite, friendly atmosphere. Parking underground in Rowell Jackman Hall next door was $19.00 / 24 hrs. I was there during semester & it was quiet! Beautiful campus.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

Stayed 2 nights. It felt like more.

Bed was average. No electrical outlets that I could find in the room.

Bathroom was not great. It was clean the first time I went in, but by late at night it looked as though the whole Russian Army had been through it.

I guess you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NeilGrindal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

The location cannot be beat - a stone's throw from a subway entrance and walking distance to all types of shopping, the UofT campus is ideal if you don't need to drive in Toronto. And, of course, it's a residence! I expected the bathroom down the hall, communal kitchen and laundry, and storage facilities (all of which were well maintained, easily accessible, and very clean). I didn't expect construction blocking access to the facilities and the lack of wifi (unless you can use EduRoam). After paying $10 for an Ethernet card and spending hours updating my laptop (which has never had a problem connecting to other LANs) I finally gave up and used public wifi at coffee shops and restaurants. Also didn't expect to have to bring my own hair dryer (no hand dryers in the bathrooms) and the room was very cold - pack layers if you are traveling in the summer. Another plus, however, was the excellent breakfast in a stunning dining hall across the street.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amburr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Ontario
Level Contributor
82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights and am going back next month. Rooms are available from May - August. Basic room with a single bed, a desk, a closet, bookcase & a window. Kitchen had a microwave & kettle. You'll need to bring a plate, cup & cutlery (or pick them up at a fast food outlet). TV room was available and free local calls. Bathroom is down the hall. If taking VIA Rail, take University subway line from Union Station & get off at MUSEUM stop. The Royal Ontario Museum (ROM) is to the west & 1 block east is the residence. Secure entry & the front desk is very accommodating. Luggage room is available.

Room Tip: Men's & women's washrooms are on opposite ends of a long hall. You might want to have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlondon7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Wellesley Manor Boutique Hotel
Midtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville
Midtown
InterContinental Toronto Yorkville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
No photo provided
Signatures on Bloor
#87 of 132 in Toronto
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Midtown
Windsor Arms Hotel
Windsor Arms Hotel
#38 of 132 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Midtown
Park Hyatt Toronto
Park Hyatt Toronto
#14 of 132 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria University

Property: Victoria University
Address: 140 Charles St. W., Toronto, Ontario M5S 1K9, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 96 Speciality Lodging in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 700

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing