We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year's Eve Service Unorganized & SLOW - DISAPPOINTING”
Review of Corner House - CLOSED

Corner House
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Transit: We are at Dupont Subway (just below Casa Loma) a four minute walk from subway.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“New Year's Eve Service Unorganized & SLOW - DISAPPOINTING”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We are regulars to the Corner House. We have spent many New Year's Eve celebrations at the Corner House. This year, the service was unorganized and very slow. We likely will not go back.

Outside was COLD. You have to wait in the front door, which interferes with the wait staff. Wee waited downstairs in the front doorway for 10 minutes. Then were moved upstairs where we have to wait in a narrow hallway outside the bathroom door for over 15 minutes. We were finally moved to an empty table for 2 (but not the table originally assigned and the reason for our wait). This could have happened sooner.

Each course for a price fix and limited menu took way too long to arrive at the table. The time lapse between the salad and the entree was over 30 minutes. The wait between ordering dessert and its arrival was over 25 minutes.

While the food is good - the service was disappointing. We did not see our more regular servers that night. They did not appear to be short staffed.

This restaurant is not in a great location for people visiting Toronto, but is close to homes. As a nearby homeowner, Corner House is a nice walk. But, there are many great restaurants in Toronto - I can pick one that will leave a better impression of my evening.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CyndeeCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    22
    6
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Southport, CT
Level Contributor
430 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Excellent neighborhood restaurant with great range”
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

We went over holidays and had a great meal- excellent beet salad and arugula salad. Grilled calamari was tender and nicely seasoned. Delicious black cod and halibut. Rice and risotto were well done. Recommend the chocolate cheesecake in phyllo as a different take or the traditional apple streusel.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank elaine3Southport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
“Disappointing from start to finish”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We booked a table for 5 on a Saturday night in late 2013. Inattentive service was made worse by long delays: we waited an hour for appetizers and almost as long again for mains. When the entrees arrived, one dish was missing -- and it was another 15 minutes before that showed up.

The food itself was okay. The appetizers were tasty -- if overdue -- and the mains went down fairly well apart from the delayed elk striploin, which was cooked in such a rush that it was practically raw (it was accompanied by risotto that was simply too salty).

The main problem is the service. The head waitress was quick to offer wine when one of our mains failed to appear, but otherwise appeared to be quite terrified. We explained very politely that we were disappointed with the service, to which she replied "We're busy," as if that makes everything okay. If you can't handle a full house, maybe you should reduce the capacity? That would certainly help to alleviate the cramped feeling that engulfs you as you enter.

Overall, I would not recommend this place. The prices are extraordinary for the quality of the food and the level of service. Seems to be ripe candidate for a show like "Ramsay's Kitchen Nightmares", the goal being to reduce prices and establish some common sense among the wait staff.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple, Canada
Level Contributor
345 reviews
244 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Quaint location with great food”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The house is an interesting location right behind Casa Loma. Michelle is a wonderful hostess and owner. The top floor can be warm but she quickly adjusted the heat to a cooler more comfortable temperature. Starting with mushroom puree and a beet salad we were already very happy. Both were tasty. The portions were larger then needed but excellent. Next came rack of lamb which was a nice portion and again very tasty.

Ordering from the Late Harvest Game menu I had elk striploin which was FANTASTIC. accompanied with vegetables, including the best brussel sprouts ever, and I don't like brussel sprouts, and excellent mushroom risotto, this was the perfect choice.

For dessert we had French macarons (WOW) and sticky toffee pudding (WOW again).

Definitely a keeper and good location for visitors to Toronto.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Airsucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
425 reviews
295 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“A good place to return to”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We celebrated my mother's 90th birthday here last year and recently she passed away so it was hard to return to The Corner House. Yet winter or summer ( when we held her party) the restaurant holds a a special charm, a warmth not only in the rooms but from the owners. And the food as it was at my mother's party is still excellent.
Last night, sitting by the window at table 13, we relaxed with friends. We started with calamari and the argula salad: all delicious and not overly sauced. My main was a wonder. It was black cod , wonderfully moist and coupled with rice, bok choi,and mushrooms in a light soy sauce. I noticed that the lamb chops on my friend's plate were devoured to the bone and my husband enjoyed his duck, however stating there were a few too many tastes for his liking to slightly confound the strong taste of the duck. Where I really enjoy the co-mingling of flavours,I think he is more of a purist, wanting the duck to be the main actor on the plate.
Desert was a delicious molton chocolate cake accompanied by stewed cherries. Not overly sweet, the combination was again for me perfect. And the petite merlo a great accompaniment that supported mains and deserts.
There is good reason that The Corner House is well booked on Saturday night. Although it was not my mother's party last night, it felt as if all the people there were past of a special evening.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank unhappytraveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Corner House also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing