We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved every minute of it”
Review of Toronto Zoo

Toronto Zoo
Ranked #49 of 502 things to do in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Toronto Zoo is a living centre for education and science, committed to providing compelling guest experiences and inspiring passion to protect wildlife and habitats. Did you know that your admission into Canada's premier Zoo helps support the over 5,000 animals? In addition to having award-winning outdoor and indoor exhibits, education programs, special events, daily Keeper Talks and the Discovery Zone*, the Toronto Zoo is home to Canada's only giant pandas! Don't forget to visit with Da Mao, Er Shun and her dynamic cubs-Jia Panpan and Jia Yeuyeu-before they depart March 2018. NEW at the Toronto Zoo, visitors can now see our state-of the-art Wildlife Health Centre*. This new facility is the first of its kind in Canada and further enhances the Toronto Zoo as a centre of excellence in high-quality animal care through veterinary and reproductive sciences, nutritional physiology, and conservation and wildlife research.Exclusive to our Zoomobile tour, you can now see first-hand a glimpse into the work we do behind-the-scenes. Your Zoomobile ride-all-day wristband* or Membership Card gives you access to a viewing gallery featuring the following rooms: Diagnostic Imaging, Treatment, Surgery, Clinical Lab and Endocrinology Lab. *not included in Zoo Admission, additional fee applies. To help plan your day please visit our website and we look forward to seeing you very soon! *Seasonal schedules apply. Special events subject to change without notice.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 28 June 2018

We had an amazing time at the zoo. There is a lot of walking involved so I would recommend bringing comfortable shoes. A tour on a train is also available but we didn't avail of this. This attraction appeals to people of all ages.

1  Thank SusanOC2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,596)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"panda exhibit"
in 174 reviews
"polar bear"
in 144 reviews
"baby pandas"
in 103 reviews
"canadian domain"
in 82 reviews
"animal enclosures"
in 39 reviews
"splash pad"
in 124 reviews
"walking shoes"
in 63 reviews
"wear comfortable shoes"
in 63 reviews
"on display"
in 70 reviews
"lions"
in 185 reviews
"exhibits"
in 544 reviews
"camel"
in 85 reviews
"tundra"
in 38 reviews
"wagon"
in 73 reviews
"stroller"
in 205 reviews
"tiger"
in 101 reviews
"beaver"
in 38 reviews
Filter

174 - 178 of 4,596 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2018

A great way to spend an entire day but be prepared for lots of walking as the grounds are really spread out. It would be better to pick a cool day so fall or spring would be more ideal. It has to be rated among the best internationally with the animals in almost natural habitat. The only other zoo that i have visited that compares is the San Diego Zoo in California which for years was the no.1 in the world. A season pass might be a good idea as seeing everything in a full day is too much of a rush, especially with young children.

Thank Andre F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

Our son loves to visit the zoo. As far as caged animals go, the Toronto Zoo is decent. Enclosures are sizeable and animals seem to be in good health. I’d rather see animals in the wild, but I get that zoos have their place.

Thank SharenBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

Honestly, I have not seen a better zoo! Sooo huge and full of different kinds of animals from all over the world. The best experience for a kid!!! So interesting and impressive!!!

Thank ZapCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2018

The zoo is great. I have two kids (age 2) and recently bought an annual pass, along with a parking pass. If you're going to go more than a handful of times in a year then an annual pass with parking is totally worth it. It also means I don't feel like have to do too much in a single visit with small kids! The zoo is very stroller friendly. There's a great kids area near the entrance with a splash pad and kids play area. You can take food, drinks in with you. You'll do lots of walking and you'll be in the shade sometimes, but also will be hit with the sun hard on hot days - take hats, sunscreen etc. There's lots of parking - I've never had an issue. If you want to see it all give yourself the day to really enjoy it.

Some things to note - The parking pass is $60 (versus $12 per visit). You don't need a pass on the way in so you can get there and buy the pass from the service desk. For annual parking passes you "tap and go" on the way out. If you insert it by mistake you won't get it back and you'll need to buy a replacement for $10. My understanding is that the annual parking pass runs in line with your annual entrance pass - it will expire the same time your entrance pass expires, even if you buy it a few weeks after. Keep in mind that kids under 3 are free, and the age is taken at the time you purchase the pass. If they turn 3 during the period you have a pass, then they will still get in for free for until the pass expires. So, if you get a pass on Jun 24, 2018 while your child is 2, and they turn 3 on Jun 25, your child will be able to get in for free until Jun 24 2019 when you have to renew. Adults are named on the entrance pass, and you have to show ID with your pass when you enter.

1  Thank foreverblended
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Toronto Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Toronto Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing