We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an interesting glimpse into 1 family home”
Review of Spadina Museum

Spadina Museum
Ranked #58 of 505 things to do in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The years between the two Great Wars, when Toronto experienced increased immigration, the vote for women, the stock market crash, prohibition and the introduction of public health and welfare. It's also the time of the Charleston craze, tabloid journalism, new technology and more. And it can all be seen, heard, felt and lived at Spadina Museum - Toronto's only museum to represent the 1920s and 30s, a transformative period that dramatically changed the City. For over a century, Spadina was home to three generations of the Austin family. Opened in 1984, it is one of 10 historic sites operated by the City of Toronto. Spadina Museum completed an extensive interior restoration in 2010, bringing the house back into the twentieth century. Visitors may view what the house looked like during those years through artifacts, furnishings and reproduced and original decor or explore the estate's six acres of restored 1905 gardens. Today, Spadina Museum interprets the interwar period through a rich slate of guided tours, school programs, special events, changing exhibits, lectures and workshops. Spadina Museum is one of 10 historic museums operated by the City of Toronto. Toronto's Historic Sites engage visitors, inspire passion, challenge ideas and connect the past to the present.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
208 reviews
115 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“an interesting glimpse into 1 family home”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

First tour of the day and our guide was very patient with the numerous questions asked (guilty). I like to explore the history beyond a standard patter, as did others in the group and our guide was knowledgeable and accommodating You do see the 3rd floor, you do not see what are likely the best architectural spaces there. Lots of period detail, some foundation work in the basement if you're interested, much that has been 'preserved' rather than restored, and that is usually a good thing - it is here. Worth the hour or two. If you plan to do this and Casa Loma in one day, you are pushing it. Better this and perhaps later that day Campbell or Mackhenzie houses.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank scott r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    81
    18
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
313 reviews
169 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“The Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Casa Loma gets all the attention but if you want a real treat go next door to the Spadina (spadeena) House. The experience is more authentic and personalized since you are on a guided tour.

The house is larger than it appears. There are a few stairs to climb but if Doug is guiding you then you almost don't notice them.

The story of this house/family is quite different than the one at the castle. It really helps put Toronto history in perspective.

The garden is much simpler but feels more alive. The staff are more than happy to answer questions about what they grow and what they do with what they grow.

Two more things. The homemade chocolate chip cookies are yummy and Doug really likes it if you know how to play a piano.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank grrprr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandria
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Had been several years ago and wanted to visit again. You get taken round by a guide and are told all about the house and family. It is very interesting and the lady who took us was lovely and very informative and made it so interesting. She listened to us as well which was nice. It was like being taken by a friend. It is a beautiful house and would recommend a visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank moigor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An afternoon at Aunt Jo's house!”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Okay, if you're a fan of Canada's favorite red head, Anne Shirley, then you HAVE to make Spadina House on your list of must-see Toronto locations! Spadina House was used in the 1980's Anne of Green Gables movies as the setting of Diana's wealthy Aunt Jo's house. I knew this home was in Toronto but had completely forgotten when my friends and I were vacationing in Toronto in March. We'd decided to see Casa Loma, which is right across the street, and I just happened to turn around at there this beauty was! I was ecstatic. Not only is it an iconic home from the movies, but it's a charming Victorian home that is worth a stroll through the garden to see.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Worth a visit after casa loma”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I went to see the house as I was passing after visiting casa loma, I wouldn't go especially to see it. I got in for free as it was Open Doors.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank IrishTraveller0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spadina Museum also viewed

 

Been to Spadina Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing