We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best libraries..”

Toronto Public Library
Ranked #13 of 507 things to do in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This beautiful building contains a dramatic interior complete with pool and waterfall.
Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“One of the best libraries..”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The Toronto Reference Library on Yonge is by far one of the best libraries I've visited. As a book-lover I've seen a lot and this only comes 2nd to New York Public Library.

The architecture is breathtaking and it's modern, open style makes it easy to navigate and find what you're looking for. The staff are always friendly and I was able to sign-up easily. A great little used bookstore is located on the ground floor and filled with bargain after bargain! A regularly changing exhibit is also featured on ground floor, with the Toronto music scene my favourite.

Balzac's coffee is served at the entrance, with it serving some of the best coffee in Toronto. It's the perfect place to relax with a book and coffee or to catch up with friends.

The Toronto Reference Library is an excellent place for locals and tourists alike!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank RowMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    449
    159
    12
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Joao Pessoa, PB
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good environment”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

If you like reading books or appreciate architecture shapes, you should visit the Toronto Public Library.
Ask for a coffee and seat for a good reading

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank renanfreirebr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great service for locals”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The best service the library offers in online reservations so you can browse books, DVDs and CDs in the comfort of your living room, request the items be delivered to the branch most convenient for you (consider parking if you are just running in to grab your items) - and they call or email you when the items arrive - you can renew online and usually return to any branch (some new releases must be returned to branch where you got them).

It really is all you can ask for!

The one service the library is NOT good at is renewing library cards - mine always expires on a random date when I am trying to reserve something online - totally frustrating every time it happens - I suggest every year that they put a note on my file or send me an email (which they can do when my requested books arrive) a month ahead of expiry to give me a heads up... has not happened yet!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank 334Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Toronto Reference Library”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is a 6-storey library on Yonge Street north of Bloor Street (at Cumberland). You can spend hours in here. excellent subway access. Lots of little shops, restaurants at Yorkville walking west toward Avenue Road.
D & S
Toronto

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank D and S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Free wifi for everyone”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Of course, there are books and all the usual library things! Browse their travel collections. Some are travel destinations - for example, the Sherlock Holmes room at Toronto Reference Library; the Merril Collection of Science Fiction and Fantasy; the children's areas.

Most visitors will most appreciate the free wifi, available at all branches. No library card needed. Wherever you are in the city, you are sure to be near a public library branch.
http://www.torontopubliclibrary.ca/using-the-library/computer-services/wireless/

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Francestravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Toronto Public Library also viewed

 

Been to Toronto Public Library? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing