We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, very pet-friendly!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites
Ranked #76 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place, very pet-friendly!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Exceeded our expectations. It was a great value. Comfort and quality. Not right in downtown but close enough, only a few minutes drive. Great location, close to parks and friendly staff! A plus is it was very pet-friendly. Our dog loved it here. Would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevipor, General Manager at Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear Susan,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience and I am so happy to hear we were a fit for your family and your dog. As a pet friendly hotel we pride ourselves on meeting this growing travel trend where families are travelling with their beloved pets.

We look forward to being of service to you, your family and your dog on a future visit to Toronto.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    243
    197
    102
    107
See reviews for
217
188
54
220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed in this hotel as it was very handy to where we needed to be in uptown Toronto. The price was very reasonable and we were assigned a large room on the third floor with two double beds.
Overall we were pleased with our room, it was larger than some we have stayed in recently, very clean and was supplied with the normal equipment and supplies you would expect in a large city hotel.
What could do with updating is the old style TV and the individual room wall air conditioner that sounded like jet taking off when it was switched on.
The room also had plenty of room for a couch or an easy chair but was only equipped with a solitary dining room style chair in the corner and a desk chair so there was no place to actually sit and relax other than sitting on the bed.
Reception and check in was fast and friendly. the lobby, public areas and pools were attractive and well maintained.
It wasn't very busy when we were there. I would suggest that it would appeal more to a business traveller as it is surrounded by offices and large company buildings. Although access by car to Toronto is not too far, there are many hotels closer to the city centre where most of the attractions are.
Overall price performance was good and we would stay here again if we had need to be in this area of the city.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBH44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed here again after visiting last summer and being very impressed. Still enjoyed our stay this year but noticed a few things that could be improved upon.
The lobby is beautiful and clean and overlooks the gorgeous outdoor pool. Check-in was quick and efficient. The front desk staff were helpful in meeting our room preferences.
Our room was on the 4th floor (434), and immediately upon entering the elevators we noticed the floor was sticky and very dirty. The tile area outside the 4th floor elevators was also very dirty and we noted a few specific spills. We checked in on a Sunday, so we just figured it was a busy Saturday night and they just hadn't gotten to it yet. As our two night stay went on, we continued to pass over the foyer and elevator floors, noticing that they did not get cleaned even once, and still had not been cleaned as of Tuesday at noon checkout.
We were happy with our room, it was clean and spacious and overlooked the ravine. The bed was very comfortable. The a/c unit worked well. The one chair on the balcony could have used a wipe. I had to put a towel on it to sit.
Had breakfast at the buffet in the lobby restaurant, it was quite good and the staff were very friendly and helpful.
The outdoor pool was very clean, however many of the loungers were in pretty bad shape. Also, there was a big pile of furniture on the deck which detracted from the nice surroundings. Strong smell of chlorine at the indoor pool but otherwise it was clean.
I still feel that this hotel is a good value for the price we paid. It's in a great location with easy access to highways yet without feeling like you are in the city. I hope they will keep the standards of cleanliness high in all areas, not just the lobby.

Room Tip: Choose a renovated room overlooking the ravine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hipfanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Room was quite small and uncomfortable. Sofa chair did not have armrests. The desk chair was too big for the desk. No vanity area. Liked the heated floor in washroom. Very expensive room service. But then everything in Toronto is expensive. Great location to quickly go anywhere. Have to pay for parking, which should be included if you're getting a room. Oh walls are like hallow, can hear every door shut... Pets allowed!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank FrauHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

To start, this hotel would not accept a reservation without payment in full so we resorted to using a booking website instead. Check in was slow even though not busy, and $11.50 for parking made the entire stay too expensive for what we got. Room had no working air conditioner, and the only way to get another room was to pay $50 more for an upgrade. Even then the bathroom was so small that it was impossible to dry off without banging walls and fixtures. The phones did not work properly, incoming calls could not be connected to the room
Service at dinner was good but food very mediocre. Service at breakfast was rude and unfriendly and the buffet was $16.00, way too expensive for what it was. Even the coffee was weak and cool.
We would not consider using this hotel again in spite of convenient location.
It seems that the hotel caters to tour groups who have no opportunity to look elswhere

Room Tip: find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Reidatwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My nephew and his family came from the States to visit. We decided to get a room for them at this hotel and went in person to book it with 1 double beds and 2 cots. When they arrived, my nephew & I went to the hotel to check-in while the rest of the family visited at my home. The staff were pleasant at check-in. We were surprised to discover an $11/day parking fee. The room was neat and clean but there were not cots. We reminded the front desk of this and returned to my home. Later, after supper my nephew & family returned to the hotel about 9pm. The cots were still not there. They called the front desk and 2 cots were promptly delivered. However there was only full bedding for one cot. They adapted with the bed covers from their bed rather than wait for more bedding. They also noticed 2 spiders walking around that night. The hotel was peaceful and quiet and all had a good sleep. In the morning a 3rd spider was noticed. Upon checkout, the Desk Manager asked about our stay. Upon explaining the situation, he immediately offered the cancel the $11 parking fee. Further discussion resulted in a 10% room fee discount. While we did not use the restaurant, it was open in the evening and looked quite pleasant. In summary, they had a good night's sleep after some minor inconveniences, but certainly things could have been better. They have indicated they would return but not enthusiastically.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScubaPhil1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

UMESH is what makes Don Valley, yes a majority of the staff is pleasant but he is the best. Umesh was always helpful with directions, finding us a place to change currency and taking care of the issues when they arose. And a few issues did arise.

Room - Our room was an upgraded room which was great. Pay the fee for the upgraded although this should be the standard room since it is a bit of distance from downtown. You don't want to stay this far out and stay in the standard room as you will be upset.
HEATED FLOOR WAS AMAZING. I have heel spurs and this helped so much getting up in the morning. Loved this so much I want to renovate my own bathroom.
We had an issue with our TV not working consistently and maintenance was there delivering our fridge and he fixed the issue. Fridge is an extra charge but was necessary for us to have.

Pool:
Pool was great unless you wanted for a drink. One waiter is is extremely unpleasant to deal with makes you want to just be thirsty. Downfall to pool. You can't bring your own drink or snack to the pool area as the hotel is focused on making money on the restaurant area. They should let go of that policy as it changes your experience. You have already spent enough money so if you want to bring your own drink or bag of chips you should be able to as long as you clean up your mess. Another issue we experienced they had a private party that took over the ENTIRE LOBBY and Pool area dressed in corporate attire. My partner was told that she had to be out of the actual pool by 11am but she could stay in the pool area. Well as the people crowded her she was dressed in her bathing suit it just didn't make it comfortable to lay out. Additionally all of the lounging out chairs were removed.

Parking:
FYI - Parking is an additional fee so factor that when picking your hotel.

Transportation to downtown:

Umesh provided us with great directions to travel to downtown and even gave us a written up document the hotel has. The commute to downtown was SO EASY and quick. We took the bus on the same side of the hotel to the last stop on the bus and was quickly able to get the subway from there for the same 3 bucks we had paid on the bus as they give you a transfer. Max time either day was 30 mins. We had rental cars but it was so much easier doing that and we were able to drink.

Local things around Don Valley:

Hotel has a a Canadian Super Store very close by which has loads of stuff. For those traditional US Folks there is also a Walmart around 3km away. A great mall is also very near the hotel to get your shopping fix out the way. TIP FOR THE MALL - Have Canadian money or use your credit card.

Tim Hortons was very convenient and within walking distance to the hotel for your coffee and muffins.

Hotel Restaurant - food was ok. We had an issue with the waiter who honestly told us that if we didn't get rid of our outside drinks he would take them from us. I'm sorry but that little dude made me want to punch him in the face for that kind of rudeness. I told him that he was not taking anything from anyone and he needed to learn how to speak to people. Then he began to say that I won't be back over here until you are done and walked away. Same time Manager Lisa and Umesh walked by and asked if we were ok. We immediately told him what the waiter informed us. The restaurant is a bit open so when you are a hotel guest you can randomly walk in and sit. So if he found a better way to communicate his point any other way w/out coming out nasty and ASSUMING we would not honor his request had it been said with any form of respect it would have been a better situation. I immediately informed Lisa and Umesh that I would not eat at their restaurant and have this waiter serve me anything. I understood the policy after it was POORLY explained and walked away. They found us another very pleasurable waiter and we ordered drinks and dinner.

Room Tip: Avoid booking with travelocity unless you know for sure you are booking in an upgraded room. Try vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
North York
Radisson Hotel Toronto East
North York
The Westin Prince Toronto
The Westin Prince Toronto
#52 of 136 in Toronto
901 reviews
North York
Best Western Plus Toronto North York Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North End
Best Western Roehampton Hotel & Suites
Scarborough
Delta Toronto East
Delta Toronto East
#64 of 136 in Toronto
779 reviews
North York
Holiday Inn Express Toronto - North York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites

Property: Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites
Address: 175 Wynford Dr, Toronto, Ontario M3C 1J3, Canada (Formerly Crowne Plaza)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > North York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Toronto Don Valley Hotel is a spa like resort located near downtown Toronto where guests can relax in comfort. This Toronto resort offers a variety of vacation packages to suit any budget, meeting facilities, wedding venues, and multiple dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toronto Don Valley Hotel North York
Toronto Don Valley Hotel And Suites
Crowne Plaza North York
North York Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing