We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites
Ranked #74 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Sarnia, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Little Paradise”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Our hotel room felt like a little paradise in the country. We enjoyed a very comfie king size bed, heated floors in the bathroom, and 5-star cleanliness. The balcony overlooked a treed area-very quiet and peaceful setting. The hotel also featured pristine outdoor and indoor pools plus a fitness room and general store. The staff were friendly and efficient. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back provide the nice country setting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevipor, General Manager at Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear Heather,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent experience. Please know our team is committed to you our guest and to creating unique experiences for those we have the pleasure of servicing.

We look forward to another opportunity to be of service in the future.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    251
    208
    105
    107
See reviews for
227
198
54
227
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I purchased a zoo WagJag and expected a decent/average hotel. This hotel exceeded my expectations. First, the front desk staff were so nice and so incredibly patient. A large tour group had arrived and there was a lot for them to manage. Still, they kept smiling and handled the volume with ease and care. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a suite - and WOW what a beautiful room! Nice view of a wooded area, and very quiet. The rooms are updated with granite and white leather, and there were two keurig machines :). The two pools were very nice, and the fitness facility was great. Service a the lounge was also top notch. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GBPApril2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevipor, General Manager at Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear GBPApril2009,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience and thank you for your business.

We look forward to being of service to you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Exceeded our expectations. It was a great value. Comfort and quality. Not right in downtown but close enough, only a few minutes drive. Great location, close to parks and friendly staff! A plus is it was very pet-friendly. Our dog loved it here. Would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevipor, General Manager at Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear Susan,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience and I am so happy to hear we were a fit for your family and your dog. As a pet friendly hotel we pride ourselves on meeting this growing travel trend where families are travelling with their beloved pets.

We look forward to being of service to you, your family and your dog on a future visit to Toronto.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed in this hotel as it was very handy to where we needed to be in uptown Toronto. The price was very reasonable and we were assigned a large room on the third floor with two double beds.
Overall we were pleased with our room, it was larger than some we have stayed in recently, very clean and was supplied with the normal equipment and supplies you would expect in a large city hotel.
What could do with updating is the old style TV and the individual room wall air conditioner that sounded like jet taking off when it was switched on.
The room also had plenty of room for a couch or an easy chair but was only equipped with a solitary dining room style chair in the corner and a desk chair so there was no place to actually sit and relax other than sitting on the bed.
Reception and check in was fast and friendly. the lobby, public areas and pools were attractive and well maintained.
It wasn't very busy when we were there. I would suggest that it would appeal more to a business traveller as it is surrounded by offices and large company buildings. Although access by car to Toronto is not too far, there are many hotels closer to the city centre where most of the attractions are.
Overall price performance was good and we would stay here again if we had need to be in this area of the city.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBH44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed here again after visiting last summer and being very impressed. Still enjoyed our stay this year but noticed a few things that could be improved upon.
The lobby is beautiful and clean and overlooks the gorgeous outdoor pool. Check-in was quick and efficient. The front desk staff were helpful in meeting our room preferences.
Our room was on the 4th floor (434), and immediately upon entering the elevators we noticed the floor was sticky and very dirty. The tile area outside the 4th floor elevators was also very dirty and we noted a few specific spills. We checked in on a Sunday, so we just figured it was a busy Saturday night and they just hadn't gotten to it yet. As our two night stay went on, we continued to pass over the foyer and elevator floors, noticing that they did not get cleaned even once, and still had not been cleaned as of Tuesday at noon checkout.
We were happy with our room, it was clean and spacious and overlooked the ravine. The bed was very comfortable. The a/c unit worked well. The one chair on the balcony could have used a wipe. I had to put a towel on it to sit.
Had breakfast at the buffet in the lobby restaurant, it was quite good and the staff were very friendly and helpful.
The outdoor pool was very clean, however many of the loungers were in pretty bad shape. Also, there was a big pile of furniture on the deck which detracted from the nice surroundings. Strong smell of chlorine at the indoor pool but otherwise it was clean.
I still feel that this hotel is a good value for the price we paid. It's in a great location with easy access to highways yet without feeling like you are in the city. I hope they will keep the standards of cleanliness high in all areas, not just the lobby.

Room Tip: Choose a renovated room overlooking the ravine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hipfanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Room was quite small and uncomfortable. Sofa chair did not have armrests. The desk chair was too big for the desk. No vanity area. Liked the heated floor in washroom. Very expensive room service. But then everything in Toronto is expensive. Great location to quickly go anywhere. Have to pay for parking, which should be included if you're getting a room. Oh walls are like hallow, can hear every door shut... Pets allowed!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank FrauHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

To start, this hotel would not accept a reservation without payment in full so we resorted to using a booking website instead. Check in was slow even though not busy, and $11.50 for parking made the entire stay too expensive for what we got. Room had no working air conditioner, and the only way to get another room was to pay $50 more for an upgrade. Even then the bathroom was so small that it was impossible to dry off without banging walls and fixtures. The phones did not work properly, incoming calls could not be connected to the room
Service at dinner was good but food very mediocre. Service at breakfast was rude and unfriendly and the buffet was $16.00, way too expensive for what it was. Even the coffee was weak and cool.
We would not consider using this hotel again in spite of convenient location.
It seems that the hotel caters to tour groups who have no opportunity to look elswhere

Room Tip: find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Reidatwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
North York
Radisson Hotel Toronto East
North York
The Westin Prince Toronto
The Westin Prince Toronto
#57 of 137 in Toronto
932 reviews
Scarborough
Delta Toronto East
Delta Toronto East
#66 of 137 in Toronto
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North York
Best Western Plus Toronto North York Hotel & Suites
North End
Best Western Roehampton Hotel & Suites
North York
Holiday Inn Toronto Yorkdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites

Property: Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites
Address: 175 Wynford Dr, Toronto, Ontario M3C 1J3, Canada (Formerly Crowne Plaza)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > North York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Toronto Don Valley Hotel is a spa like resort located near downtown Toronto where guests can relax in comfort. This Toronto resort offers a variety of vacation packages to suit any budget, meeting facilities, wedding venues, and multiple dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toronto Don Valley Hotel North York
Toronto Don Valley Hotel And Suites
Crowne Plaza North York
North York Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing