We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel. Great Location. Responsive Staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Ranked #35 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights/6 days in early April 2014. I was told that I got one of the newly renovated rooms on the 19th floor, and it was a great room for the price. The only issue I had with the room is that the desk is located next to the air-conditioning unit, so it's difficult to sit there for long periods of time. So if you plan on sitting at your hotel room's desk for longer than 15 minutes, then make sure that your room doesn't have this layout.

I asked for a number of things from housekeeping, and they were always very responsive and accommodating. The front desk and concierge were very helpful as well.

The hotel is in a great location. It's very central, with the Eaton Centre shopping mall just a 5-7 minute walk away, and there are plenty of dining options near the hotel.

I would certainly recommend this hotel is you're looking for something basic and decent, but just make sure to:

(a) Request a room that's on a floor away any of the ongoing renovation work.
(b) If you plan on using the desk a lot, ensure it's away from the A/C unit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gerocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umesh S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear gerocal

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review on Tripadvisor. I am so happy that you found our staff very responsive to your needs and helpful. We get so many compliments from our guests based on the location of the hotel because it is so close to major shopping, three of the best hospitals in Toronto, the bus station is a 2 minute walk and so much more. I understand that some of our rooms because of the layout do have the heating and air conditioning units located by the desk and I can certainly see how that could be an inconvenience to some of our guests and I do appologize for any inconvenience this did cause you. Thank you so much for being our guest and we hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Thank you,
Umesh Srivastava CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,945)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,652 - 1,658 of 1,945 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014

I stayed here in February about two months after the Hilton took it over. It was under renovation. I paid for my room with British Airways Avios miles.

This is what I like about the hotel:
* Location is great. I was visiting U of T
* Price WAS good using Avios miles.
* Room was clean

This what I didn't like:
* It was under significant renovation
* Room was very small.
* Gym didn't have much equipment and was under renovation.
* Breakfast was quite expensive - didn't bother having it.

I'm not sure I will stay here again. If the price goes up significantly I likely won't. Booking with Avios points now has increased signficantly. Will check back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lg_Chikwambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umesh S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Lg_Chikwambo

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review of our hotel and we appreciate the feedback. So much has changed since you were here in February so please let me address some of your points. We are so proud to say that every guestroom in the hotel has now been completely renovated and now each and every guest will have the oportunity of enjoying our new rooms. Our fitness centre renovations have been complete now for 6 weeks and we are getting rave reviews from our guests on all the new equipment and the facility. We have many different room types here in the hotel and yes some are not as large as others, it just depends on the style you get at check in but as I mentioned the great thing is that they are all renovated now. I can also assure you that are prices have not or will not increase significantly and we are always priced extremely competive to our competition. Thank you so much for the detailed review and we hope that we can welcome you back as our guest in the fututre.

Thank you,
Umesh Srivastava CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We had stayed at the Doubletree Toronto Downtown over the weekend. The staff at the front desk were nice, and helpful and the check in process was quick and easy. The room was a standard double, with nothing special to report about. Two butties of water were waiting for us, as gold members, but unfortunately this gesture was a one-time only. This is a shame as the water from the tap were not very tasty. The shower was small but clean, while the carpet was on the dusty side, with some major stains on it. The bed was not very comfortable.
Breakfast was ok, with some basic cold and hot buffet option. Noting special, but does the job.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Np-ln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umesh S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Np-ln

Thank you very much for posting your review of our hotel and we appreciate your feedback. We love to hear what our guests say about our hotel because it gives us a chance to improve in some areas and continue to shine in others. I am so happy that you found our staff nice and helpful because we are putting our staff through extensive training and from all the great comments we are getting about them it certainly shows that the training is making a difference for our guests. I have shared your comments with our housekeeping team and if you would be kind enough to email me your room number then we can have the carpet looked at for stains and dust, my email is umesh.srivastava@hilton.com. Thanks so much and we look forward to welcoming you back as our guest.

Thank you,
Umesh Srivastava CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Hotel has very friendly staff. It is a recently remodelled hotel. The hotel is close to shopping,restaurants and theatre district. It offers good meeting spaces and catered lunches are very good value.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Hanny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umesh S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Hanny H

Thank you very much for posting your review and I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are so proud to announce that all of our guest rooms are now fully renovated. I am glad you you enjoyed our catering and my team does such an amazing job with all of our group business. Thank you so much for staying with us and we look forward to having you back as our guest.

Thank you,
Umesh Srivastava CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

The beds at this hotel are perfect, and so are the pillows. I also didn't hear any noise at all. The customer service staff were extremely friendly. So glad we went to this hotel and I will be staying there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank 47Sandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umesh S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear 47Sandy

Thank you so much for posting this wonderful review of our hotel and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are so happy to say that every guest room in the hotel is now fully renovated so each guest will now have the chance to enjoy our great new beds and pillows. Thank you so much for the business and we look forward to welcoming you back as our guest.

Thank you,
Umesh Srivastava CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights at the end of April. Room was very clean and comfortable. Staff was friendly and courteous. Three blocks from Yonge and Dundas, and two blocks from St. Patrick station. Parking was a bit expensive, but it is located right next to City Hall.

I would stay again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
Thank daltus173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umesh S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear daltus173

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review and I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was great that you found our staff to be friendly and courteous because that is what it is all about in this business. We have so many guest"s comment on our great location so i am happy it served your needs well. We look forward to having you back as our guest in the future.

Thank you,
Umesh Srivastava CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Except for a slow check-in, my experience at this hotel was excellent. The room was super clean and amenities were provided. Check-out was smoother than the check-in. Parking was on-site and seamless and the most affordable of all hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Irem A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umesh S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Irem A

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about our amazing hotel with everyone and I am so happy that you enloyed your stay with us. It was such a nice compliment on the cleanliness of our rooms because our Director of Housekeeping and her team try so hard to keep our hotel clean and presentable for our guests. We look forward to having you as our guest in the future.

Thank you,
Umesh Srivastava CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#56 of 137 in Toronto
2,699 reviews
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#39 of 137 in Toronto
1,062 reviews
Downtown
Cambridge Suites Toronto
Cambridge Suites Toronto
#34 of 137 in Toronto
1,820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown

Address: 108 Chestnut Street, Toronto, Ontario M5G 1R3, Canada (Formerly The Metropolitan Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#30 Business Hotel in Toronto
#30 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: £122 - £386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 486
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Doubletree by Hilton Toronto Downtown. This full service hotel is located at the heart of the city’s financial, research, entertainment, dining and shopping districts. The hotel has a total of 486 modern contemporary fully renovated guest rooms including 34 suites and luxury suites with windows that open. In room amenities include high speed wireless internet access, in room work desk and voice mail, complimentary newspaper delivered to your room, on command in room movie, music and video games. The hotel boasts two 4 Diamond rated restaurants, namely Hemispheres Restaurant and Bistro and Lai Wah Heen. Additional hotel amenities include indoor pool, a brand new state of the art fitness center and business center. The hotel has 13,000 square feet of event space and is well known in the city for its exceptional and professional catering service for both business and leisure events including weddings. The hotel is walking distance to numerous Fortune 500 Companies, the University of Toronto, several world renowned hospitals including Mount Sinai, The Hospital for Sick Children and Toronto General, Queens Park, the Law Society of Upper Canada, Ontario Art Gallery, CN Tower, Royal Ontario Museum, Mars Center, US Consulate, Canadian Opera Company. Hockey Hall of Fame, Eaton Shopping Center, Rogers Center and Air Canada Center are also easily accessible. The hotel is minutes from Union Station, easily accessible off the Gardiner Expressway, Billy Bishop Toronto Island Airport as well as 40 minutes from Pearson International Airport. As one enters the grand lobby with its cascading staircase, one is immediately welcomed by the gracious staff, ready to offer the exceptional quality service for which the hotel is known. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing