We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid Transformation at this Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Ranked #34 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
BC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Splendid Transformation at this Hotel!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Doubletree by Hilton has done a marvellous job in transforming this centrally located Toronto hotel to a tip-notch facility. Beautifully appointed, wonderful beds, every need anticipated in terms of room amenities and design -this hotel was a terrific surprise (for someone who remembered well the previous facility on this site).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank BytheBeach026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umesh S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear BytheBeach026

Thank you so much for posting your wonderful review of our hotel and I am so happy that you have enjoyed the transformation our hotel has gone through. We are so pleased to announce that every guest room in the hotel has now been renovated and we are getting such awesome remarks about them. Thank you so much for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back

Thank you,
Umesh Srivastava CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,890 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    741
    782
    225
    77
    65
See reviews for
348
633
114
569
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tuusula, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Extremely centrally located hotel, not luxurious as such as but a very decent 4* place. Somewhat expensive but I guess there’s a premium to be paid for the location. Review based on a one night stay in May (background of spending 80+ nights per year in different hotels around the globe).

Location:
Extremely central location, next to the great city hall. Greyhound station close by, in case you like to travel by bus… Street car line basically next door and subway station perhaps 100m away.

Plenty of all sorts of restaurants, bars and shops in the immediate neighborhood, for example the huge Eaton Centre mall just couple of hundred meters away.

Room:
I had a basic room on 23rd floor which had a quite nice clean décor that was modern without being too modern. The room has been clearly recently renovated, no signs of usage anywhere and it was spotlessly clean.

The AC unit decided to act rather strangely by somewhat randomly ignoring temperature/speed selections and it was also somewhat noisy but no big issue as such.

Not the biggest room I’ve seen but certainly big enough for a single traveler like me

Etc:
Breakfast was very decent, even though I selected to take the just the cold (continental) breakfast.

Even though the hotel is not new as such, it seems at least parts of it have been completely renovated rather recently. For example the lobby restaurant looked very modern and fancy.

Check-in / out fast and efficient, with the trademark warm cookie offered of course!

Would I return there?
Yes sure if the price is right, a good hotel in a great location

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dadsasdasd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umesh S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear dadsasdasd

Thank you so much for posting your review of our hotel and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location is certainly a great selling feature for us because we are so close to great shopping, restaurants, China Town, three of the greatest hospitals in the world and so much more. Some of the things about your review that stood out to me were, that you found the room spotless and this is something our housekeeping department strives for and they will be thrilled to hear your comment about the room. The check in process is always so important and we know that our guests want to be able to check in quickly and enjoy their room so once again I am so happy this went well for you. We thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back

Thank you,
Umesh Srivastava CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Good hotel. Really good location. Located 3 blocks from dundas square. Lots of good restaurants within walking distance, including Starbucks and subway right across the street and Tim Hortons one block away.

The room was really good. Nice, clean, good size bathroom. Good decor.

Hallways are nice and clean and really wide.

The food in the restaurants downstairs is good too. Housekeeping provides good service, but room service was disappointing. I called on two separate occasions, but no one picked up.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank anshu a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umesh S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear anshu a

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review of our hotel and I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location is such a great selling feature of our hotel because we are just so centrally located to so many of Toronto's best attractions, shopping, China Town and so much more. We are so happy to say that all of our guest rooms are now completely renovated and we are hearing such great comments about them. I am however sorry to hear that you had a challenge to get through to Room Service and I will certainly talk with our Restaurant Manager about this so he can discuss with the staff. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you again.

Thank you,
Umesh Srivastava CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I had a business trip to Toronto and stayed her for a couple of nights before going to the business hotel my boss had booked. The price here was quite good. I agree with all the other reviews in that the room was quite lovely and renovated in a very clean modern style. Free wifi was fantastic and the location was perfect. Transportation nearby, Eaton Centre, 24 hour convenience store a block away, all pluses. In all, there was only one drawback. I arrived 15 minutes before check-in but they were behind in cleaning so I couldn't get a room. When I can back 45 minutes later, all was fine. That's wasn't the problem, though. All of the staff are nice and helpful, but, when you have a line of 5 people waiting to check-in and your one desk clerk is chatting with a guest about the various things to do in the city, it is a bit annoying. While waiting to check-in, I got offered a cookie 3 times. They are very good so take one and enjoy! By the third offer, I said I would rather check-in than have another cookie. All told, about 15 minutes to get to the counter. Once in, though, all was fine. I would definitely stay here again. Oh, and just know, the Express bus from the airport still identifies it as the Metropolitan Hotel as well as Doubletree. In fact, I left something in the room and called security/lost & found to see if they had it and the recording you get still says Metropolitan Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmgmdny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umesh S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear tmgmdny

Thank you very much for posting your review of our hotel based on your recent stay. I am so happy that you enjoyed our hotel and we are proud to say that we are one of the few Toronto hotels that do offer free WiFi. I'm glad that youy liked our renovated rooms and we are so pleased to say that all of our guest rooms in the hotel are now renovated. Thank you for choosing us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Thank you,
Umesh Srivastava CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Nicely located, heart of downtown and very close to Chinatown. A nice brisk walk and you are in Chinatown. Underground parking lot was tricky, some tight spots. Room internet service was very spotty especially between 9 pm and 11 pm. Staff was relatively friendly and helpful during our stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank E C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umesh S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear E C

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review of your most recent stay with us. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our location convenient for your needs. Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Thank you,
Umesh Srivastava CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Carling, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I love this hotel. We were able to check in early at 11:30. The gentleman who checked us in I think his name was Sammit. Sorry if I got it wrong. He was amazing!!!!! Our room was cozy and spacious. The view was great. Walking distance to St Patrick's station. Everything is so close by. The only thing I was disappointed in was that they don't offer gluten free cookies!!!!!! My hubby got both and they smelled and looked so good!!!!! He said they were good. Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umesh S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Teresa M

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this wonderful review of our hotel based on your recent stay with us. I am so happy that you enjoyed everything with our hotel and we look very forward to welcoming you back.

Thank you,
Umesh Srivastava CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The Doubletree is a very comfortable hotel within waliking distance of the Four Seasons Centre. It is close to the subway which makes travel around Toronto easy. My room was impeccable. The rates are good for a city center hotel. Restaurant was good if a little pricy. Staff was helpful. Will stay again when in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank emr-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umesh S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear emr-traveler

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review of our hotel and I am so happy that you enjoyed everything here and we look forward to welcoming you back as our guest.

Thank you,
Umesh Srivastava CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#40 of 137 in Toronto
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#56 of 137 in Toronto
2,667 reviews
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Downtown
Cambridge Suites Toronto
Cambridge Suites Toronto
#37 of 137 in Toronto
1,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Address: 108 Chestnut Street, Toronto, Ontario M5G 1R3, Canada (Formerly The Metropolitan Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#30 Family Hotel in Toronto
#30 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 486
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Doubletree by Hilton Toronto Downtown. This full service hotel is located at the heart of the city’s financial, research, entertainment, dining and shopping districts. The hotel has a total of 486 modern contemporary fully renovated guest rooms including 34 suites and luxury suites with windows that open. In room amenities include high speed wireless internet access, in room work desk and voice mail, complimentary newspaper delivered to your room, on command in room movie, music and video games. The hotel boasts two 4 Diamond rated restaurants, namely Hemispheres Restaurant and Bistro and Lai Wah Heen. Additional hotel amenities include indoor pool, a brand new state of the art fitness center and business center. The hotel has 13,000 square feet of event space and is well known in the city for its exceptional and professional catering service for both business and leisure events including weddings. The hotel is walking distance to numerous Fortune 500 Companies, the University of Toronto, several world renowned hospitals including Mount Sinai, The Hospital for Sick Children and Toronto General, Queens Park, the Law Society of Upper Canada, Ontario Art Gallery, CN Tower, Royal Ontario Museum, Mars Center, US Consulate, Canadian Opera Company. Hockey Hall of Fame, Eaton Shopping Center, Rogers Center and Air Canada Center are also easily accessible. The hotel is minutes from Union Station, easily accessible off the Gardiner Expressway, Billy Bishop Toronto Island Airport as well as 40 minutes from Pearson International Airport. As one enters the grand lobby with its cascading staircase, one is immediately welcomed by the gracious staff, ready to offer the exceptional quality service for which the hotel is known. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing