We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Chelsea Hotel, Toronto(Toronto)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,163)
Filter reviews
2,163 results
Traveller rating
870
859
266
89
79
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
870
859
266
89
79
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble treewarm cookieschestnut streeteaton centrecity hallcn towerwithin walking distancenathan phillips squaretoronto downtownupon checkunderground parkingconvenient locationfront desk staffcorner roombusiness tripbed was very comfortablesubway station
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,790 - 1,795 of 2,163 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2014

After a long day of sight seeing and walking I was happy to hear we had been upgraded to the Amsterdam Suite. We had a wonderful view on three sides. Wish we had stayed longer than one night. Perfect location in walking distance to Yonge and Dundas. It's right where you want to be.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ayannaluv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umesh S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Ayannaluv1

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review and I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location to be perfect and that is one of our best selling features. I was happy that you were upgraded and that you loved the room. Thank you so much for staying with us and we will see you soon

Thank you,
Umesh Srivastava CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We wanted to stay in a centrally located hotel in Toronto and the Doubletree fit the bill, especially since we are Hilton Honors members. I made a mistake & booked our room for the wrong day. The staff was able to correct my error within a short period of time. Matthew Smith - you rock!!! Breakfast in the Hemisphere Restaurant was delicious. We were able to order eggs to our specifications & a special order of turkey sausage. Raise - the server - was kind & attentive the entire breakfast!!! Our room was very clean, the bed comfortable - no complaints whatsoever!!!! As for location, 1/2 block from Dundas, a couple blocks from Yonge, plenty of restaurants & people-watching.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 24th floor. Great views of the city from there!!!
Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank fijijakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umesh S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear fijijakes

Thank you so much for the incredible review of our hotel and I am so happy that we seemed to exceed all of your expectations. Matthew Smith is one of our true superstars here in the hotel, he could teach people what customer service is all about and we are so happy he is with our hotel. I am thrilled that you enjoyed our food and that Rasie took such good care of you and he is another one our our awesome associates that work with us. Thank you so much for staying with us and we look forward to having you back


Thank you,
Umesh Srivastava CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a good hotel in an excellent location in downtown Toronto. I stayed a lot when it was the Metropolitan and returned recently to updated rooms and decent service. Food in the lounge was passable but with so many restaurant choices close by it was not an issue. Great walking distance to sick kids and u of Toronto, shopping etc. The rooms are decent sized and clean, and the gym was just fine. Best about this hotel this time was the friendly staff including the warm cookies! If you are a stickler for details, the furnishings in the room are a bit on the cheap side, drawers in the bureau don't close, and some items are not attached properly to the wall.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norumbega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umesh S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Norumbega

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review of our hotel based on your recent stay with us. I am so happy that you found our staff to be friendly because this is so important to us and they have been going through extensive Hilton brand training so it certainly must be paying off. Our location is amazing and we get so many positive comments about that from our guests. Thank you so much for staying with us and we look very forward to welcoming you back.

Thank you,
Umesh Srivastava CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Had a great weekend away for our anniversary. This hotel is within a 5-10min walking distance of great restaurants, Yuk Yuk's comedy club and shopping. Food at the hotel is great and close to Starbucks, Tims and other coffee shops. Price is right and staff very friendly. Loved the warm cookie we received upon checkin.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jodyandrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umesh S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear jodyandrob

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review of our hotel and I am so happy that you enjoyed everything especially the cookie. The warm chocolate chip cookie is all part of our warm welcome to the DoubleTree brand. Our culinary team will be thrilled to hear that our food was great. Thank you so much for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Thank you,
Umesh Srivastava CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at the Doubletree in Toronto this past weekend so that we could attend a performance of The Lion King.

We were given delicious complimentary cookies (warm oatmeal chocolate with walnuts) while waiting to check-in. Check-in was quick and painless.

Our room looked to be newly remodeled and though quite small had everything we needed. Unfortunately our room was located right next to the ice machine/elevators, and we were forced to listen to both all night (crashing ice/dinging as the elevator opened on our floor). We informed a front desk staff member of the issue at check-out and he was only mildly apologetic.

We ordered room service - a pizza and some appetizers - both the food and service were great!

Hotel parking was somewhat pricey, so we parked in a nearby green P lot (by City Hall) for only $18 for the duration of our stay.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms by located close to the ice machine/elevators.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank princessrenee82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umesh S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear princessrenee82

Thank you for taking the time to share yor review about your recent stay with us and I am so happy that you enjoyed our hotel. The cookie is such an important part of the check in and our guests just love the traveler's reward that we give them. Thank you for the great comment about room service, they will be so happy to hear that. We appreciate your business and look very forward to welcoming you back.

Thank you,
Umesh Srivastava CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews