We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Ranked #33 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The front staff didn't get my bags taken to my room as requested. But it was nice for the price and for the location

I loved loved the location. It was right where I wanted to be in Toronto. I parked the car and didn't get back into it until it was time to come back to the states

The hotel was very nice the front desk staff could have been a little better but the parking in the public parking lot was HORRIBLE. I was charged $62USD for the weekend!!! Complete ripoff

Room Tip: Make sure you price the parking before you park your car
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyb728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umesh S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Tyb728

Thank you very much for posting your review and I am so glad that you were happy with the location of our hotel and yes it really is in great spot of Toronto. We are so close to shopping, sporting events, nightlife, hospitals and the main bus terminal in Toronto is a 1 minute walk from our hotel and because of that many guests find it convenient to bus to Toronto and save on parking. We hope we can welcome you back as our guest in the future.

Thank you,
Umesh Srivastava CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,766 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    693
    730
    209
    73
    61
See reviews for
321
573
109
553
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel for one night with my husband for a date night.

PARKING:

There was lots of parking spots, but they are tiny. Finding the door to the hotel from the underground parking was not clear. Signs saying "To Hotel" would make finding doors easier. Never saw security in the parking.

CHECK IN:

Check in was fast and easy, had no issues whats so ever. Very friendly. Cookie was too sweet.

ROOM:

We stayed on an updated floor. Room was compact but since only staying one night it was not an issue. Bed was clean, massive, very high and super comfortable.

ICE MACHINE:

They are not on every floor and the machine didn't work on the floor above us.

LOCATION:

Found the location to be good. Left the car parked the whole time and walked/took public transit the whole time. Walking distance to the Eaton Centre.

RESTAURANT:

We never tried the resturant but it never seemed to be very full and it was expensive. A lot more cheaper options in the surrounding area.

VIEW:

Not the greatest view in Toronto, nothing to talk about at all.

OVERALL:

I would stay here again if it was another date night with hubby. Wouldn't stay here if I had kids or if it was a girls night out.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kc416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umesh S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear kc416

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your stay with us. I am happy the check in process went nice and smooth and yes, so many of our guests rave about our location because it is close to so many of Toronto's best attractions. We hope to welcome you back as our guest in the future.

Thank you,
Umesh Srivastava CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I was here recently for a conference due to it's location. Small rooms but new and clean. Staff were very kind and helpful so nothing to complain about. Good to have a pool and it's right in the heart of downtown minutes from the Eaton Center.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umesh S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Sebastian M

Thank you so much for posting your review based on your recent stay and I am so happy that you enjoyed everything, especially how you found the staff kind and helpful. We look forward to having you back again as our guest.


Thank you,
Umesh Srivastava CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This is a a very nice hotel, where staff pay attention to guests and details. Great location... $15 - $18 cab ride from Billy Bishop airport. Rooms have been renovated and the changes are very good. spacious, clean, comfortable, internet access. In house, you have 2 excellent restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Pierre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umesh S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Pierre C

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review of our hotel and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and that you liked our 2 great restaurants, Hemispheres is the perfect choice for breakfast lunch and dinner and our Bistro area is very popular at night for drinks and snacks. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope we welcome you back again soon.

Thank you,
Umesh Srivastava CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Love the Doubletree style and the comfortable bed, stayed on the Hilton HHonors floor. Hotel is in a great location walking distance to everything, staff are very nice (room service even left a thank you note!)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umesh S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Michael A

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review of our hotel and i am so happy that you enjoyed everything about your stay with us. We thank you so much for being our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back.


Thank you,
Umesh Srivastava CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I was there for work. The staff were unbelievably helpful. Couldn't have asked for a better stay. The ONLY complaint I have is that I could hear the guy in the next room peeing. Aside from that, the restaurant was great (went for breakfast) The location of the hotel couldn't have been better as it is a very short walk to the eaton center and shopping/restaurants. Rooms were very clean, a little on the small side but really what do you need a big room for?

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank mcdolisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umesh S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear mcdolisa

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your awesome review of our hotel and I have to tell you that it certainly makes my day to read a great comment such as yours. My "staff was unbelievably helpful" is such an amazing thing to hear and they will be so proud when we read this to them. Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and we look very forward to welcoming you back.


Thank you,
Umesh Srivastava CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Location, interesting. No other extras, except the location.
Price OK. Reception, front desk average.
I guess it goes with the price we paid.
Staff is nice and friendly.
Do not look for the extras, and the magic.
Just stay there for business reason and price.
Oh yes: when going there with a cab "taxi" make sure you tell him the location is downtown otherwise you might end up at "Pearson Airport" where the seond Doubletree is located...oupsy oupsy.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SablePoudreuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umesh S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear SablePoudreuse

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us based on your recent stay. I am happy that you found our staff nice and friendly and that our location worked very well for you. I am however not too happy that we did not seem to really WOW you or do what it took to meet and exceed your expectations. If you would like to send me an email on what we could have done better it would be greatly appreciated. My email address is umesh.srivastava@hilton.com Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I look forward to hearing from you.

Thank you,
Umesh Srivastava CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#40 of 136 in Toronto
1,024 reviews
Downtown
Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#56 of 136 in Toronto
2,616 reviews
Downtown West
Hilton Toronto
Hilton Toronto
#35 of 136 in Toronto
2,993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Address: 108 Chestnut Street, Toronto, Ontario M5G 1R3, Canada (Formerly The Metropolitan Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#30 Family Hotel in Toronto
#30 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 486
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Doubletree by Hilton Toronto Downtown. This full service hotel is located at the heart of the city’s financial, research, entertainment, dining and shopping districts. The hotel has a total of 486 modern contemporary fully renovated guest rooms including 34 suites and luxury suites with windows that open. In room amenities include high speed wireless internet access, in room work desk and voice mail, complimentary newspaper delivered to your room, on command in room movie, music and video games. The hotel boasts two 4 Diamond rated restaurants, namely Hemispheres Restaurant and Bistro and Lai Wah Heen. Additional hotel amenities include indoor pool, a brand new state of the art fitness center and business center. The hotel has 13,000 square feet of event space and is well known in the city for its exceptional and professional catering service for both business and leisure events including weddings. The hotel is walking distance to numerous Fortune 500 Companies, the University of Toronto, several world renowned hospitals including Mount Sinai, The Hospital for Sick Children and Toronto General, Queens Park, the Law Society of Upper Canada, Ontario Art Gallery, CN Tower, Royal Ontario Museum, Mars Center, US Consulate, Canadian Opera Company. Hockey Hall of Fame, Eaton Shopping Center, Rogers Center and Air Canada Center are also easily accessible. The hotel is minutes from Union Station, easily accessible off the Gardiner Expressway, Billy Bishop Toronto Island Airport as well as 40 minutes from Pearson International Airport. As one enters the grand lobby with its cascading staircase, one is immediately welcomed by the gracious staff, ready to offer the exceptional quality service for which the hotel is known. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Nozio Netplan srl, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing