We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit to Canada”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Ranked #33 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“First visit to Canada”
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

This was my first trip to Canada and to meet with my girlfriend before heading to Brazil for the World Cup. I was greeted properly and treated with respect. The room was clean and very comfortable. We even went swimming which was great also. Excellent location, near many stores and restaurants and the underground mall.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DariEnLake25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umesh S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear DariEnLake25

Thank you very much for posting your review of our hotel and I am so happy that you enjoyed our property and hopefully we made your first trip to Canada a very special and memorable one.
We hope to welcome you back again as our guest one day.

Thank you,
Umesh Srivastava CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,883 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    737
    780
    224
    77
    65
See reviews for
345
632
114
567
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Goderich, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The only thing missing is a fantastic pool, which is extremely hard to find in downtown Toronto anyway... Walking distance to Blue Jays Games, CN Tower, Aquarium, and the Symphony (Roy Thomson Hall). And I am supposed to write a minimum of 200 characters, but no need to read on.... I have nothing else to say...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank Renee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umesh S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Renee R

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our hotel and I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location truly is amazing since we are so close to so many of Toronto's top tourist spots. We look forward to welcoming you back as our guest again in he future.


Thank you,
Umesh Srivastava CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Let's say this was a bad week for me. No hotels in downtown Toronto due to that "Million Dollar Round Table". Clearly shows that the city hotel rooms inventory is not enough to host big events. This is not this hotel problem, in fact, they were really nice to get me a room here after I stayed one night at the airport and spent 4 hours in commute to downtown.

I clearly overpaid for this stay $309/night but it was worth it to not spend 4 hours commuting. This hotel is nice in the summer, but if you are working at the financial district, beware that it does not connect to the underground path. You'll have to walk around 10 minutes on the outside to reach the Sheraton entrance and be in the path.

My stay here started with a friendly reception without the traditional chocolate chip cookies as they ran out of it. The room looked new or recently refurbished (I was on the HHonors floor) with excellent bed, terrible pillows (like most hotels), bathroom with a nice shower and fast trouble free internet with no requirements to login, so you don't loose your session if you need to connect to the VPN. The Hilton Downtown refreshes every 24 hours and their internet is terrible compared to this one which is free. I was able to Skype with the family at 6pm with excellent video quality. The breakfast is nothing great. The pastries and croissants are not fresh and the coffee is by far the worse coffee I have ever had in my life.

The room A/C unit is very powerful, but terribly noisy. Had to sleep with it turned off on the first night.

I have ordered room service one night, and aside from the very short menu, I was impressed by the good quality of the burger I got. The food in Toronto is not great at all, and this hotel delivered something I would order again.

But the worse problem during my stay is about to be presented. At around 12:30am someone walked into my room (I forgot to double lock the door) and as soon as it saw that it was occupied, vanished immediately without saying a word. I am assuming if it was a employee with good faith, it would have at least apologized. Called front desk immediately and locked the doors. Front desk calls me 10 minutes later saying security is looking into it. 20 minutes later they call me saying they did not find the person, and they would get the key history but recommended me to lock the door. I obviously lost my sleep and decided to watch TV. TV then decides to stop working, emits a bang, big red screen and shuts down completely. Stand by light stays on but remote is unresponsive.

I most likely would not return to this hotel, however, if there is absolutely nothing around and this DoubleTree and the Sheraton are the only ones available, I would pick the DoubleTree as the Sheraton is the worse hotel in Toronto Downtown.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eduardo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umesh S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Eduardo F

Thank you for taking the time to post your review based on your recent stay with us. I am happy that you enjoyed your room and some of the amenities that came with it such as complimentary WIFI and also that you liked our room service burger, we do receive lots of great comments about our food quality from our guests. I was very disappointed about someone entering your room late at night because we take security very important and our security department did do the investigation into the incident. If you would like to discuss things further please contact our Front Desk Manager Matt at matt.scriven@hilton.com.

Thank you,
Umesh Srivastava CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My stay here started very well-friendly reception with their trademark warm, rich chocolate chip cookie. The room looked new or recently refurbished with excellent bed, bathroom, towels and fast trouble free internet. The Chinese restaurant downstairs was great, albeit quite expensive. But there was two problems that made the stay less pleasant, one clearly a problem with employee training. The room AC unit is powerful, but quite noisy. But I'll grant that as hard to fix, if the building doesn't have central air. Then was a switchboard problem in the evening, where outside calls were dumped without reaching a person. My colleague called three times with no luck, but when I called the front desk, they insisted there was no problem and that the caller should just call again. So she tried a fourth time. The guy at the front desk still said he couldn't help me. So I had to make a quite expensive cell phone call, instead of using the land line. It would have cost the hotel pennies (if even) to have offered to let me call Montreal on the hotel line without charge, and then they would have a likely repeat client, instead of one who will avoid the hotel in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilson17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umesh S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear wilson17

Thank you for taking the time to share your feelings on your recent stay and I am not very happy that we did not seem to respond to your needs in the way that you were hoping, I have discussed this with our Front Desk Manager and we would love for you to email us with a bit more information and we can hopefully Make this Right for you so that you will return to our hotel again. Please contact matt at matt.scriven@hilton.com so we can look into your challenges more.


Thank you,
Umesh Srivastava CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winnipeg
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Stayed here for business. Excellent location, walking distance to my business meetings, shops and restaurants. Very clean, newly renovated rooms have all that you need including free wifi and a small fridge. The bed was super comfortable. Staff were all very pleasant. Love the warm chocolate chip cookie upon check-in. Very good value for downtown Toronto.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilovevacationsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umesh S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear ilovevacationsalot

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay with us and I am so happy that you enjoyed everthing about your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back as our guest again with another warm DoubleTree cookie..


Thank you,
Umesh Srivastava CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This hotel is close to the bus station and the rooms are presently being updated (rooms above the 8th floor have been renovated as of June 1 2014). The positives: The internet works well. The negatives: the front desk service is slow and staff seem confused, the rooms are small, the a/c unit blew air directly at the bed and was very noisy, the rooms are noisy... I changed rooms, one had noise from the elevator, the other had noise from the busy street. I was there as part of a group with one room booked as part of the group block, and had to add another room for one of my staff. Most frustrating was that hotel management did not respond to three attempts to add an extra room to the group block and we ended up having other staff stay at the Sheraton. They seemed happier there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pundit705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umesh S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear pundit705

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the hotel and it seems that you did not catch us at our best and that we did not look after all your needs correctly. Our front desk manager would love the chance to speak with you about your concerns. His name is Matt and you can reach him via email at matt.scriven@hilton.com. Thank you so much and hopefully we can Make it Right for you.

Thank you,
Umesh Srivastava CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Great location, walking distance to most anything. The rooms are newly renovated. Great value for the money. Great beds and the TV has great picture quality. free in room movies that i was unaware until it was time to check out. eggsmart was a very good place for breakfast only two blocks away. Would return to this hotel and also recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Randy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umesh S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Randy G

Thank you so much for posting this great review of our hotel and we are so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are so happy to say that all of our guest rooms are fully renovated and our guests seem to just love them. Our location is always mentioned as a great selling feature for our hotel because we are so close to so many things. You had mentioned the free in room movies, we do not offer free movies in the room, that is something we do sometimes for a guest to show them how much we CARE.

Thank you,
Umesh Srivastava CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#56 of 137 in Toronto
2,658 reviews
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#40 of 137 in Toronto
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Downtown
Cambridge Suites Toronto
Cambridge Suites Toronto
#36 of 137 in Toronto
1,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Address: 108 Chestnut Street, Toronto, Ontario M5G 1R3, Canada (Formerly The Metropolitan Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#30 Business Hotel in Toronto
#30 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 486
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Doubletree by Hilton Toronto Downtown. This full service hotel is located at the heart of the city’s financial, research, entertainment, dining and shopping districts. The hotel has a total of 486 modern contemporary fully renovated guest rooms including 34 suites and luxury suites with windows that open. In room amenities include high speed wireless internet access, in room work desk and voice mail, complimentary newspaper delivered to your room, on command in room movie, music and video games. The hotel boasts two 4 Diamond rated restaurants, namely Hemispheres Restaurant and Bistro and Lai Wah Heen. Additional hotel amenities include indoor pool, a brand new state of the art fitness center and business center. The hotel has 13,000 square feet of event space and is well known in the city for its exceptional and professional catering service for both business and leisure events including weddings. The hotel is walking distance to numerous Fortune 500 Companies, the University of Toronto, several world renowned hospitals including Mount Sinai, The Hospital for Sick Children and Toronto General, Queens Park, the Law Society of Upper Canada, Ontario Art Gallery, CN Tower, Royal Ontario Museum, Mars Center, US Consulate, Canadian Opera Company. Hockey Hall of Fame, Eaton Shopping Center, Rogers Center and Air Canada Center are also easily accessible. The hotel is minutes from Union Station, easily accessible off the Gardiner Expressway, Billy Bishop Toronto Island Airport as well as 40 minutes from Pearson International Airport. As one enters the grand lobby with its cascading staircase, one is immediately welcomed by the gracious staff, ready to offer the exceptional quality service for which the hotel is known. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing