We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Service, Very Good Rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Ranked #32 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Service, Very Good Rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

The service is the best thing about this hotel. The check in employees are the most friendly and passionate, and the rest of the staff are very courteous and efficient. The rooms were just renovated, and you can smell fresh paint all around you. The renovated the rooms to look very slick and modern, and are spotless. The only problem I had was that when i checked in, my first room had no cold water, and when i opened the tap, I burned my hand. I called the front desk right away, and within 2 minutes there was somebody there to bring me to my next room. Besides that, I had a great stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umesh S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Alex R

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us and I was so happy to see that you realy enjoyed your say with us and it seems that we met and even exceeded your expectaions. I am excited to share your comments about the great service with all our team members because we stress at all of our trainings and meetings that service is what the hotel business should be all about. Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Thank you,
Umesh Srivastava CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    626
    684
    191
    70
    57
See reviews for
303
518
98
515
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

A plain retrofitted old hotel with some amenities. There is a strange odour emanating from sewer in the lobby by the elevators. This was my friend's choice for hotel and he is a penny pincher. So were the renovations on this building. I found it was more pleasant to deal with the cleaning and maintenance staff then the front end staff. Very unpleasant hotel attitude. I guess they think they are the one and only. Would not choose this hotel myself, I prefer modern amenities and good service.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank traveljunkie22_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umesh S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear traveljunkie22_10

Thank you for posting your review of our hotel and I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that you were not enamoured with our renovation. We receive so many great comments on the hotel now so I was very suprised to see how we seemed to not meet your expectations. I also was not happy to see your comments about our team members here at the hotel because if you read most of the comments posted here, a large majority of the guests have amazing comments about our staff so I am not sure what made you feel this way. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and maybe one day we can welcome you back.



Thank you,
Umesh Srivastava CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa ON
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

This hotel is perfectly located in downtown Toronto with lots of restaurants and bars close by. Our only complaint was the noise outside of our room. We arrived after midnight and were given room 601 which is beside the ice machine and close to the elevators. I knew it would be noisy and should have requested a different room but it was late, we were tired and I knew the hotel was fully booked so we decided to stay put. We were woken each morning by people chatting while waiting for the elevator. It sounded like they were in our room! And the ice machine was very popular, causing quite a bit of noise. Add to that the housekeeping staff seemed to load their carts right outside the door (or at least it sounded like that), and we were wishing we had ear plugs. We would stay there again but would not accept that room again (also 614 looked just as bad).

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stang1sk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umesh S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Stang1sk

Thank you very much for posting a review of our hotel and for shaqring your feedback with us. I am so happy that you found our location perfectly located. We really are so close to many of Toronto's most desirable tourist areas such as China Town, The Eaton Centre, Nathan Philips Square and so much more. I am sorry that you found your room noisy due to its location near the elevators and please understand that all hotels have rooms located close to the elevators and as a practise we always rent out those rooms last, we are always mindful when not full to put our guests as far away as posible. We thank you for choosing to stay with us and hope to welcome you back again.

Thank you,
Umesh Srivastava CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pittsburgh
Level Contributor
120 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Park in the garage first. It is easy to find and locate the Doubletree parking spots. Remember your license plate number as they ask for it when you check it. You don't need to go through a gate or swipe a card to enter or exit. At 3 pm, there was a long line to check. The staff were efficient and able to process guest quickly, but it have been better to have more reception personnel checking people in.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank techmgr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umesh S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear techmgr1

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our hotel and we thank you for the feedback about the check in process and I will share your comments with our Front Office Manager. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again.

Thank you,
Umesh Srivastava CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

I was in Toronto for a weekend conference and after researching a number of hotels decided on the Doubletree. I was very happy with everything. They let me check in a little early as the room was available when I arrived. As other reviewers can attest, the cookie they offered was warm and delicious. A nice touch. The room was very comfortable and clean - thanks Carlene. I was on the 16th floor in room 1611 at the end of the hall. I found it to be very quiet which was perfect. I didn't park at the hotel as I found it quite expensive. I actually parked in a garage at 180 Dundas which was much cheaper and just a few minutes walk away. I enjoyed having a drink one evening in the bar of the hotel. I found it quite comfortable. The location is quite central to everything. I would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: 1611 is at the end of the hall, far away from the elevators and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvtotravelCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umesh S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear luvtotravelCanada

Thank you so much for taking to post your review of the hotel and I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, Thank you for the comment about the cleanliness of the rooms and for mentioning one of our associates by name, recognition for great work is so important and I love sharing great comments with my team. We thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again.

Thank you,
Umesh Srivastava CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester,NY
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Took a quick trip up to Toronto to see a performance at Massey Hall. The hotel was a little off the beaten path, but still close to everything.

The lobby- It was modern and appealing. The staff were friendly and my daughter and I were presented with warm chocolate chip oatmeal cookies upon completion of our check-in. :)

The room- A little small, but that's not out of the ordinary for an older hotel in a big city. It was very modern, with a nice sized Samsung LCD perfectly placed in front of the Queen Sized Bed. Speaking of bed, it was very comfy. Soft mattress and pillows. I slept like a stone, as did my 10 year old. The bathroom was spacious with good water pressure and modern amenities.

Odds and ends- Internet was pretty darn fast for wireless and is was FREE, unlike some of the larger hotels which are changing to a daily 'rate' for internet use. It was within a 5-7 minute walk of the subway station and also about 5+ minutes to the corner of Dundas and Young, which is were all the action is. If you walk further to the West from the hotel on Dundas it gets fairly 'trendy' and a bit more blue collar. I say this only as a way to describe the difference between the 'hotel/business district' and this western area. We liked walking that way, checking out the shops and local eateries. Our walk to Massey Hall took about 15 minutes as well. A/C blew COLD and Quiet. Very happy.

I'd stay here again in a heartbeat. We scored it via an online bidding site and paid just over $100. Worth every penny.

Room Tip: We were in 714, which was literally right next to the elevator. It didn't bother us, but it mig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umesh S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear rhoke

Thank you so much for posting this very detailed review of our hotel and I am so happy that you had a great stay with us. Our location is so close to so many of Toronto's best venues and so many guests find our location so perfect for their needs. I am happy that you found our staff helpful and friendly and just about every guest tells us how wonderful they are. We thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back again.

Thank you,
Umesh Srivastava CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

I wasn't over all impressed with this hotel. We have stayed in much nicer ones than this for a cheaper rate. Staff were friendly and helpful. Front desk is slow upon checking in and out. Parking is expensive, then again it is in Toronto. Will check out other hotels next stay.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umesh S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Amy k

Thank you for posting your review of our hotel and I am sorry that our hotel did not seem to meet your expectations but I am happy that you found our associates friendly and helpful. Thank you for choosing us and have a great day.

Thank you,
Umesh Srivastava CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel
Downtown West
Hilton Toronto
Hilton Toronto
#33 of 132 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,885 reviews
Downtown
Grand Hotel Toronto
Grand Hotel Toronto
#23 of 132 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel
Downtown
The Saint James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#38 of 132 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Address: 108 Chestnut Street, Toronto, Ontario M5G 1R3, Canada (Formerly The Metropolitan Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#30 Family Hotel in Toronto
#30 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 486
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Doubletree by Hilton Toronto Downtown. This full service hotel is located at the heart of the city’s financial, research, entertainment, dining and shopping districts. The hotel has a total of 486 modern contemporary fully renovated guest rooms including 34 suites and luxury suites with windows that open. In room amenities include high speed wireless internet access, in room work desk and voice mail, complimentary newspaper delivered to your room, on command in room movie, music and video games. The hotel boasts two 4 Diamond rated restaurants, namely Hemispheres Restaurant and Bistro and Lai Wah Heen. Additional hotel amenities include indoor pool, a brand new state of the art fitness center and business center. The hotel has 13,000 square feet of event space and is well known in the city for its exceptional and professional catering service for both business and leisure events including weddings. The hotel is walking distance to numerous Fortune 500 Companies, the University of Toronto, several world renowned hospitals including Mount Sinai, The Hospital for Sick Children and Toronto General, Queens Park, the Law Society of Upper Canada, Ontario Art Gallery, CN Tower, Royal Ontario Museum, Mars Center, US Consulate, Canadian Opera Company. Hockey Hall of Fame, Eaton Shopping Center, Rogers Center and Air Canada Center are also easily accessible. The hotel is minutes from Union Station, easily accessible off the Gardiner Expressway, Billy Bishop Toronto Island Airport as well as 40 minutes from Pearson International Airport. As one enters the grand lobby with its cascading staircase, one is immediately welcomed by the gracious staff, ready to offer the exceptional quality service for which the hotel is known. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing